Dish of crisis- Anda/Egg.

One friend of mine calls egg the dish of crisis. Meaning if there is nothing prepared or in the fridge to eat . Egg is there to help you can make anything with it within minutes.
Share your ideas about preparing some dish using egg as main ingredient.
I love boiled egg curry. ( I never make it so I have no recipe)

Mexican style omelet.
Recipe:

• 2 tbsp olive oil

• 1 medium onion, thinly sliced

• 1 medium red OR green sweet pepper, cored, seeded and sliced

• 2 garlic cloves, chopped

• 1/2 jalapeno OR red chili pepper, seeded and finely chopped

• 1 medium tomato, peeled, seeded and chopped

• Salt and pepper, to taste

• 2 tbsp (30 mL) chopped cilantro OR parsley

• 5 large eggs

Directions

1. Stir in the garlic, jalapeño pepper and tomato, with salt and pepper to taste, and continue cooking, for 3 or 4 minutes, stirring often, until excess liquid has evaporated. Stir in the cilantro. Taste and adjust the seasoning the mixture should be intensely flavored to balance the delicate eggs. Transfer it to a bowl and wipe out the pan with paper towels.
  2. Heat half the oil in an omelet pan or skillet, and fry the onions until soft, about 3 to 5 minutes. Add the red or green pepper and cook until soft, for 3 to 4 minutes longer.
  3. Whisk the eggs in a bowl with a little salt and pepper until frothy; stir in the pepper mixture.
  4. Heat remaining oil in the pan over medium heat and add the egg mixture. Stir the eggs briskly with a fork until they start to thicken. With the fork, lift the edges of the omelet so the uncooked egg runs underneath. Continue cooking without stirring until the omelet is firm on top and browned underneath, for about 2 minutes. Turn the omelet onto a heatproof plate. Slide it back into the pan and brown the other side. Cut it in wedges to serve hot or at room temperature.

Re: Dish of crisis- Anda/Egg.

i make boiled egg curry.

Share the recipe na . Please.

Tuna's the crises dish for me mirch uncle. Just open the pack, mix some salt, tabasco sauce, mayo (optional) and voila! perfect post-workout meal.

Aik toh desion key angraizee bohat kamzoor hotee hay. :snooty:
Aray baba tuna is not a dish . :smack: :smilestar:

^ mirch bhai tuna dish nahee hai tu aur kya hai? I know people who LIVE on tuna and look like Sylvester Stallone from the 80s.

hubby calls it Emergency food..and its so true! :@:

ok here is the Anday Aloo Curry recipe

1 medium Onion
1/2 cup Yogurt
1 tbsp ginger/garlic paste
1 1/2 tbsp laal mirch
1/2 tbsp haldi
1 1/2 tbsp dhania powder
Salt
1/2 cup oil
Boiled eggs
Potatoes

Fry onions until brown...take out onions and put it in Yogurt...Grind those 2 ingredients...In the same oill...add yogurt mixture and all the masala....Bhunify...oil has separated...add potatoes....and boiled eggs...fry for few min...then add 1 1/2 cup water or more...depend...cover it...cook for 15-20 on medium heat. garnish with cilantro, green chillies...sprinkle some garam maasala. Done..

P.S. Mirch , u can add meat in it if u really a meat lover...lol j/k.

Thanks for sharing . Anda is also meat in the making. :D So that is fine with me.

khagina is also a wonderful dish made out of eggs. :) I also make aloo bhujia normal way & at the end mix in about 2 beaten eggs and mix so it cooks thru with the potatoes.
Also you can make:
egg salad sandwich - boil 2-3 eggs, chop & add some mayo, salt/pepper/paprika/chopped celery if you like and have as a sandwich with whole wheat :)
Scrambled eggs
Omelet
aloo anda salan as mentioned above

ahhhh khagina.
Post recipe please.

LOL!

Well I am not sure if this is the authentic way...I followed a recipe i had googled...
but basically u need:
1 chopped onion
1 chopped tomato
2-3 cloves garlic chopped
3-4 eggs, beaten
salt/pepper/chopped green pepper/coriander chopped

Saute the onion till slightly golden & soft. Add the garlic n quickly add the tomatoes. Sautees just till a little tender. add the beaten eggs and continue stirring so the egg is mixed up as it cooks in. Add in the salt/pepper and green peppers if u like. Cook another minute and voila......serve with coriander n some parahta...yummy

Sunnyside up eggs with toast or parahtay :)
in a frying pan, add few teaspoons oil. To the oil add chopped up green peppers and maybe some sprinkle of salt. Saute few seconds till oil starts to sizzle. Crack an egg on top of the peppers. And cook like u normally do ur sunny side up. Take the egg out with the peppers. THe egg has a slight taste of the mirchain from the peppers n is so yummy.

Hmmm, I never thought of it in this way before, but I agree with your friend. Eggs are the dish of crisis. I know when my mom can't figure out what to make or if there is a lack of meat/veggies, she'll make an omelet, which everyone in the family enjoys. We put dhania, onions, tomatoes, green chillies in the omelet. But before pouring the egg mixture in, we cut up potatoes in small pieces and fry them for a while.....and then add the egg mixture. The combination of slightly crispy fried potatoes in an omelet is YUM. Next time, I'd like to try adding a cheese (maybe swiss or pepperjack) to it...and mushrooms.

We also make simple curry with boiled potatoes. And to that we just add boiled eggs. And I've never tried making a quiche, but it's an alternative egg dish:) Interesting topic:)

make masala. bhonofy it when it done put eggs on top of the masala like you do for fried egg. put 3-5 eggs like that. let stand cover the lid. let it cook on low heat for 10-15 min.no stirring nothing.
now take the egg out. it looks like a fried egg but in masala but cooked with steam.

Unforunately i've never quite developed a strong liking for eggs. Once in a while I'll eat a fried egg or omelette for breakfast, but I could never imagine having it in place of a regular lunch or dinner... just doesnt seem like much of a meal to me.

Beat 2-3 eggs. Chop spring onion,1-2 green chillies, some black pepper powder and salt. Mix all of these and make delicious omelette.

P.S. Eggses are the perfect meal. They are manna. I loves eggses.

^ I like how you call them "eggses." LOL, its cute. You're right.....eggies are good. I don't like them sunny side up....the runny yolk makes me sick. But they're good in cakes, omelets, rice, soups, salads, saluns, and quiches! Go eggies!