Discovering Islamic art

New Europe and North African exhibitions on Islamic art..have a look here:

Re: Discovering Islamic art

When I was in Chicago for ISNA earlier this year, I saw this man promoting his art work based on masjids in Eastern Europe, particularly the Bosnia area. They were really beautiful. You can check them out at www.artrevival.com. The pictures don’t really do the art he has justice.

Another was a photographer of ‘Andalusian Art’ … the site is currently down right now, but it should be up soon. http://www.andalusianarts.com/

These pictures are just breath taking. I hope the site is up soon so you all can view them.

I preferred Islamic art when it wasn't so hip lol..those links were interesting..the art involved with the Bosnians work is an interesting style..have you seen British Muslim Islamic art? I find it very distinctive..maybe I've seen too much now..because I can pick up elements of the cultural style quite quickly now..

There is no such thing as Islamic art. There is no place, in Islam, for art (music, painting, architecture ....even poetry, etc.).

What an ignorant response, Islam has every room for art but with certain parameters.

Allah is Beautifull and loves beauty.

Talking of art, your ethnic group haven't achieved much on that front, maybe except some Yusufzai bashing poetry by KKK. Or take for example different foreign dynasties who ruled the Indian Subcontinent all made a lasting mark in that land through architecture, language and other fine arts which have given India the bit of glamour it boasts of but our Pashtuns hardly had anything to that effect except maybe a few very remorse and boring looking tombs, don't remind me of Sher Shah Suri because he wasn't even a Pashtun by lineage (not from the tribes descending from Qais Abdur Rashid but was assimilated into Pashtun society like the Moshwanis and Ghilzais for example, or your own Turkish tribe) and he did a lot on the development and infrastructure side of things but no great cultural relics or art is found from his period neither.

Ms kochi, you need to lighten up1
Kahan aeing gey yeh din shaadi key baad? :smiley:

Hmm the Agra and Rohtas fort?..I believe Indian historians praise Afghan contribution to architecture

As for what is Islamic art..simple its art with Islamic influence..one can pick it out quite easily..the general avoidance of pictures or statues..geometric shapes calligraphy etc..

Here is an example of British Muslim art that i mentioned earlier on..

That is beautiful, very classy. :k:

I discouraged the use of Islamic art in our house after we redecorated because it was almost always South Asian and looked very ethnic, it made the fireplace look like the tomb of some Indian Sufi saint, I would argue with my mother for putting up such calligraphy saying “must you make a Raada Ji temple out of the lounge? We’re Muslim and don’t need symbols and icons, faith is in the heart” but after seeing this I might have to get my debit card out, very classy and not at all freshy. Thanks again. :k:

hope you don’t bring ethnicities into this discussion.

Sher Shah Suri definitely was a Pashtun and so are Ghiljis and my own tribe Tarklanri. As for arts, the contribution of Islam Shah Suri, Adil Shah Suri, Allaudin Khilji/Ghilji, and Baz Bahadar and Rup Mathi to music, architecture, general adminstration, infrastructure, and poetry etc. of Hindustan has been acknowledged. Sluliaman Karlani and other Pashtun rulers patronized Bangla language and arts.

Akbar and British based their administrative system on the administrative innovations and reforms of two Pashtun rulers; Allaudin Khilji and Sher Shah Suri.

KKK, Rahman Baba, and Abdul Hamid Momand are ranked amongst best classical poets. Our folklore is very rich.

The only contribution I can see is in archtecture the dome-shape and minarite symbolizing the ancient tradition of phalus-worship and calligraphy. Qawali can be another contribution. As a creed Islam greatly discourages arts; (music, painting,...., even poetry).

toba

are you sure you're muslim or even pakhtun?

i smell a sikh bazarwal.

My favourite of the Islamic arts is the calligraphies particularly the older nastalique style found in some of the earlier persian Quran texts. The exquisite hand painted medallions and gilded script is exceptional-

wat an absurd comet to make. islam has plenty of room for art. perhaps u should get out of your cave and look around the globe at islamic arts expanse and eminence.

I believe the dinosaur guppy was trying to be ironic or something.

Just so you guys know, the Holy Quran itself is all poetry. One of the miracles of the Holy Quran is that it is the bestest piece of arabic literature ever. No one has ever been able to produce a literary masterpiece in arabic such as the Holy Quran. And it was revealed at a time when poetry and literature in arabia back then were as hot as IT is today. So it is virtually impossible for such a book to be written by an illiterate man who could not even read or write.

Sorry i drifted off topic.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota