Disciplining your 1 yr old baby

My baby is almost one, and I was little concerned about teaching her what not to do.

Here is a great article I came across and wanted to share with rest of you Parents:

Your One-Year-Old: Beginning Discipline - FamilyEducation.com

Do you guys have some tricks on how to teach your baby not to pull others hair, not to bite others, not to go near wires and outlets ? Do you have any experience of your own you will like to share ?

I will apply what I learned from this article and hopefully post how much the article helped.

Re: Disciplining your 1 yr old baby

its never too early to say no to a baby. 1 yr is way too old imho. they can understand you around 6-7 months.. they understand tones.

my girl is 7 months.... she began to diffrentiate between tones at 6 months. pout.. cry.. get scared.. etc.

now at 7 months she understands when i tell her not to pull my hair.. she stops in mid way. she doesnt remember it everytime .. but she will stop if i say no.

as they get mobile.. you tell em what they can touch and what they cant...

basically its repitition. by the time they hit the 1 yr mark.. they already have an awareness of whats doable and whats not.

atleast tahts how it worked for me..the first time.. and from what im seeing.. this time too.

Thanks for ur input,

Thats how we taught our nephew and niece, A simple NO worked for them.
However in case of my daughter we got her confused between "No" and "Nahi/ Nahi karo"

Somewhere in between we kind of threw her off and most of the times when we say "No" she thinks we r playing repeating game with her. She keeps repeating "No."

She does have some idea of what not to do, She wudnt touch cups, she wudnt go near fan. She even knows not to pull hair, specially not my nieces so she stops and looks around to see if someone wud say "Nahi karo" before she actually pulls em. So she knows she is not suppose to do it, but she does it anyway. I will love to watch her not do something after she knows she isnt suppose to do it.

On the other hand theres so much, we DONT want her to do. So I feel for her. She doesn't like sitting in one place and where ever she goes and what ever she does, we definitely dont want her to do that; coz she love pulling stuff and getting herself hurt.

I just want her not to pull anything in general. If i cud teach her that it wud be a great success.

Saying no never worked for my kids. Distracting them with something else is a better way imho instead of just saying no no no.

The Article had this very point to and plus a step more.

Distracting does it for us too but sometimes she gets her self hurt before we distract her.

Having so many restrictions, We dont mind her playing with her baby seat. She loves sitting in and enjoys her snacks in the seat. Yesterday she tried climbing the seat which is like 0.5 ft tall and falling from this height is not the worst thing but she fell on her face and cut her upper lip. Thats after i read the article :(. I guess some accidents are meant to happen. Only precaution i cud think for next time was, throw the baby seat away.

^Then again, girls are far more easier to handle. Boys on the other hand are just wild and their wildness grows with their age until they reach 12 or 13 and sometimes 14. lol

But then again, I'm those type of parent who believe wildness and exploring is good.

aqeel1232,

yeah throw the babyseat away...or get a 5 point harness for the seat or lay cushions and sheets on the floor.

Always have on your mind three things to use as hooks - like fishing and deploy them whenever you sense danger is near ... Avoid taking your attention away from her for longer than 5 minutes - often she will do dangerous things and things to bother you to get your attention.

One brilliant way to distract a child is to cuddle them or tickle shortly couchy coos and a bit of noise - show them a toy or distraction and carry on doing what you were doing. Babies get bored every 3 or 4 minutes.

I thought, guys were easier to deal with :s, at least as babies and toddlers

The seat did have seat belts, but she wasnt really sitting in the seat. I am thinking a bounce house is what she needs. she can be safe in that with all the toys she likes.

Psyah bro, 5 minutes is just too long of a time. My baby wont get bored 3 to 4 minutes. she wud just do something she is not supposed to do every 2 mins.

Thanks for the input you guys. I have learned a lot from ur inputs in religion to life1 forums and now parenting forum too :)

sorry aqeel but what a bounce house is? I hope it's not one of those things with air pressure inside them.

aqeel--- my son is super active.. always has been.. imagine he has been walking since he was 9 months... he never enjoyed toys.

too much energy and no place to vent it.. its trouble..

your kid doesnt need a bounce house.. infact it doesnt need any toys. take her out.. make her run... climb up the playground... play with her ... be active (if not already) in your child's playtime .... they love it ... leave them on their own and they try to find games themselves and they are all of the wrong kind... intro a game to her and play it out with her...

and can i just say that its a major myth that boys are harder than girls... i have a boy and a girl... my girl is SO not easy compared to my son. ive a few female cousins and some girls in my son's playdate circle that could put many boys to shame. rebellious and born to raise hell!

Yes u got it rite… r they bad ?

http://trus.imageg.net/graphics/media/trus/Aplusplus/2011/Updates/11206912/Magic-Time-Bounce-N-Play-11206912-01.jpg

Actually, one of my nephew is really active and always asking for trouble, so i dunt think its guys or girls… Some babies r not as calm as others. And calm babies r more stable in my opinion.

Now i do see that my daughter loves going out and playing. However, its not always possible with so many things to do around the house for my wife and me being at work. Other times weather doesnt permit outside activities and most of all, whatever she picks from floor she eats it. So thats why i though bounce house cud give her little freedom and safety when she cant go outside or be supervised.

who will supervise her when you guys are at work .. to be safe enough to play on a bounce house? (which isnt the bestest of solutions to engage a kid of 1 yrs)..

get her blocks. baby lego. show her how to build stuff.

google toys for 1 yr olds and see what the list shows... see what your girl can do (as you know best what kinda personality she has).. and go from there.

on a side note.. does she go to daycare or is there someone that looks after her at home when both you and the wife are at work? im only asking cuz it would be good to know just how they spend time with your girl..

^ My wife doesnt work, she stays home with baby; but still it wud be nice to put baby somewhere for 20 mins and know she is safe there.

Please don’t get the bouncy house thing. A sad incident happened in UK 5 or 6 years ago involving a bouncy castle. In fact, if you type bouncy castle accidents on google you’ll find plenty of incidents.

I’d suggest get a playpen instead.

evenflo exersaucer triple fun active learning center - nestingmode.com

Get that instead…can be carried everywhere…safer than a playhouse…and fun for the kid

Often the kid just wants to do what u r doing…

My son was a xopycat…so i put a playkitchen in the kitchen and when i was cooking..he would coon with me

When i was ironing..he would iron withme..got him a play iron

When i was cleaning… Gave hima rag and he helped me…

Sometimes us desi parents justwant the kid to look after itself and enetrteian emselves too… But thats not fair…give the kid options and watch them play happily and safely. This is not directly aimed at you.. I eas guilty of this ,yself before i realized … Im gonna havta be an active part of his daily life if i want him tp learn and also stay safe… It can be really boring at times and u have a billion things to get done… But u gotta do whatu gotta do…

:slight_smile:

You got the idea, what i was lookin for… She loves to be free and be able to move around. I will lookinto playpen. THANKS

I have something similiar to this,

she loved it when she was 4 months but since she started crawling she doesn’t appreciate them. I still have it, i will bring it out and see if she will like it again. I dunt think i can trust my daughter 6 feet near a hot iron.

I do agree with you, Its wrong to expect kid to look after himself; but its better if kids knows whats unsafe for him/her. So keeping them away from danger until they understand is better in my view. Parents dont have choice but to be an active part of kids life.

I wud love to be in the same room as my daughter knowing she wont go near an outlet or pull laptop, or pinch her figure in a drawer, not try to climb night stand (one day she ended up on top of night stand by herself). A 7 x 7 playpen is a good idea, worst she can do is get bored and we can go pick

Hehr. Ure girl sounds adorable mashallah... :D

Every kid is different. They learn differently; just keep trying different stuff. Article is good too.

Thanks (mashallah) all kids r. How many kids do u have ?