Re: dinner disasters.
I made shahi tukray once and forgot the cheeni. I cant seem to live that one down.
Awwww, :lol: Once my cousin cooked a pizza without removing the cardboard bit under the pizza, it was 15 years ago and we still bring it up every time she cooks for us.
hahaha yeah they couldnot catch it at all since it was way tooooo windy…and we were like kis ne kaha tha aise mausam main gol gappay khareedo.
haye allah bada ghussa charhta hai jab cone ice cream gir jaati hai. mere abbu ko bada ghussa ata tha jab hum icecream gira dete they aur sirf cone reh jati thi. according to him “sahi tarah pakri hoti tou icecream na girti”…and yes it is very emabarrasing
sabash mere shair ![]()
LOL@everyone's stories.
I am trying to rack my brains to remember a specific incident but things happen so much to me I have started to just put a mental memory block on it other wise I would just become a total social phobe :D
One hilarious incident does come to mind, there was an Iftar at someone's house and a paper dastarkhan was laid on the floor because there were 30 plus people. One particular West Indian brother who was a recent revert to Islam was enthusiastically helping serve the food but I think he hadn't quite got the hang of moving around a "floor table" and he somehow managed put his foot splat right into the dish of lamb curry! It was really shocking at first then soo funny because everyone was amazed at how he managed it.
Though we felt bad afterwards because I think he burnt his foot a bit although luckily not too badly.
Fifteen years on and his friends still tease him about it and in fact have called it "doing an Ahmed" in his honour i.e. anyone serving food on a floor dastarkhan is warned against doing an Ahmed!!
Doing an Ahmed ![]()
I had another one … This was many years ago when I was nearly a year down my first job, my managers and I went to attend a lunch meeting.. everyone made individual food orders, I made mine, hot and sour soup… minutes later everyone’s food started getting served one by one … a waiter came my way and put the soup in front of me .. I was so hungry by then , just jumped at it and mazay lai lai ki i got busy enjoying my soup .. halfway through and the waiter comes and says “your soup is served now , maam” … I looked at the soup , then at the bowl I was eating from , back at the bowl and said , if thats soup , then what is this ?
he said , its the tamarind sauce maam
…
I felt so embarassed , seriously , couldnt stop going red …
^ awwww thats cute
hehe once we had invited this lady over to our house and we served food. So there was this bowl with poodnay ki chuthney. Ans she started pouring it in her plate and ate it with a spoon.
We didnt know how to tell her without making her feel embarassed, so whe stayed quiet ![]()
After a bite she must have understood, and we saw her struggling. So ammi said rakh deiN, its ok.
It was awkward…
Your story reminded me of that ![]()
haha…this isnt’ a dinner disaster but I remember a few months back we took my nephews to the zoo (they were 3 and 2) and got them ice cream cones, well the little one’s ice cream fell and he just kept crying…so we bought him another one but in a cup but he wouldn’t eat it and just kept crying…we asked his brother to give him some of his but he still kept crying and wouldn’t eat it.
That was one rough day :no:
lol at all the stories. Heres mine, I had a bowl of rice and salaan in my hand and was going to sit down at the table and suddenly I slipped and then all the salaan fell on the floor but the rice stayed in the bowl
I think it was my secret ninja skills that did the trick, I sort of juggled the bowl! And I was really looking forward to it as well, plus it was the last of the salaan
. Everyone just laughed at me lol
This happened to a friend. She has an open kitchen and anyone sitting in the living room could see directly into the kitchen.. so one day she was doing last mins for a dawat, took out the roasted chicken from oven.. one second it was in her hand and the next second it laid there on the floor. the whole charga staring her in the face! Everyone went quite, she froze for a few long moments then picked it up, (i am sure swallowed some tears lol)put it back in the plate and onto the dinning table. It was in her early days after shadi and out of politeness no one uttered a word..lol.. it was good though, gone in minutes :D
ohhh no Masi , that must have been so embarassing for the poor soul ...
yeah it isnot dinner disaster rather a food mishap. lol ya kids do find these cones very attractive.
These stories are all awesome.
The gol gappe story almost makes me cry though - poor yummy gol gappe, lost in the wind!