My hubby has been here for almost 3 months now and hasnt found any job vacancy. For the last 3 months, he has been learning german, learning driving, the traffic rules of Austria and he has been sending resumees to some companies, where english speaking ppl are needed, but still no luck whatsoever, not even an interview call, we have the misfortune to live in a german speaking country, with little opportunties at International Organisations, even if you need a REFERENCE to get into U.N.O or somewhere in an International company, which we literally dont have.
He did his L.L.B. (Hons) from Islamabad. So basically there is no opportunity here, as 1. its a german speaking country and 2. they have their own Law here. Time is short, he wants to start a job, even part time and part time further study.
I just wonder how other people get their jobs, have they been in such a situation, where they graduated but didnt have a job right away. It can get frustrating, but we have faith in Allah, hope is still there.
One paki even said, “ris-eg (job) tu begam ke mugkahadar sey hoti ha” :o
This really is a huge problem for people moving to non-English Western countries. So it also applies to France, Italy, Germany, etc.
Especially if one is looking for a job that is adequate to ones education it can really be a tough ride, because in those kind of jobs they expect you to speak the local language fluently.
As far as I have seen, most people take a start in jobs that are below their qualification, just to get into the system and to learn the language "on site". However there are only a few, who take the next step and strive for higher positions.
So the best option IMO would be, to learn as much of the language as possible through courses, on the job or by self-study. A good way to achieve that is, that he should try to spend as much time as possible with German speaking people and you should also try to speak with him in German as much as possible. Otherwise he´d be tempted to speak Urdu or English. My wife has only completed the first semester of a German course at the University of Vienna and she speaks so well already that sometimes we have complete conversations in German with each other.
While improving his language skills he should always look for opportunities to move on in his career at the same time.
Umer, thanks for the reply, it's really a tough ride, I already knew it would be so.
As far as german, he is learning and has done some basic grammer and conversation courses. We do speak german and he pratices with everyone he sees and can, neighbors, salespersons, friends, of course self study and courses.
Good to see your wife doing so well, we also want to do the Uni course, is it right that you have to register first with the University of Vienna to get into the "Studienvorbereiting" or whatever they call it? May I ask, what are her career plans for the future, will she work or is she learning german for just daily conversation and understanding.
Sana is learning German mainly for casual conversation and understanding things. However the reason why we decided that she should do the course at the University of Vienna is, that after completing 2 semesters there you are entitled to study at the University as a regular student without having to give an extra German test.
She has a BSc degree from Lahore and might go for Masters here. But she is not sure about that yet. Even if she decides not to continue her university studies it´s still good, because the German course at the University is one of the best in Austria. However it´s quite costly too, ie 600 Euro for one semester.
Btw, aap nai hummai abhi takk apnai hubby sai nahi milwaaya. :)
Umer, can you send me the German language contact info, because I know there are two types, one in which you first take admission in one of the majors and they send you to the Vorstudienlehrgang Deutsch and one where you dont have to register but are allowed to study as a normal student after your done, I think thats the one Sana must be doing, right?.
Three months is still a short time, we still havent decided where the future is taking us, I think it takes time to adjust into a new system.
Dilemma seems to be fading away Allah Ka lakh lakh sukhar hai.
This week, hubby is having this four day admission test/interview for some academic teaching course, which he wants to attend in the future.
He has cleared two days, which included german oral and written test, today had arabic written test, arabic oral and interview to go. Need prayers. Thanks!
*Originally posted by SaadiaB: *
He did his L.L.B. (Hons) from Islamabad. So basically there is no opportunity here, as 1. its a german speaking country and 2. they have their own Law here. Time is short, he wants to start a job, even part time and part time further study.
I just wonder how other people get their jobs, have they been in such a situation, where they graduated but didnt have a job right away. It can get frustrating, but we have faith in Allah, hope is still there.
I am sure he knew all that before coming to Europe. Pakistani LLB isn’t going to help much…so what was the plan before marriage? How did you guys foresee overcoming these hurdles?
Of course! he (we) knew about the upcoming hurdles, especially the language barrier, he knew that he would have to learn German language and that he would find another environment here. But all happened so fast, we got nikkahed in two weeks, but it was clear, that I am not settling in Pakistan as yet. He had to finish one year of his uni, so we waited till he finished this before got properly married with a Rukshati and he arrived here.
So what can you do beforehand, He wanted to do a german course in Pakistan, but didnt get the time to do so, as his final year was intensive enough.
As for LLB for not helping enough, u are wrong there mate, he's got the degree from an international university not just any public, he's got good grades and was on scolarship. Before marring me, his future plans were to do LLM in Malaysia from their sister university and to go for lectureship.
I told him about the hurdles almost daily on emails and telephone, sometimes you cant do anything about it, till you actually reach that stage.
IF he does some more exams from here, he can get equalization from here, which might help in the future, right now, he has passed the exams for a teaching academic course and will be starting classes, isnt this good enough mr fayz?