What does it mean when people say that someone is dil ka acha/ache? Is that like saying they dont appear good but they are not bad?
Not necessarily. Someone who is outwardly attractive can also be “dil ka acha.”
Come to think of it…
…Here is what I’ve observed with that line:
-
If the person is attractive, then the “acha dil” is used in conjunction with the former quality. For example, you will hear…“Achi shakal/surat hai…AUR ..dil ka bhi acha hai.” ~JACKPOT!!!~ Latter enhances the former; like a bonus.
-
If the person is not as attractive, then the “acha dil” can carry a compensatory undertone. It’s like saying, “What he lacks in the looks department, he more than makes up for it with a heart of gold.” Shakal/surat pe mat jaao, dil ka bara acha hai.
-
Or the speaker intends no connection at all to the person’s looks and the focus was strictly on their character/personality.
-
Someone who may have put their foot in their mouth, and you are being reassured that they meant well cuz they’re good at heart.
I think its mainly directed at intentions, or rather inner intention, e.g ‘he is a total twat outside but dil ka acha hai’, ‘dont take her wrong, she is nice at heart’ etc
yep, a person could a bit rough around the edges in terms of manners, eloquence etc, shooting off mouth before thinking much and unwittingly may mildly cross someone’s feelings but down in his heart is caring and soulful person, cares about those around him in his life and would go to lengths to stand by their sides when needed that’s when he qualifies for the label “dil ka accha hay”
this is another way to calm your anger or hide others follies.
It means that the guy is very good in manner and can understand the problem of other people as well..