Wt is diffrence b/t tomato sauce or tomato ketchup?
I knw tomato ketchup but how v can make tomato sauce. ?
yah diffrent hoti hai na?
Re: diffrence
two totally different things! tomato sauce in a can is usually thin and runny, and is to be used a base for making something (such as spaghetti sauce, lasagna, chilli, stews etc)
tomato ketchup is much thicker and has has a ton of additives, namely high fructose corn syrup, salt and other preservatives, and is much thicker in consistancy.
don't swap out either one in recipes!
thanx dear. can v make tomato sauce at home?
amaya , yes , sauce can be made at home , this is how i make it usually for pizza base or for spaghetti ..
Take a frying pan and pour in a tablespoon full of olive oil.. add in half a tsp garlic paste or finely chopped garlic .. fry a bit ... then add in one tsp onion paste .. and fry some more ..finally add in tomato paste ( turn about 10-15 tomatoes into a fine paste with the help of your blender ) ... now cover the pot and let this all cook on medium heat .. stir occasionally .. when the paste starts becoming thicker ... add in salt and pepper and herbs of your choice ...
finally when it reaches the right consistancy ... take it off the heat and its ready for use ...
Thanx CB.Tomato paste that u mentioned to make sauce it means peeled tomato. right?](http://www.khanapakana.com/recipe/2a95c2cd-0fce-4642-801f-c7542a5f8914/chicken-shashlik)Actually I am gonna make chicken shaslik and for this i need this.
the shaslik recipe i am gonna follow is this:
http://www.khanapakana.com/recipe/2a95c2cd-0fce-4642-801f-c7542a5f8914/chicken-shashlik
Instead of tomato paste you can you chopped or peeled tomatoes from a can. Those are better for the sauce than the paste. Paste is tick already and has some other ingredients already in it. Chopped or peeled tomatoes are much plainer and juicy, good for the home made base sauces.
amaya , i dont usually peel them .. just pop them in the blender and give it a good run ..it will turn into a fine paste and then when you cook it over slow heat .. the water will evaporate leaving behind a good volume of tomato sauce :@:
Thanx CB again for help.
Tomato sauce also in pizza So will try it that time.
Last time when i hv to make shaslik No time for sauce SO i mix two recipe in one.
FOr chicken marination and vege frying i follow the recipe from web as link is above.
For sauce i follow tha rida aftab recipe.that was:
3tbsp water, 1 cup tomato ketchup, salt , 1/4 tsp red chilli powder, black pepper, 2tbsp vinger, and soya sauce 2 tbsp. I also added tomato ka gudda.
Dish turn out good. taste was gud . i hv a doubt of sauce. but thick ho gaye ya ingrdients ki amount thk nahi. mean buhat kam bani?
any suggestion?
toast or french toast? toast mean simple bread slic. but wt is meant for french one?
There is toast, which is just toasted bread, french toast - which is a breakfast/brunch dish prepared by dipping bread in an egg/milk mixture and there is french bread which is a type of baked loaf.
need the recipe of tomato sauce that used in pizza. CB can i use ur recipe over here or no?
yes you can amaya ... I use that recipe for garlic bread as well as pizza base and even for simple pasta mix ...
Simply roast some crushed garlic in oil and then add in loads of blended tomato and keep cooking it until it gets reduced to a thick mixture then add in teh spices , green chillies chopped, some herbs salt , etc ...
quantity kya hogi?
zaina quantities are written above in post number 7 check that out ...
thanx CB for help. I will tell u soon after try it.
@ zaiena,, quantities r there in post 4. u can see.