Different Career Options for Women

Hey All! Been a while, and I missed this site :slight_smile:

I don’t know if you guys heard of the Pakistani-American singer Nadia Ali, who was recently nominate for a Grammy, for her electronica/lyrical fusion songs. I listened to the music myself to see what it was about, and I think it’s alright (electronica has never been my thing, neither has ‘club music’), but I do think some of her lyrics have depth.

However I was curious about everyone’s takes on men and women breaking down more barriers to try their hands at different career options. Something different than the usual doctors, engineers and/or lawyers and businessmen.

More and more I hear about so and so taking up painting, singing, acting, clothes designing (in more ambitious terms…not the boutique in a basement sort of deal), writing etc.

What are your takes on this? Ladies, would you marry a man who instead of going to medical school/getting his MBA, had decided to pursue his passion and write for a living?

And men, would you marry a lady who had decided to paint or sing as her career?

Re: Different Career Options for Women

I am in healthcare but my life depends on writers of all kinds. I have huge respect for them. I am all up for a person following his passion because i feel like if you don't, you will grow tired of your career very soon. And I dont want to be stuck with a grumpy husband.

As long as he is excited about his job. If he's not, he's going to be one miserable puppy to come home to each night, and I don't want to have to smack him every night when I come home from work tired.

Yea, I'd actually prefer it if she had creative talents like singing, or the arts.

who is Nadia Ali?

I keep hearing her name these days

Out of respect for Ramadan, I won’t post the music videos but she is a Pakistani-American performer, used to be with IIO. Her music is electronic and her voice is pretty powerful.

I am all up for woman to pursue her passion. It just goes on tell me how dedicated and focused she is in her life.

you should do what you like whether its the circus or neurosurgery. that way you have some motivation to excel at it. you cant devote your whole life to something you dont even enjoy. thats just cruelty to yourself.

what so bad about painting? :bummer:

i paint, draw, create, sculpt, write, film-making, i used to sing but then i quit.

not everyone is sick-minded…my personal art is usually related to Islamic art or either they are political-economical pieces (well again unlike Picasso and Sadequain). whereas commerical pieces are usually on the br-and…we have strict guidelines to follow.

wish I had a grown up son. :hinna:

there is a aunty I heard of in our city whose son went to culinary school, CIA, or some other prestigious institution, he wants to be the next Bobby Flay or something...anyway...she's now recieving snickers from people when she looks for rishtas...that's typical desi mentality for you...it's freaking 2011, aur abhi thak sirf doctor ya engineer ki ehmiyat hai...ridiculous...this poor lady was actually told "hum kya apni beti ki haat kisi bawaarchi ko dainge kya"....as long as larka/larki imandari sai kumarain, kya farq parta hai, what their profession is....

my husband begrudgingly finished his Bachelors, and became a good little engineer as expected, when all he ever wanted to do was become a pilot. he had to lie to his family and get his private pilot license on the side, because they kept telling him it was a waste of time and "uska koi scope nahin hai" he had to secretly keep up his hobby/passion..it wasn't until we got married, that he got fed up and said, "I'm doing this...suck it!" I'm so proud of him....he went back to school, while working FULL TIME, seeing us through the birth of our 3 beautiful kids, finished a SECOND degree in aviation sciences, got his CFI (certified flight instructor) rating, and now, at the age of 37, is ready to make a career change...

we have both promised ourselves that our kids will be able to pursue whatever career choices they want, be it MD, JD, racecar driver, athelete, artist, business/entrepenuer, etc...with one caveat....they MUST go finish college and get an education/degree...that is a non-negotiable!

just realized the thread title was about women, specifically, but i think it applies both ways!