Re: Did your education help you?
The only source of knowledge is experience.
aur ye uni’s kya kerti hain phir ![]()
Waste of life.
ur posting quotes ![]()
The words which you don't learn in university.
I was very ignorant. Although education was not the only thing to battle against being ignorant in my life, i would say it atleast started me off on the right track..or i should say when i realized my ignorance, the only way i could take a step was through education.
It also has a huge hand in keeping me happy on a day-day basis. I love going to school and learning smtng new. I love it how it stops me from lying, being sarcastic, being a gossiper, and wasting my time doing non-sense, pointless stuff in life. I love the fact that it gives me power to speak up for certain people (eg. my patients).
I honestly don't think i would be content without it.
It was ACTUALLY a way to make sense of experience. Experience without knowledge or knowledge without experience are both useless.
I'm gonna make my kids take a 3 years break from "education" after their A-levels because I believe during those years they should be working or volunteering instead of taking out a huge loan, besides you have to have the maturity and experience before you enter a University. Mature students take their education more seriously.
wish more parents could think like this.
Maturity varies among individuals, I know ppl in their 30s and. 40s who are immature, unreliable, etc and I know 16 year olds who are very mature. Plenty of students do just fine starting Uni at 18,
That's true but it's a fact that older students do better in a university. I'm not gonna pressurize my kids like most desi parents do. I'd encourage them to establish their own businesses, travel around the world, get a lot of work experience done before they enter a university...but if they decide on the higher education then I'd still support their decision.
I can see what you're saying, but 18 is not the right age to put a pause in their education. Plenty of people take time off after an undergrad.
Also, most students are doing the things you mentioned + going to college. It's a competitive world and you need to find your interest and do everything it requires at once. Three years is simply too long of a gap. [esp at that age]
i think my education did help me. Im less meaner than I could have been :halo:
my job helped me too, making me a better, kinder and affectionate person. (i just honestly think so, no self appraisal intended
)
I can see what you're saying, but 18 is not the right age to put a pause in their education. Plenty of people take time off after an undergrad.
Also, most students are doing the things you mentioned + going to college. It's a competitive world and you need to find your interest and do everything it requires at once. Three years is simply too long of a gap. [esp at that age]
When I said that I had people like Sir Alan Sugar and Richard Branson in my mind....it might not work out for everyone but I'm from the category of people who believe that higher education is not important to be a successful person in life, in fact it might hinder pupils' abilities sometimes with all the stress that comes with it. I also want them to explore the world of mysticism during those important years of their lives.
Anyway, I still have 10 years to think about it. :)
Btw, I don't know if we are talking about the help in materialistic way or spiritual way?
They'd only be pausing on their formal education which is not the only type of education. They'll be getting plenty to experience and I don't think a gap will hinder them in anyway. Methinks it'd give them a fresh/different perspective on whatever they'll be learning. Going to school from the ages of 6-21 nonstop is hindering. Not to be a mystic here but it confines ze soullll. Hareem, be my parent?
lol...you're my teacher. I was just following my heart and when you showed an approval through your eloquent words it just made me more sure about it. :)
When I said that I had people like Sir Alan Sugar and Richard Branson in my mind....it might not work out for everyone but I'm from the category of people who believe that higher education is not important to be a successful person in life, in fact it might hinder pupils' abilities sometimes with all the stress that comes with it. I also want them to explore the world of mysticism during those important years of their lives.
Anyway, I still have 10 years to think about it. :)
i agree with all of this, I think what don't agree with is taking a break from formal education at 18. But i guess it depends on each individual person...
I was very ignorant. Although education was not the only thing to battle against being ignorant in my life, i would say it atleast started me off on the right track..or *i should say when i realized my ignorance, the only way i could take a step was through education. * It also has a huge hand in keeping me happy on a day-day basis. I love going to school and learning smtng new. I love it how it stops me from lying, being sarcastic, being a gossiper, and wasting my time doing non-sense, pointless stuff in life. I love the fact that it gives me power to speak up for certain people (eg. my patients).
I honestly don't think i would be content without it.
It was ACTUALLY a way to make sense of experience. Experience without knowledge or knowledge without experience are both useless.
Wow, what a post. I wish I had your maturity at a similar stage in my life.
" I also want them to explore the world of mysticism during those important years of their lives. "
Hareem, respectfully disagree with this motivation. May not be in their best interest. Such things are best left to the individual's timetable and inclination, IMO.
( I also get the feeling you have continuously evolves as a person - and will know the right thing to do at the right time)
if it counts, i can fix many of the things that go wrong with my computer software ![]()
^ Sure it does - good for you!