I don’t know who i will be getting married to, and when. but i am very fascinated by extravagant weddings. i want the best of everything. the best dress, venue, makeup, food, decoration, photography etc.
But, the problem is that i know i will not be able to get all that i want because it requires a lot of money which we don’t have unless i get married to some really rich guy, who pays for everything. (the chances of that isn’t so great)
what my question is that does any of you married people ever looked back at your wedding, and get sad because ur makeup wasn’t great, or ur photos didn’t come out right, or your dress wasn’t great. etc?
a lot of people say that when they look back at their wedding they laugh at themselves for being so anal about everything, and it doesn’t even matter after the wedding. is that true?
Re: did you regret not having your dream wedding after the wedding?
Aww yanzla :) I know nowadays its super expensive to throw such lavish weddings BUT i think if you are smart you can throw a decent wedding without spending alot of money. But for that you need to plan ahead of time and have your research done.
I have seen alot of people complain how their wedding day was messed up cuz of their bad make-up, ill fitted clothes or whatever but after few months or a year or two it doesnt really matter i guess. But i know i am very particular about these things and nothing would stop me from being very cautious about planning my own wedding :D I had suggest you do the same. It's afterall the most important day of your life and a day you will hopefuly cherish all your life.
yes
NO !
Well, Like Maham said, intially right after the wedding, you might hear newlywed complain of how certain things didn't work out as they planned. However, after a while it really does not matter. Marriage is just not about the wedding day, there is so much to it. And really after wards you realize how silly you were for getting yourself worked up on little things because at the end of the day all it matters is that you married a guy that you love.
And to answer your question, looking back to my wedding (Feburary 2010) I would like to have my wedding in more of a simple way. I had the traditional 3 days wedding, mehndi, barat and walima. If I were to do it again, I would probably have just get nikkah done in a mosque with close family and have one good reception. It honestly is not worth spending so much and going all crazy for a Day.
In the end, do what makes you happy! :)
i had my dream wedding and it wasn't huge or lavish or asspensive as all hell. why does "dream" automatically equate to those things anyway?
so no, i have no regrets AH.
^like :)
i had my dream wedding and it wasn't huge or lavish or asspensive as all hell. why does "dream" automatically equate to those things anyway? so no, i have no regrets AH.
Well, Like Maham said, intially right after the wedding, you might hear newlywed complain of how certain things didn't work out as they planned. However, after a while it really does not matter. Marriage is just not about the wedding day, there is so much to it. And really after wards you realize how silly you were for getting yourself worked up on little things because at the end of the day all it matters is that you married a guy that you love.
And to answer your question, looking back to my wedding (Feburary 2010) I would like to have my wedding in more of a simple way. I had the traditional 3 days wedding, mehndi, barat and walima. If I were to do it again, I would probably have just get nikkah done in a mosque with close family and have one good reception. It honestly is not worth spending so much and going all crazy for a Day.
In the end, do what makes you happy! :)
^ Luv both of these answers!!!!
Yanzala- iA i will get married this year and honestly, I am stressing out too much because everyone around me is wanting to make this wedding more lavish and extravagant than it has to be. For me - the simpler it is ...the better. One should definitely feel beautiful on their most special day..... but I think .....if you have your DREAM GUY who is so excited and happy to be with you forever....... that is more amazing than the wedding itself. The wedding will be memorable regardless of how lavish or how non-lavish it is because you will be marrying your dream guy. ..... and one should be excited to be starting a new chapter in their lives. That is what makes me excited... all the other stuff is just making me nervous and creating anxiety. lol.
If I had it my way... I would have my shaadi like how Tlucky wished hers was.... I have managed to convince my family that I do not want a mehndi.. but that is as far as it got.
And kasam se.... i really do not think i will regret not having a mehndi. Im relived... one less thing to stress/plan, less of a burden financially on my parents, one more day to chill and relax before the shaadi.
It is wonderful to dream...... but do not set your expectations so high that when the time comes, you are dissappointed and sad on the most special day of your life. No matter what happens...it WILL and SHOULD be the most special day of your life.
The two things I cannot compromise on are: my clothes and pictures. Thats it.
Everything else...I do not care much for.
**maiN ne abhii yeh she'r banaayaa hai
vo bahot Khush naseeb hote haiN
jinke dulhe qareeb hote haiN **:(
I kind of wonder this but about people whose weddings were overshadowed or perhaps ruined by personal/national catastrophes...like if u get married in wintertime and what if there's a huge snowstorm that shuts down most businesses and transportation? or when benazir was assassinated, pretty much the entire country was in riots and i'm sure that ruined alot of ppls' weddings!
Sara I was in Pak when Banazir was assassinated, and it was the day my Moms cousin was supposed to get married. Obviously the girls side had soent a lot of money on the hall, decor, food everything which went to waste. But because the Dulhan was already dressed up her mother insisted that they came and did the nikkah and took her away. So that's was they did, the dulha, his father and brother went, did the Nikkah and brought her home. They were so gutted then, but now they're over it, they're like we got married and that's the main thing.
yeah but man thats gotta suck...allthat money and those plans gone to waste!
^ i know someone who's entire wedding was ruined by those monsoon rains. her tent practically fell down, water was up to her knees, her lehenga was ruined. it was the one day in the year that it rained like that. the wedding planner basically ran away because she couldn't handle it, but this girl still says her wedding was great fun. everyone just sort of sucked it up and pitched in to dry the seating and inside of the tent as best they could and then got on with it. you really have to make the most of it.
my cousin's wedding was scheduled the day benazir was assassinated too. they sent the bride to the closest relatives house as soon as the news broke since she was at the beauty salon, took all her jewellery off, and stayed there until well after midnight when there was a lull in the violence. then she arrived home. the next day they did a nikah simply and whomever could make it over had the khana and the rest was distributed amongst the neighbours. that does suck but you know they weren't the type of people to have a lavish reception- they'd ordered lots of khana, and of course she had her jora and jewellery but luckily there was no expensive decor or anything like that to mourn.
omg .... i know a girl Sara who had planned her entire Walima to a T. ...... her MIL allowed her to pick out everything and plan anything. And she had a blast doing it...and spent a lot of TIME, effort and money doing it ...especially since she lived in Cali and the Walima would be on the opposite coast (D.C.). So much planning went into it. She had a simple wedding in the homeland and this was her opportunity to do things her way etc.
hundreds of guests came....loads flew in from Cali and from other places. .... and then that random huge snowstorm hit the DC area last year ... the day after everyone had flew in and the reception hall called her in the morning and said they would not open. Everything completely went to waste. To top it off....all guests were stranded in random hotels ..no flights were going out for a couple days. The hotel they were staying at....the cook could not even come into work so they didnt even have food for like 3 days. Everyone like survived off vending machine stuff once the kitchen food ran out......
Talk about a disaster and a waste. EVERYONE still charged them for everything. Photographers, florists, caterers, the reception hall, etc. They donated as much of the stuff as they could....
But were extremely embarrassed about the unfortunate inconveniences their guests had to endure. The bride is still traumatized by it.
..... horrible.
i know of another shaadi where due to a huge blizzard - airports being shut down and flights being delayed and cancelled... that the dulha was not even able to make to his own mehndi.
And only 80 out of 350 guests were able to make it to the actual shaadi. Mostly only locals....
People should jsut not plan their weddings in the winter time if they live in places where there is a chance of snow.....
i know of another shaadi where due to a huge blizzard - airports being shut down and flights being delayed and cancelled... that the dulha was not even able to make to his own mehndi.
And only 80 out of 350 guests were able to make it to the actual shaadi. Mostly only locals....
People should jsut not plan their weddings in the winter time if they live in places where there is a chance of snow.....
aur bhii Gham haiN zamaane meN shaadii ke sivaa! :(
I wod hate to have some sort of rain storm on my weddding..eeeeh that got to suck big time. my weddin is in july and in Pakistan it does rain like crazy july. So I guess I wod get a enclosed hall or somethin not an open tent.
Not having your dream wedding can still be bearable...not marrying your dream guy or the kind of person you'd want to be with is a problem!...a wedding is just a four day event while you have to live all your life with that dude. But i'd still want to have my dream wedding as well :P I want my cake and i want to eat it to.