Re: Did you learn how to cook before or after marriage?
After...... i never needed to cook before... i could cook the odd italian/englsh thing here and there, but nothing desi.....
My hubby knew how to cook french cuisine, and we both got taught desi cuisine by my mom and dad..... and i'm embarrassed to say that he cooks it better than me!! :(
^ don't be embarassed, that's great! let him run with it- its his "special skill" hahaha think of all the future dinner parties you could have where you're just doing support work like loading the dishwasher and dusting! :p
I knew a few basics. But I couldn't multitask in the kitchen. You learn when you have to do it. Now I have better instincts about how to make things delicious :D
After...... i never needed to cook before... i could cook the odd italian/englsh thing here and there, but nothing desi.....
My hubby knew how to cook french cuisine, and we both got taught desi cuisine by my mom and dad..... and i'm embarrassed to say that he cooks it better than me!! :(
that's awesome! Nothing to be embarrassed about.
SGC - i know! it’s great to have a hubby that cooks… and when we have guests and family around for any occasion that involves food, he does the majority of the cooking, so i just play hostess… and even though he has in fact done the majority of the cooking, if i do something so small like dress a salad, then he’ll anounce the whole meal as a ‘joint effort’
Sahar - I too used to suck at multi-tasking in the kitchen… it’s definitely improves once you get into the swing of things and it gets better with time… i can’t even count the amount of times i have told my hubby on the phone that he is coming home to a meal containing x, y and z… and only receives a partial x because everyting else has burnt into ashes!
Hmmmm, i still wish i was more competent in the kitchen though… i don’t have that natural flair in the kitchen… i have a natural flair for eating! At the beginning of our marriage I used crave that ‘womanly stepford thing’ where a woman is supposed to be a domesticated goddess… :hinna:
I never 'learnt' to cook, but I am a fairly accomplished cook (despite working full time), and have picked things up from cookery shows/watching mum and dad in the kitchen/making thing up as I go along.
My mum didn't force me to learn to cook, I picked it up as I enjoy food. I'll be getting married in 12 weeks inshallah and am looking forward to taking charge of my own kitchen.
after marriage,,,started cooking,,,us say pehlay sirf baking,,,but iwant my daughter to learn everything,shadi say pehlay,,life thoree asaan ho jatee hai ager pehlay say ajata ho,,ALhamdULLILaH my hubby heled me a lot,,abb tou MASHALLAH say master ho gaey:).
I couldnt cook anything before marriage! After marriage I lived with my inlaws for about 2 years so I learnt alot from my mil and also I got alot of recipes from my mom and am always finding new recipes and trying out new things. I do wish however that I had learnt at least a few basics before leaving home, dont know why I never bothered!!
I learned to cook before I got married. In fact, my mom started training us from a really young age. Initially we would start with cutting onions, veggies, and taste testing. Then it moved to washing/cutting meat, adding masala and the actual cooking. As we got older, we wrote down recipes for various dishes as well as the variations.
The only things that I haven't really picked up is roti making, and desi desserts.
Some before and some after. Before marriage mam taught us the basics (roti, salan, rice) after marriage husband taught me the pakistani speciality dishes (biryani, haleem, nihari etc).
I learnt some English cooking at school and taught myself the rest.
I love cooking and learnt to cook desi stuff (as well as international) from the age of 11.
Once I got engaged I learnt some of my husbands favourite dishes.
I think its a preference thing when it comes to learning to cook before or after marriage. My cousin couldn't cook before marriage and still can't cook 5 years on. The marriage is no longer in existance but her cooking hasn't improved.
Not married yet but i've learned a lot these past two years from contributing one dish to every daawat my mom has done, that way i learn a variety of different things and i'm also helping her out during hectic cooking times =)
before. parents were in pakistan and i was here with my brother so i had to cook most of the time. then i just fell in love with cooking and how much it relaxes me...its almost meditative for me now.