What is the official statement on that delivery?
104.1 mph…can’t believe.
Re: Did Sami really bowled the fastest delivery ??
*Originally posted by smooth_guy: *
104.1 mph....can't believe.
There is definately something wrong with their speed guns..Seem like every other ball was going past 100
Re: Re: Did Sami really bowled the fastest delivery ??
*Originally posted by TommyKnocker: *
There is definately something wrong with their speed guns..Seem like every other ball was going past 100
May when Jeff Thomson threw 100 m/h then also the speed gun was not working properly !
The bouncer which nearly hit Powar was timed at 99.5mph...but other than that, there were no other 100mph deliveries. Are these speed guns recognised by the ICC?
[thumb=E]181326_9418496.JPG[/thumb]
I am not sure that the gun was working properly. Will have to wait and see if it is declared the fastest ball ever to have been bowled.
Yeah, I noticed that too. Seemed like the speed gun was saying Sami was over 100 MPH a couple of times. Sure says something about speed and bowling. He was by far the worst bowler on either team today.
Well he bowled badly today but that was due to misdirection. It doesn't mean he wasn't bowling fast.
Balaji's slower one was the fastest ball of the day ... 169.8 kph. i think someone mentioned pathan-speedgun in the other thread. it really was screwed up. on a side note, shoaib akhtar nearly ruined his career for 161 kph and this boy sami out of nowhere comes in to bowl not 160..1..2 but 167.7 ... hilarious!
The speedgun was accurate....except that it was pointed at a minibus outside the stadium:d
*Originally posted by Akif: *
The speedgun was accurate....except that it was pointed at a minibus outside the stadium:d
Allah kher karay, Pakistan ki minibus ki jo condition hoti hai, us ke hisab se agar 100mph ki speed se jaa rahi ho, to chances are ke kisi pahar (mountain) se gir rahi hai.
*Originally posted by Captain1: *
to chances are ke kisi pahar (mountain) se gir rahi hai.
Gir nahi, pahaR par chaR rahi hai.
Err… I guess I know what you are referring to.. but for the record.. I never called it pathan-speedgun. Allah maaf karay! Aik aur hangama shuru honay der nahi lagay gi idher ![]()
hmm pathan speed gun…
we have faster speed guns ![]()
taraqee yafta loag ![]()
woh Pakistan ki konsi minibus hay jo pahar pe charhtay howay 100+mph kee speed se chal sakay?
aur woh konsa pahar hay jis pe itni seedhi road hay 100+mph ke liye
lol .. point taken and apologies to those offended (if any).
o no...not other speed race...the one between lee and shoib almost screwed shoibs career...lets hope shoib jus ignores dis...or...he doesnt care nemore about this as he contends himself wit the idea that atleest its his fellow fast bolwer mo sami!!!
laxmipathy balaji bowled a slower one at 169 kmps? r u sure it wasnt 69 cuz i meen in india, the speed required to be called a fast bowler is 130 kmph…while in pakistan 130 kmph would be a medium pacer eg the razzler…lolol
GO PAKISTAN ![]()
one ball from balaji was clocked at 105.5 mph....
i saw one of sami's deliveries record 98.5 mph and said to myself "wow, this lad is really bowling fast" but once i saw balaji's speed clocked as stated above, i knew there was definitely something wrong with those speed guns....
Sami outpaces Shoaib with 100mph delivery
LAHORE: Amidst the hype about how fast Pakistan’s Shoaib Akhtar bowls, team-mate Muhammad Sami’s 100 miles an hour feat against India barely created a ripple.
Television speed guns clocked two deliveries by Sami at over 100mph (160 kilomtres an hour) during Friday’s third one-day international at Peshawar which Pakistan won by four wickets.
Yet, few took notice of the rare feat that is not recognised in the record books of the International Cricket Council (ICC), but generates a lot of interest among cricket lovers.
So far, only Shoaib had been timed at that pace in a one-day international when he clocked 100.2 miles per hour in the World Cup game against England at Cape Town last year.
But the Rawalpindi Express, as Shoaib is nicknamed, clocked only around 90 miles per hour on Friday even as Sami gained in pace. Even Sami himself was not aware of what he had achieved. “I don’t know, I am not aware of any records,” the slim fast bowler said.
An executive of the television company beaming the matches conceded errors were possible in the reading of speed guns, even though the Australian company that makes them guarantees 98 percent accuracy.
Sami has in the past not been regarded as a fast bowler generating express pace like Shoaib or Australia’s Brett Lee.
This is good. Now Shoaib will try to beat that ...and stray all over the place. Hope Sami does that do/