dhols and their beckground

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/dhol.gif

I am looking for some dhols pics and background info…

can someone help me with this..

post images, share info..

also needed on rubaabs..

unfortunaty I havent got much time to do the resurch myself, so anybody who helps me, it would be a great thing…

** eek din zindagi itni hoon ghi haseen…**

if someone can PM me the right links,
so I know where I have to look..

then I can see for myself,

chitta kukar baney rey teey
kaasani dupateey waliey munda sadkey terey tey
heraa lakh sawa lakh da hai haaey
heera lakh sawa lakh da hai
kadi ai teeshan tey akh pij gai veera di

Peepli deeya chawa ni haaey peepli deyaa chawaaN ni
apney hathi doli toor key mah pey karaan duawa ni

{ i think this is how it goes}
[musaraat nazir ]

ley jaein gay le jaein gay
dil waley dulhanya le jaein gay
reh jaein gay reh jaein gay
ghar waley dekhtey reh jaein gay
tum ho kali tu gulaab hum haain
ha gulaab hum haain
honto sey lagalo to sharab hum haain
han sharab hum hain
hooo chal hun chaliey
dil ki duna basaey gay
ley jaein gay ley jaein gay
dil waley dulhanya ley jaein gay

dum maro daaaaam
mit jaeey ghummm
bolo subha shaaam
harey [larkey ka nam] harey [larki ka naam]
[larkey ka nam] ko dulha banaey gay
[larki ka naam] sey shadi karwaein gay

[and it goes on and gone i forgot alot of it *sigh]

maaadaaniyaaaa haaaeey
surey kaar jaaan waliey
shala hooon muraaadaa puriyaaa haaey

[musaraat nazir love her voice and lol i can almost copy her]

That dhol reminded me of the songs that i use to sing with my cousins on shadis back home.

I will try to find a picture of the dool etc…

but i liked the one that had screw on them. remember those? they were easier to play with.
I can play daafli easily.. when i play dhool i cant seem to sing with it

lol. and i loved smashing chamcha on the dhool lol.

haine you brought back soo many memories *sigh

*hugz girl

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/kiss.gif

Are you writing a paper on dhols??

I’ve done a paper on Tabla…wanit?

I think Tabla is different from dhol…well, here’s what I found from a website about Dhols:

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/dhol11.jpg

Information on Dhols:-

Dhol is a very popular folk drum of northern India. It is barrel shaped with a simple membrane on the right hand side. The left hand is also a single membrane with a special application on the inner surface. This application is a mixture of tar, clay and sand (dholak masala) which lowers the pitch and provides a well defined tone. There are two ways of tightening the dholak. Sometimes they are laced with rope, in which case, a series of metal rings are pulled to tighten the instrument. Sometimes metal turnbuckles are employed. It is said that this instrument used to occupy a position of considerable prestige. Today it is merely relegated to filmi and folk music.

This barrel-shaped drum is played with one curved beater and one flat stick for an exciting combination of thumps and slaps. Colorful shoulder strap, beaters, and festive decoratives included.

It is widely used all over the Indian sub-continent. In Pashto speaking areas, it is commonly used by the Khattak tribe, to a distinct beat, of which the Khattak dance is performed. It can be, and is used as a stand-alone instrument which accompanies wedding songs sung generally by women in the many thousands of villages and towns of south Asia.

It is played by men using two sticks. The Dhol is slung in the front from the neck using a string. The loud sound of a big Dhol can be heard a great distance.

Dhol is a very popular instrument played in festivals, fairs, folk dances and wrestling bouts. Its big round hollow body is made either of wood or some metal. Both the open ends are covered with goatskin that is tightened with the strings running across the body of the Dhol.

Tell me if you need more information or the source of this article or whatever. Hope it helps!

it depends hanie on what type of dhol and history you are looking into..i mean i have seen indian/pakistani dhols, irani dhols, afghani dhols, armenian dhols, mediterranean dhols, dhols from africa and all..same goes for rubab/rabab (whatever you wanna call it)

here’s two pics from afghani collection..sorry its black and white.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/dholafghan.gif

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/Rebabafghani.gif

and also check your pm

I agree with Qrius baji..there are variety of dhols…you need to specify which one’s info you’re looking for..

Some more pics…(hehe…wow, I have lots of free time on my hands right now…yeah right! grrrr, my final’s tomorrow!!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad.gif

)

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/dhol1.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/dhol2.jpg

Check your PM hanie.

[This message has been edited by CurruptAngel (edited June 26, 2002).]

currupt angel i liked the last one you posted

… thats the kind i like

nia bachi:
reading your reply ke baad dil baith ghaya haye… sigh…

CA:
thank you loads!!!
I will come far with this… precice what I needed… baad me araam se dekh kar I will tell… ke kya banna..

Q baji:
it is specific about dhols, and rubaabs, but I also need others varaties of dhols, so

you posted from the afgani collection…
thanks

** eek din zindagi itni hoon ghi haseen…**

I have a tabla.... no pics. Also have a dhol. One of my fav. cassettes is a pure dhol cassette. It's my "speeding" music when I am on the highway and get an urge to "open" it. Ahhhhhhh.........

Hanie yaar,

You only want pictures and background info??
Cuz if u want lyrics of shadi songz I can send u some!
And I have a dhol (and a daflee) at home..
You can borrow it if u like

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/dhoool.GIF

whats the word i am looking for here

“maraasi”

they play with that

girls use their hands

—Haadsaat sey ulhaj kar muskarana meri fitrat hai!
mujhee nakamiyoN pe ashk bahana nahee ata

—Bazi isq di ji lon gi soneya
mein rab tu tua mang key

You’re welcome hanie..

Ahhhh @ THAT Beautiful artwork of Gamma…LOLz!! You should major in Arts!!

here’s some more

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/dhoal.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/dhdol.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/dhold1.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/rubab1.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/rubab01.jpg

<::~Is thaT all You got? ::~I’ll Take youR best Shot~::>

A nice tind can also be used in place of a tablah!!

jannu:
Can you make snaps of it, and send… :slight_smile:

shinoo:
yeah, that ould be

if you can send that…
thanks for the offer I ask the peraon in Q and see if she wants to use it or not, but It wont be propar to give your things to someone else…

Gamma:
Me is bery honored you made that for me…

Nia:

… are you telling me Gamma is maraasi…

sohni jee:
thank you loads…

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/flower1.gif

spock:
so come over, me tumhaara ** baind bajaati hoon**

if someone has nore pics to share it would be nice…

• sunaayi thi jo *bachpan ** me
    wohi LORI suna do MA