If one does dhikr/tasbeeh in their heart without moving their tongue and mouth…will it still count? Does dhikr have more or less effect if it’s done this way?
I believe we are required to move our tounge and lips.
Doing it in heart means thinking, and when it comes to at least gunah, thoughts don't count. I am assuming the same for sawab.
Re: Dhikr
of course it will count
I would say it has more effect, because you have to concentrate harder
Good intentions earn Sawab
Silent Dhikr is not an intention but an Act just like loud dhikr
And Allah Subhanahu wa Ta'ala does not hear from Afar! He Knows what we whisper to ourselves
zikr/ in any form or shape is better than nothing but saying it with your tongue is better [afzal]. allamah Iqbal once said:
Khirad Ne Keh Bhi Diya ‘La Ilaha’ To Kya Hasil
Dil-o-Nigah Musalman Nahin To Kuch Bhi Nahin
If wit incites a man to say ʺNo God but Heʺ it brings no gain:
It. has no worth at all I think, Unless affirmed by heart and brain.
i think saying by tongue re-enforces what you think. i think one must do zikr with their tongues [not out loud]. however, i believe that ‘COUNTING’ is not necessary. i don’t count, especially while i am driving or doing other things.
Through the Mercy of Allah (SWT) the thought of evil is not counted but the thought of good is counted ... SubhanAllah !!!
The purpose of dzikr is to move the heart and orientate towards Allah (SWT) ... it fulfills its purpose with or without movement of the tongue.
In general thoughts are lower than words and words are lower than actions .... for both good or bad ...
In namaz you should move your tongue. In zikr you can do both ways. but it's good if you move your tongue and mouth too.
In addition to what rainydays posted
There is one form of zikr in sufiya which they call *pass anfas *and this only involves doing zikr without moving your tongue. In sufiya(by sufiya i mean those who follow shariat) the height of zikr is that your heart starts doing the zikr (they call it *Qalb Jarri *) becuase now heart is involved and not the tongue only.
This is only to explain what i believe as validity of qalbi zikr, You should in addition do zikr with your tongue.
Will explain it more if some one require inshallah.