Dharna

What does it mean to ‘give a dharna.’ Like what does dharna actually mean?

Thank you!

Re: Dharna

**dharna is a Hindi word meaning "SIT-IN" ... asking the authorities to accept their demand. This usually entails disruption of normal life.

in India, the most notorious dharna is on the Railway Tracks or the Govt. offices.**

Thank you! It makes sense now!

Bhai, do you also know what harrtalein means by any chance too?

i love the subtleties urdu presents in definition

ji ji..haRtaal means Strike...work stoppages

exactly...as i mentioned in another thread...a raised platform without furniture or carpet etc is called a chabootara while with those things it's called chaubaara / darvaaza / ahaata...interesting...innit?

o ok, thats cools, so is that just the plural of hartaal? I actually don't know the meaning of so many words!

yes, it is. i can understand u grew up in the foreign land so urdu is not ur first langauge. feel free to ask...that's how we all learn effectively :)

Literally "Dhar" means action of holding or seizing something. Dharna would mean to hold ,seize or block any kind of movement or action.

It is different from a strike which is "Hartaal". In hartaal you dont do what you are supposed to do in terms of your duties, but in dharna you make other not do their duties.