Dewar is like chota bhai in sub-continent’s Culture. I think there is a custom in Punjabis probably, where devar sits in new Bhabhi’s gaudi to get shagun ka paisa
I think someone told me this here on GS. BTW, the way relationship between devar and Bhabhi is mentioned in ‘Kalia doriya kunde naal laRiye o’, I can see that there might be such custom in such culture and there is nothing to feel awkward about it.
lol. Noooo. That’s only if the devar is some 7-8 year old child, and they mostly carry out this rasam probably to symbolically signify the idea that bhabi is like a mother, in the same way the older brother is like a father to his young siblings. It’s not even a popular Punjabi custom.
Can’t imagine what would happen if the above mentioned rasam was carried out with an adult male … Tauba!
anyway…
Like @Princejall said devar-bhabhi relationship is seen as a big sister-younger brother thing and mostly it’s something that is portrayed as a relationship full of *hasi mazak *but I do think it also depends a bit upon the family dynamics, in some families there is a strict pardah etc from devars/jeths.
Anyway, I’ve a Jeth. I see him the same way I see my big brothers. He is *always *on my side, thank God for that because I’ve a devar as well - a complete namoona - who is *never *on my side. Usse bhai ki chamcha giri karne se aur GIF Guru bananey se fursat nahi
On my side of the family, I have one sister-in-law. I have a pretty good relationship with her. I view her as a sibling as she and my brother dated for AGES (4 years or so) prior to even getting engaged, so she’s gotten to know our family quite well. I actually think I’m more on the same page with her than with my brother.
On my husband’s side I have two sister-in-laws and 3 brother-in-laws (one of whom is my husband’s identical twin). I get on well with them too. I view them as family as I’ve gotten to know them quite a bit (as I’ve known my husband since my last year of high school). I don’t get to see them much these days though as we recently moved to another city.