Development on PTV

Has anyone been watching PTV world lately? I’m trying to follow mere paas paas, cuz Nadia jameel is *ing. She probably the best young tv actor in Pak right now. She has acted in some of Monto’s stories as well - She’s just brilliant. My sister and I were discussing one of the scene from ‘tum mere ho’ which is a fazool drama btw. PTV has never shown married couple on same bed before or hugging etc. So naturally, it didn’t feel okay when we first saw it. Then this new lifestyle drama, aap jaisa koi had us surprised, Amna haq, Ifat etc walking around in Pak late night in jeans and tops? Discussing boyfriends and alternative careers. I mean from Zeenat / Aroosa to aap jaisa koi, its quite a progress.

I quite like this development, not because of this new accepted form of ‘behayai’, rather because this attitude will probably allow more bold subjects to be explored. I’ve only seen one episode of ‘kal’ which was about aids. The message was so packed in that I didn’t even get it first, wasn’t allowed to see it either. I don’t recall ever watching a drama that deals with abortions, advised or otherwise, so mere paas paas is looking quite promising. Hopefully, this will put an end to the miserable jageerdaar influenced stories.

Following list borrowed from Chowk (Nadeem Paracha’s article), these restrictions were set during Zia’s regime, which makes me wonder how well ppl in Pak are manipulated through the strongest media.

· Television plays were barred from showing married couples sharing a bed. So much so, that even a bedroom with a double bed was not allowed to be shown.

· No physical contact between male and female was allowed. Not even between brother and sister, or mother and son.

· Ads showing models blowing a chewing gum bubble or licking an ice- cream cone were not allowed.
(*A debate on this ‘topic’ that actually took place on the floors of Zia’s Majlis-e-Shoora in 1982 was the basis of this particular directive. In fact, more time in these henpecked shooras was spent talking about the need to “uproot vulgarity” than on other matters like unemployment, crime, the economy, etc.).

· Television ads were only allowed to show female models for only 30% of the total time of the commercial.

· Playwrights were barred from ever using the word “Bhutto” or “Jamhooriat” (Democracy).

· Making fun of or even critiquing the clergy and the Army was not allowed on radio and PTV.

(*The whole tradition of teleplays having the “wise moulvi” and the “gallant, patriotic and God fearing army/air force jawan” have their roots in this directive. The last television play to critique the institution of mulahism/clergy was Munu Bhai’s Jhog Sial in 1975).

· Female singers were only allowed minimum physical movement while singing on television.

· Newspapers and magazines were warned against publishing news about sexual crimes committed by members of the clergy.

(*In one incident in mid-‘80s when a pesh imam of a mosque in Karachi incited an enthusiastic group of namazies to stone to death an illegitimate child left outside a mosque, the government made absolutely sure that the news was blocked. However some aggressive Urdu papers of the time, like Aman and Musawaat did manage to publish the horrific news. Later, when news items about pesh imams being arrested for child molestation started to grow, the Zia government “advised” the papers to stop publishing such news).

· Female announcers and newscasters were asked to appear on screen without any make-up!

(This directive was given in 1985 but soon withdrawn after some popular newscasters complained that they looked horrid under bright, white shooting lights without make-up).

· Plays dealing with issues like heroin addiction were suddenly disallowed.

(* The rationale given behind this directive was that scenes of people intoxicating themselves with heroin actually encouraged its usage. The truth however was that the Zia regime did not want the dramatization of the rampant raise of heroin addiction and smuggling that had started to grip the country after 1979. The directive was issued sometime in 1982).

· “Good guys” in plays were asked to always wear shalwar kameez while the “bad guys” were always to be shown in western attire. Actresses however were always to be shown in shalwar kameez and under no circumstances allowed to wear western clothing.

(*This directive was given in late 1981 and some serials that were already underway had to comply halfway through. Hasina Moin’s popular soap, Ankahi was one. If you have a VCD recording of the play, do notice how midway across the serial all the male leads start appearing in shalwar kameez).

· Quied-e-Azam’s quotes were liberally distorted and tweaked around to make him seem like a likable Islamist, or the sort of an image Zia was trying to cultivate for himself.

· All females appearing on television (whether in a play or otherwise) were asked to always keep their dupatta over their head!

(*This directive was given by the first Nawaz Sharif government in 1992. The policy was reversed a year later when some prominent directors protested that the directive was too restrictive. One can see this in plays like Urusa. In one scene Mishi Khan playing the lead character is shown drowning in a river and clearly struggling to keep her dupatta on her head. In another scene (of a different play of the era), a woman is seen fast asleep on her bed at night with a dupatta neatly placed over her head!).

· No males in jeans and long hair was allowed to appear on TV.

Re: Development on PTV

so this is an anti-Zia thread????

or do we now rate our progression by how less our actresses wear and how openly we can talk about sex/boyfriends etc????

if monto refers to saadat hassan monto then i thought his works were considered 'only for adults' sort of thing, so acting out 'such stories' shows our progression????

^ Armughal, fortunately or unfortunately (depending on ones perspective) progress nowadays IS defined by behayai, surface area of clothes and 'bold' topics amongst other things. 'Liberal' and 'Modern' islam is also a benchmark of progress.

When i first joined naseeb, i was surprised that they classify you as 'Progressive Muslim' if you tend to prefer dunia over deen. The same is now true for a lot of other things.

I find this funny though :) How muslims can so readily bypass their religion and claim such practices to be progressive.

· Female announcers and newscasters were asked to appear on screen without any make-up!

Ahahahahahaha, oh man, those poor poor women! Not able to hide themselves behind layers of cake anymore!

Please try to make your posts short and to the point.

Then this new lifestyle drama, aap jaisa koi had us surprised, Amna haq, Ifat etc walking around in Pak late night in jeans and tops? Discussing boyfriends and alternative careers

What's an alternative career?

Also, I remember NTM showing women wearing "western clothes", and this was back in ~94. I also remember a few dramas about bf/gf, and this was during the early 90's. So I don't see the big deal.

Saba, I dont know what you are on about, but what you are referring to as progress is considered a decline by many. PTV was run by intelligent people with vision in the 70s and 80s. 90s, the so called jamhoori era in Pakistan took ptv back 50 years. The dramas produced even with all those restrictions. were far better intellectually and had a message.

Please remember that a majority ptv's viewership still resides in small Pakistani town's and villages and not all programs cater to Pakistani's living in the west. Also please enlighten us as to how Amna, who cant act to save her life, in jeans talking about boys is progressive?

more later

Hear hear!!!

I have seen snippets of recents dramas and have found no value in them. I have also seen episodes of Andhaira Ujaala and that show is hands & shoulders above anything on Pakistani TV right now.

Maybe it's just me, but I notice that dubbing is really bad in some dramas. Seems like there is an echo, and the lips don't match up with the words.

I'm loving it - GEO and ARY really are going out of their way to show the reality in Pakistan.

PCG, your posts on Pakistan (all critique) makes it evident what your sources for facts on Pakistan are. :k:

The Zia-bakwas in the 80s didnt help PTV but we had artists, writers etc at that time who were capable enough to produce an amazing product with the lowest budgets. Now everything is based on glamor and shootings abroad. And to say the Democratic Governments ruined it would be wrong too, as PTV kept rolling out some incredible stuff in the 90s as well, and this time it the musicians were allowed to express themselves alongside.

Progress is not defined by lesser clothing, or open talk about boyfreinds and sex. Progress is when corruption can be exposed, as with the example of the so-called "mullahs/molvis" molesting and killing children, dealing with issues of drug abuse and addiction and the horrific side effects it can have on the users and their families. I can understand why they wouldn't show TV married couples sharing a bed or "brother/sister, husband wife/mother son showing physical affection because of the na-mehram issue (not sure, I"m just guessing here), but y should children be excluded?

Now showing all dushman and "bad guys" in western clothing, women not allowed to wear western clothing period, is just stupid. Western clothing CAN be more modest (if that's the issue) but of course, all they see of western clothing (and culture) is the trashiness, the clubbing, drinking, and sex. There should be a bit of realism in acting, I'm not saying if an actress's character is a prostitute that she has to act out the jobs, but keeping a duputta on the head while sleeping? That sound slike going too far.

Nice post sabah.

ashtray, if what I wrote was normal on PTV, I probably wouldn’t have bothered typing. It’s considered as decline by all those who switch to PTV during commercial breaks from StarTV to make sure PTV is broadcasting qawaali while they’re enjoying other channels. As for progressiveness, don’t feel like wasting time, I’m sure you can do your own research.

TDW, for me modeling etc is alternative career in a country like Pak.

Maniac, funny how you didn’t find this worth quoting :smiley:

"(*In one incident in mid-‘80s when a pesh imam of a mosque in Karachi incited an enthusiastic group of namazies to stone to death an illegitimate child left outside a mosque, the government made absolutely sure that the news was blocked. However some aggressive Urdu papers of the time, like Aman and Musawaat did manage to publish the horrific news. Later, when news items about pesh imams being arrested for child molestation started to grow, the Zia government “advised” the papers to stop publishing such news). "

Sara, you’ve changed a lot since you joined GS, great progress :k:

sabah ji as you can claim it theoratically that this development is good, but practically i see a lot of degradation in quality. The positive developments are very few we hardly see a good drama nowadays on ptv… Anyway.

Now as you mentioned Nadeem farooq Paracha’s article, tu ab ye mera ikhlaqi farz banta hia ke main keerey nikaloon :smiley: paracha sahab ko bhi lambi lambi chorney ki aadat hai :slight_smile:
Although half of it is fine… just seperating facts from fiction.

**· No physical contact between male and female was allowed. Not even between brother and sister, or mother and son. **

Not true !
Seen Ankahi ? Khawaja and son ? and some other There was physical contact shown between sibling and family members. The restriction was on ‘romantic physical contact’ with na mehram. Which is very logical, and people don’t like it in pakistan at all

**· Ads showing models blowing a chewing gum bubble or licking an ice- cream cone were not allowed. **

I remember such ads in 80s (zia’ time), though i was very young at that time. Maybe restriction was imposed later on

· Television ads were only allowed to show female models for only 30% of the total time of the commercial

Made up, definitely not true !

Tibat snow, gipsy amazing cream etc all had female models 100% of the time and some in western cloths

**· Playwrights were barred from ever using the word “Bhutto” or “Jamhooriat” (Democracy). **

Definitely true ! :k:

**· “Good guys” in plays were asked to always wear shalwar kameez while the “bad guys” were always to be shown in western attire. Actresses however were always to be shown in shalwar kameez and under no circumstances allowed to wear western clothing. **

Blatant lie, utter crap ! ( the male part)

Anyone who has seen only one drama of that time can refute it.

Remerber **Tanhayaan, dhoop kinarey, Ankahi **??? What are the lead male wearing ? :halo: Dhoop kinarey was made in mid 80s (84-85) and Tanhayaan couple of year earlier
If restriction was imposed in 81 how come it never got implemented ?

There might hardly be an episode where Rahat kazmi, Behroze, Javied shaikh and the other guy (forgot his name) wore Shalwar kameez. They wore dress pants, shirts jeans and suits…

· Plays dealing with issues like heroin addiction were suddenly disallowed

100% lie. crap

I remember this was the most repeated topic in dramas (and indian movies of 80s) and most of us were sick of it. seeing it again and again. It only came to an end after the death of Zia.

· All females appearing on television (whether in a play or otherwise) were asked to always keep their dupatta over their head

The restriction came later (In Zia’ time there was no such restriction )
It lasted for a brief period of time, cuas it was ridiculous.

**Female singers were only allowed minimum physical movement while singing on television. **

I loved that policy, becuase one need to see the songs video by Nazia Hasan. There was no dance, no skin, but they were fabolously sensual, you can’t compare the cheap crap produced now with that alluring queen of our hearts. It was beautiful music, great lyrics luscious vioce and devine beauty … What more can we ask for? :slight_smile:

waaris and samundar, it was all downhill from there

Nazia was banned by that same regime, and if you watched her documentary that GEO aired recently, she had alot of dance numbers.

Sabah, I recently visited Pakistan after a long time and had the chance to to visit places from Karachi to Islamabad, but it was a surprise for me that all that is depicted in the media specially ARY/GEO/PTV as per "modernity" or behayai was no were to be seen. May be that sort of modernity is limited to some elitist enclaves aka DHS but even on DHS streets of Karachi Lahore and Islamabad you will hardly see girls "in jeans and tops". But on any account it would be very hard to measure behayai in a diverse urban Pakistani society, especially by the media, which has no relation to ground reality.

But if we take Sara’s point of exposure of corruption, even then the Pakistani TV media is not able to show or represent the ground reality. Pakistani media can never even imagine of showing humans with no dignity in front of the powerful, and that’s a ground reality for many Pakistanis in their every day lives. Depicting a society where life has no value, the richest of the riches and the poor would not even hesitate for a moment to put your live in danger, for a simple right turn on the street. Can the media show how you can pay the judge to get someone hanged, or show a three star general's daughter slapping the hell out of traffic police sergeant, these are only few facts, I think the Pakistani media doesn’t even have the guts to show some real behayai. Its all hanky dory…

Spock - I refuse to accept that, cuz we grew up watching her and her brother's song :)

There were hardly any music video made 'privately' in 80s, PTV made these video of the songs, with certain restrictions. there were a few show hosted by her and she was never 'banned' for any period of time. I have not watched GEO documentary but, watched only 1 such private video by her. Ptv had never shown private videos in 80s so there was no discrimination IMO.

Hating Zia is fine, But no need to mingle facts and propoganda

Well, then I must say youre not informed very well. She was asked to come to President House where her and Zohaib were told that htey could no longer be shown on PTV because of the depiction, and this documentary that I was referring to mentioned that too, and was made by Zohaib himself. This was the time when Nazia started working for bollywood, since she couldnt do much in Pakistan.