did anyone watch it? i loved it.. duh otherwise i wouldnt open this thread..
its no romantic lovey dovey movie.. its as real as it gets.. i was squinting my way thru the second half.. aaagh!
the fire scene was soo real!
its no romantic lovey dovey movie.. its as real as it gets.. i was squinting my way thru the second half.. aaagh!
who are the stars? What is the story? How good is the movie, please rate it on a scale of 5.
umm Amitabh, Om Puri, Kareena, Fardeen Khan etc..
The story is about two policemen and their approach to the muslim/hindu riots..
Im not sure if u recall the fights in Gujrat (Indian side).. but yeah it sort of reflects on that
id give it a 4/5
one of those hinduly biased films?
Yes thats my word for it :P
na.... quite the opposite actually
Its rather stupid I would suggest. I mean Muslims have been bashed around pretty bad.
There was this scene where this Kapoor lady was necking with Fardeen and she says " mujhay toh bus yeh pata hai kay Quran kiya kehta hai smooch smooch tongue tongue". Does the Quran really say that ?
And then there was this scene where Kapoor goes to this tomb and performs Sajdah on someone's grave. I mean dayem ! As if Muslims go to some sort of Mandir too. Shouldn't she be going to a Masjid? Hello ? This movie is made from a Hindu's perception of a Muslim society. They don't know jack.
Then there are those speeches of a corrupt Muslim leader. An obvious reflection of some of Altaf Hussain's speeches.
And the corrupted police and political system have been exagerated to an extent.
I personally think its not doing juctice to the Muslim community of India. BS I tell ya. I'm not a big fan of Indian cinema. I was forced into watching it with some die hard desi rebels. All three hours of it. 8 quid down the drain.
Tekno,
You have no Idea what you are talking about.
I would take is as Hindu bashing movie trying to show how Gujrat happened.
Obviously There are bad elements in both society and that is what director reflected in this movie. Your problem is that you see as if everything is good in Muslims
If you have any idea about the director of movie Govind Nihalani you wouldnot be saying that.
Ok.. let me just agree with you there for a sec ok mate. But tell me something, are you suggesting that we overlook the ridicule that they have made of Islam just because of the fact that they showed pure brutality and all that emotional crap in the movie? I don’t think that provides enough grounds to agree with what’s shown in that movie. Even if it is made by some big ass Indian director named Govind Nihalani.
Ok, Hindus have been bashed up as well, but would you find any Hindus that will object to what’s shown of their religion? I would have commended the movie if they took some time out to do proper research. I woudn't be surprised if this movie is banned in Pakistan.
Re: Dev
*Originally posted by sadzzz: *
Agreed. A very very realistic movie but just at the end when they showed a lil bit of hope for the common men I think in real life thats still nowhere near.
I think Fardin instead of going to court should have been shown hiding a gun in his jeans at the end. That would have made it a bit more realistic.
*Originally posted by teKno: *
Ok, Hindus have been bashed up as well, but would you find any Hindus that will
Thats is because they are more tolerant than us. They dont have their ass in Pundit's ass. And they dont ask for permission of pundit before farting.
*Originally posted by teKno: *
Ok.. let me just agree with you there for a sec ok mate. But tell me something, are you suggesting that we overlook the ridicule that they have made of Islam just because of the fact that they showed pure brutality and all that emotional crap in the movie? I don’t think that provides enough grounds to agree with what’s shown in that movie. Even if it is made by some big ass Indian director named Govind Nihalani.
tell me what ridicule are you talking about?
Re: Re: Dev
*Originally posted by Black Mamba: *
I think Fardin instead of going to court should have been shown hiding a gun in his jeans at the end. That would have made it a bit more realistic.
Aap aisa karein yahan pe film ki poori story likh dein....
I have yet to see the film but the music soundtrack is pretty good.
i think u need to stop looknig at it as a mulsim bashing movie.. quite frankly, i dont think it bashed them at all... it showed the good and bad sides of both religions
as for the kissing scene.. man! do u really think muslims are THAT pure? its showing reality... how some people say one thing and do another.. very real and natural.
i just watched the movie today and liked it. Amitabh proves his worth with every character he plays. and as dev he definiteley acted like the legend ppl say he is.
the character was very nice and amitabh made it even better. and all such characters in real life deserve our salutes.
and, the movie was based on the political scams politicians play and how they fool the ppl in the name of cast, creed, color, religion. there may have been some concept based errors but on the whole i dont think it was aimed at defaming or bashing muslims. had that been the case they wouldnt have shown negative hindu characters.
Re: Re: Re: Dev
Not a bad Idea. :k:
so thoughtful of you. Some drunk ppl might need to read it in advance, to understand it better while watching.
Haris, I agree... i thought the role was played really well by Amitabh.. theres a scene wheres hes shown helpless and bound by top orders... i loved it..
yeah Sadzz, it was really done very well. and his last scene too, at the court stairs it was amazing! although one had the inclination as to what was going to happen, but still he did the last scene very well.
tell me bout it.. i knew wat was going to happen towards teh end as well but the tension still built up... hes awesome :)
MR. AMITABH BACHCHAN is a true living legend, the amount of effort he puts in to his dialogue delivery is really wat lacks in most of the actor 'n' actresses in the mumbai film industry these days, bar nana patekar who is awesome @ it also.
with mr bachchan u get the full package, he is methodical as well as spontaneous and that is th gr8 thing about him, truly a gr8 actor to have as a co-star as well as a role model for many in the industry and outside it.