hey everyone ,
I m gettin married next month. ok long story short I came here for a help. in our family there is a tradition of making dessert first and everyone look forward to what u r making which is sweet.
so plz share Wht did u cook for the first time any super good n tasty recepi u have plz come forward and share ur recepies
Re: dessert first time after wedding
Laziza mix is easy and testy. Just add it in milk.
I remumber When I making the chai for first time for my in-laws. That was my sweet dessert which I served in fraanly way ofcourse. I mix 1-2 teaspoon cheeni in tea for father in-law devar and my naughty nands. I add the 5-7 tablespoon cheeni in my saasu maa tea to make it too much super sweet and very much tastey shastey. But before sugar, first I must be put rat poison. Also mix little bit thoo. Result was big hit and I was approve. After that happy day, nands becoming nicer to me.
Mashal, what desserts are you comfortable making? Maybe you can make your fiance’s favorite dessert or ask him what dessert his parents enjoy the most and make that.
I’ve heard of this tradition, where the bride makes kheer.
Mostly you are supposed to make kheer. In some families the newly wed does not even make the entire kheer, she just " chmchca chalo" in the kheer while others make it.
I was asked to make kheer, for 100 people. It was the first time but Shukr Alhumdulillah it tasted pretty good. Just practice what you’re comfortable with.
We do the same and then you offer a spoon to the groom :khatti: His bhabhi and sister wanted to tease so we took some kheer out and added salt instead of sugar to it. His face expression was priceless lekin he ate it ![]()
Mostly the bride doesn’t really make it all, she just does the chamcha pairna once and it’s over. Don’t worry too much.
dessert first time after wedding
I made a Skor dessert a few days after the wedding. My in laws asked for this particular dessert as they had eaten it at my parents house (made by me) a few times during our engagement period. It’s the easiest recipe:
First bake a chocolate cake from cake mix (bake it in the dish you are going to serve it in)
Once that is cool, cover it with a generous layer of chocolate pudding. On top of that sprinkle broken prices of Skor Chocolate (it’s hard toffee covered in chocolate - if you can’t find this chocolate bar, just use hard toffee bits).
Then over that layer whip cream and sprinkle the top with more toffee bits. Serve cold.
Or I make a really easy toasted coconut tres leches (it’s not an authentic recipe but tastes so good!)
Bake a white cake using a cake mix in the dish you want to serve it in.
When it’s cooled for 5 minutes, prick the entire top of the cake with a fork. Make lots of holes. Don’t worry if the top looks bad or parts of it break off. You will be covering it later.
In a jug or big glass mix one can coconut milk, one can condensed milk and one cup while milk. Mix it very well and then pour it over the entire top of the cake. It looks like a lot but te cake will suck it all up. Cover with plastic wrap and leave in the fridge for at least 3-4 hours. Toast some sweetened shredded coconut on a tawa (without oil). Cover the cake with whip cream and then sprinkle coconut all over the top!
Or if you are looking for desi desserts, I make rasmalai using Bajias recipe from YouTube. It comes out amazing every time.
Good luck!!
^I like your coconut cake idea Saima. Do you think it would work with coconut cake instead of vanilla/white cake or would that be too much coconut?
I’ve seen that many elders prefer desi desserts to chocolate, my own parents are like that. So, OP, get an idea first of what kind of desserts they like.
my MIL asked me to make zarda and guess what? i didnt know how to
it was so embarrassing , I did offer to make kheer but they were adamant on Zarda. Eventually she made it herself and I just stirred the things up together lol
I learnt to make zarda with perfection within 6 months of marriage lol
I’m sure it would be delicious with coconut cake as well! I never even thought about trying that!
@saimab33
thank-you for such a helpful reply I’m gonna try chocolate cake recepie
n my in laws are nt picky , I know I can choose Wht I want to cook.
plz guys share more ideas
My cousin did a besan halwa for her first sweet dish , went down really well.
Here’s the recipe :
One cup semolina
One cup milk powder
One cup besan
3/4th cup oil
In a pan, mix one cup sugar with one cup water, a few cardamom seeds and let this boil on the heat until the sugar melts.
In another pan, add the oil, add in besan and start frying it. Fry for at least 8-10 minutes or you can concentrate on the khushboo of the besan , it changes as soon as its fried fully and also starts changing color a bit. Dont make it too dark. At that point , add in the semolina and fry for another 5 minutes, then add in the milk powder and carry on frying for another 5 minutes. Finally throw in the nuts of choice ( almonds , cashew etc ) and then after a minute , add in the water and sugar liquid you prepared earlier. mix it all. within five minutes you will notice the halwa separating from the pan,keep stirring and it will look like a dough. its ready now.
greese a plate, spread this halwa and flatten it. give it five minutes to cool down a bit, then cut into diamond shapes . Spread some dessicated coconut on top . Serve