I am doing an Eid Dawat for 30 people but its going to be next weekend.
All the people invited will obviously have eaten sheer khurma by next week. Would it be repetitive if I still make it & serve it as a sweet dish?
I have a 5 month old with me so although I am doing the dawat I won’t be making too many dishes.
Here is what the menu is like
Mango lassi self serving while everyone comes & gets together
Mutton or Chicken Biryani (haven’t decided yet)
Balti Gosht
Chili Chicken Desi style
Dum ka Qeema (might skip on it if I don’t get enough time)
Hara Raita
Regular Salaad
Macaroni salad
Naan
Dessert?
I kinda wanna keep it desi since its Eid. I make real good Gajar ka Halwa, Shahi Tukray & Sooji ka Halwa. Mom says Sooji ka Halwa comes across as you didn’t put much effort in it & the other two dishes are time consuming.
Any suggestions people. Something easy to cook which I can make probably one day in advance. I really wanna serve Sheer Khurma but mom said no one would wanna eat it.
Kheer/firni? If you're short on time, you could always get the Laziza pack. It's pretty simple.
I personally don't think it's that big a deal if you decide to make sheer khurma. It's not like your guests will have eaten sheer khurma every single day following Eid until the next weekend. With such a young baby, I say keep it simple and make whatever you're comfortable with. If your mom is really against it, maybe ask her to bring the dessert.
Seabee my mom doesn't live in the same city. If that was the case she would have made the entire menu for me. It would have been Ras Malai for dessert then lol
That's what I was thinking its not like every one would have eaten it every single day.
The Laziza packs? Any suggestions on how many would I need for 30 people?
Seabee my mom doesn't live in the same city. If that was the case she would have made the entire menu for me. It would have been Ras Malai for dessert then lol
That's what I was thinking its not like every one would have eaten it every single day.
The Laziza packs? Any suggestions on how many would I need for 30 people?
I think u would need 5 packs of laziza cuz one pack serves about 6 people I think...
I would go for a laziza ras malai pack- they are really simple
I would say 2-3 packs would be sufficient- not everyone has desi desserts. Also have a plate of mithai or a shop bought cake as well to give people options?
Warm gulabjamans & ice cream are always a hit! Honestly you can't go wrong!
We’ll be serving men downstairs & women & (God help me) kids upstairs. At least that’s what the plan is for now. Kulfa or ice cream means individual servings right? Dinner time kind of clashes with my baby’s bed time so wouldn’t this be time consuming at that very moment though. For 6-10 people maybe fine but what do you say for 30 people. There is a good chance we might be adding 8 more people.
Lusi by fruits you mean cut up fruits in a platter?
Thanks ladi rani
I know a friend who’ll def. do this on Friday. I kind of don’t wanna do the same thing. But thanks anyways
Thanks. InshaAllah hopefully I’ll. You do the same. Where I live we don’t have a store that sells good Gulab jamuns. The Ras malai idea sounds good.
Only if I knew how to make gulab jamuns. I would be making them at least once a month for my hubby. Thanks for the link Diamond. That dessert looks delicious. Assembling it at that very moment might be a little hard though. But I am so planning to make just for me & hubby for Eid now
So basically no one said it except one person but you ladies do think Sheer Khurma would be repetitive.
Thanks Sehrysh. That's what we call dry sewayyian. Didn't know they were called Kewaami sewaiiyan. This brings me to another question. How long does it take for packaged sewaiyyan to expire. I have 4 packets since last Eid. Do you think I can use them or should I buy fresh packets.
Mirch bhai the mithai we get here comes from Cali. It looses its freshness by the time it gets here. Thanks for the suggestion anyways.