Desperately needed !!!

A replacement of Gasoline

With the oil price sky-rocketing, we can not use Gasoline as fuel for much longer period of time :frowning: Thanks to Uncle Bush :k:

What is the cheaper replacement for gasoline ???

Re: Desperately needed !!!

mein pata nahi kya samajh kar ayi :grumpy:

:smack: Yeh Science wala forum hai

btw, what you were expecting here ? :expressionless:

hydrogen engine! :ahaa:

i’ve heard about some prototype motors using the combustion of hydrogen to produce power and water

Diesel. It’s cheaper and cleaner than gasoline. In the UK, you get tax breaks for using a diesel car since European technology diesels are cleaner than gasoline engines.

woh.... erm... i heard from someone that you were some sexy, hot, hairy punjabi jutt.

ahem ......... it's all science you see LOL

kuRkuR

Cody bhai, what's the price of petrol in Pakistan these days?

there is no such thing coddie despite all the sweet dreams of so called ecologist…there is no replacement for oil/gas today!! Coddie, as a scientist I have to say the only other form of energy available to fuel an engine today is power (electricity)…but it ain’t cheaper!! and Uncle Bush is not responsible for rising oil prices, look at my explanations there:http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showpost.php?p=3357542&postcount=3
maybe you guys, american people, need to learn to live with less oil/gas …that’s life!

Aj it is Rs 50/litre and shooting …(~ 85 cent/litre )

it has increased 570% during past 17 years

Actually it is unbearable as most of the (small) cars in pakistan have carborator instead of fuel injection …

I know prices are increasing in other parts of the world, the one i know is Uk where it is more than 1 $/ litre

parissenoor - contrary to your claim, there are many eco-friendly and cheaper alternative available. :stuck_out_tongue: I will explain in details later, For now we in Pakistan use CNG (compressed natural Gas) it emission is 4 times lesser( it is the same gas which we use in kitchen ) than gassoline and its cheaper ( at least here )

But it has some other problem too…

There are many other alternative which require no alteration in engine.

MS- disel is too old, a technology and I doubt it is cleaner and cheaper. the source is the same and price is bound to go up. Anyone heard about biodisel ?? :smooth: In uk normal disel contains 5-10% of biodisel.

Nescio - it is not cheaper :stuck_out_tongue:

TWB :bailan:

Dear respected Code_red I mistake you for an American in my last post:bailan: you can beat me for that…of course i know CNG it’s called GPL in France sure it’s cheaper than fuel but you know how it’s yielded? from methane extracted from hydrocarbure fields…and gas fields are concerned by same problems as oil fields…so prices are soaring too! interetingly biodiesel are the leitmotiv of ‘greens’ but you how many Earth we would need to produce enough rapeseeds oil or the like to make all cars drive, planes fly and boat swim…?

Totally agree with parissenoor. No real alternative as of right now. All the developing (and generally considered) potential technologies are just not possible. Popular mechanics did the article on this about a month back (said the same thing). You need 3 times the size of car fuel tank for hydrogen gas (and it will be xtremely dangeorus as compared to petrol we use).

There is a this new scientific paper out that says that there is enough wind power available (with current technology) to support the world's need 3 times over (for industrial purposes). As technology progress we can make it about 42 times more efficient. Cars are a v.small portion of fuel being used.

Dear senorita, you know why we pakistanis are famous (notorious) for ?? :smokin:

Because we find out work arounds… When we are desperate :k:
( I can quote examples but that no time for it)

I already said CNG has it own issues lets not get into detail

I also know the limitations with biodiesel, so …

But Ms scientist, God made us and gave us this tiny brain to workout our problems…

I don’t care about any other country, but for mine i have some raw idea, which i will share later , I am running out of time now

PrinceMS – windpower >>> http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=176063

gotta go :wave:

I don't know about Pakistan, but Hybrid cars are a much better alternative to Petrol Engine cars. As faar as hydrogen being used is concerned, storing hydrogen requires it to be compressed with VERY high pressures and thus raising its prices. Other alternatives are battery powered or fuel celled cars , but they do not give high speeds.

and oh , wait till all these materialists arab countries run out of oil by sellig it to USA . Ummm, excuse me Sheiks , but they do have huge untapped oil reserves of their own and continue to import, you know why , gues wheen the arabs run out of oil, they'r the ones who'r gonna sell it , its not gonna be in a 2 digit per barrel price

:blush:

Adopt nuclear energy for generating electricity. It's cheap and clean.

Turn all automobiles to atleast hybrid such as the Prius.

These 2 should reduce demand for petroleum products very significantly to the point of solving the current problems.

In parallel, increase R&D on CNG, Ethanol, wind and other alternatives

The energy crisis has ceased being a scientific or economic problem and to me it is merely a political issue.

As a side benefit, solving this global energy politics is likely the most feasible solution to the terrorism quagmire

Adopt nuclear energy for generating electricity. It's cheap and clean

would you like to explain how it is "cheap" and how it is "clean" ?

btw, welcome :)

hybrid cars are good but they are expensive and so is fuel.

R&D is important and it is on giong process...

But for now the best sollution for us, is to use an alternative fuel in current internal combustion engines.

ethanol is the best alternative of gasoline and it can be used in normal cars without any alteration... and the fuel is more eco-friendly

But the big question

Is it cheaper than gasoline ??

the answer depends

1. how it is made
  2. in which part of the world it is produced

In most cases the price is almost the same as gasoline or cheaper in some cases.

Specially in Pakistan, we have an edge as compared to other countries.
In Pakistan sugar mills produce large amount of raw ethanol as a by product.
As it is prohibited to make alcaholic beverages, so this by product is wasted mostly and very tiny amount in used in chemical industory, rest is wasted cause of poor quality and govt restriction

so fuel grade ethanol can be produced substantially cheaper in pakistan as it only requres refinement of existing product....

but only Iff the establishment does not create hindrance,

the govt will not like this alternative.Which is understandable as they earn huge amount of tax (more than 80%) on pertroleum products

Now coming back to the alternate Fuel for me and Pakistan is ethanol

here it is in detail ...

Ethanol is bieng used in USA and europe as Gasahol (80% gasoline + 20% ethanol)

The price per gallon is $ 1.77 avg. it makes it around $ 0.44 a litre the prices have gone down in the first quater of 2005 (open market ) and lowest was $0.31 per litre.

At maximum price i.e ($0.44 ) it stands at half the rate of gasoline which we pay now in pakistan. But there is no production plant for ethanol in pakistan.

For bulk production of fuel grade ethanol, we need extention in an already running sugar mill. And it is quite possible to achieve production at lesser cost

but there are few major obstacles ....

Ever heard of the term Hybrid

Qureshi Sahaab, would you bother reading replies :-\

Hybrid technology is expensive is and it is in development stage, it need atleas 5~10 years atleast to become reasonable and stable, still then, it will take many more year to come into mainstream ..

When I say desparete, it means “Now”. Ethanol is most simple replacement of Gasoline. It requires no changes in engine design and cause no side effects, infact it is more cleaner fuel !

but there are porblems. There is no awareness in pakistan about this alternative, although production will not be a difficult task, it only requires extention in sugar mills

Case study :

For india… producing sugar from primary sugarcane juice and producing ethanol from secondry juice. The expected cost of production for ethanol is Rs 15/ litre. This is the closest case study for Pakistan, as most of the conditions are same.

http://www.tifac.org.in/do/sug/case/economics.htm

** Please comment on this if you have any technical know how in this field** :slight_smile:

Much appreciated :flower1: