i want to get dreadlocks done on my hair. plugs ears from the horrified shrieks of respectable guppies and guppans
On a serious note… how are they ‘made’? There is one desi guy i know, in Toronto, who has dreadlocks. They actually really really suit him. And no, he comes from a very respectable family and himself is just the same. Anyhowz, that’s not relevant… how are dreadlocks ‘done’? i heard you can get them done at home… someone told me afterwards you have to have your hair cut off cuz they won’t come out. Is that accurate?
i guess i shouldn’t get mad at you though, haina? ;~p
No, it depends upon how it looks on each individual person. The guy i was referring to made it suit his face… i guess it just depends from person to person.
well most people call them cornrows(the ones that are tight to the scalp)..I have a few cousins who have done it..My guy cousin grew his hair out till it resembled an afro, and got one of his friends to do it..he grew his goatee out and then braided that too
anyway..if you want it to look good i wouldnt do it yourself, its hard to do, plus you have to maintain it with hair sheen and stuff..If your serious about doing it, get a beautician to do it, or find someone who knows how.
nadz wont this permanently damage ur hair yaar? :S its kinda like getting ur hair permed haena? :S
if u want a change just get a haircut, but i dont think u should go for dreadlockes, i'm DREADING that idea kasam se :D let me talk to u on msn abt this :D
making dreadlocks is easy: don’t wash ur hair for 3 months (for ladies with long hair, 3 days is enough ) and afterwards put in a lot of oil, grease, and voila!
hahahhha you guys are so funny. i was expecting this reaction;~)
Irem That’s why i didn’t want to tell you That’s so cute, you went on google images LOL @ “jharoo” - that’s part of the attraction, yaar. You stand out in a crowd. Everyone’s got the same boring hairstyle around here. You know the guy i was referring to (from Toronto)? He wore his dreadlocks to his elder brother’s wedding - can you imagine the comments that some of the Uncles/Aunties were passing. At the wedding, most of the girls attending consisted of me, my sisters, and my female cousins - and it was our unanimous decision that the guy looked pretty good with dreadlocks and his tux. Somehow he was able to pull it off. True, the only thing i am worried about is that it might damage my hair permanently; IF that’s accurate, then definitely i won’t go for it. i have to read up more on it.
Xara, You are sooooooooooo nice Masha’Allah i think you’re one of the nicest guppies on gupshup. LOLzzz - no they are not “mops” and they don’t “smell bad”; it’s just a matter of taking care of them. Rastafarians - to this day, i really don’t know who/what they are. Is it like a cult or something ? i have NO idea. i think it depends upon how one takes care of them, no? Maintenance ki baat hai… least i THINK so.
5Abi, Initially i meant the Rasta dreadlocks and NOT the braids. But in that pic you posted, the braids look kindof nice too…but i had something like that done a long time back by a friend, and it took ages and ages to unbraid it cuz my hair went down past my back. My arms were hurting by the time i was done, resolved never to do braids again :~/ The Rasta ones look nice, eh? Definitely going for black - blonde would look ludicrous on me.
Nescio and 50-B, No you’re right… i’ll have done it professionally if i ever seriously contemplate it.
How do you wash your hair than, and i heard you have to cut them when you want to get rid of them? Regardless, you should go for it Nadia than go into that library and show them mean desi girls the new hair style hehe.
That’s what i heard too. That’s what stops me. That, plus the joota i will receive towards my head from my family.
hahahhaha… Good one :k: That’s not a bad idea;~)
Fraudz, Do you have a pic of what she looks like? Googling it, but nothing coming up.
If she has an outlandish hairstyle…ummm i don’t really want to stand out too much. If my middle sister’s wedding is this summer, don’t want to shock the guests that much…