Re: Desi's in denial...
its also hypocritical for these so called humans to go to hajj and then come back and home and put on a front. Just the double standards of desis aswel............
^True. When a person only focuses on the ritualistic aspects of religion (hajj, namaz, roza, etc) thinking that's enough to make them a good Muslim....yet treats people like crap....it's like they're mocking the religion. And rendering those acts (fasting, namaz, etc) futile.
Did somebody confront this MIL and the family ? If nobody confronted and told this family off by using lot of profanity and abusive language she and the family will not get the message.
Not as far as I know... but I'm sure the girls family will be having words with her ex-inlaws..
do you know both sides of the story personally or its "uss nai batya hai k falaan nai bataya tha k uss k saas ki nund ki dost nahi bataya hai..."
I have seen that wife and her MIL (or guy's mom) describes same event by totally different spin and truth normally is somewhere in the middle. (most of the time)
Admittedly I haven't spoken to her ex-inlaws about this nor got their side of the story but her neighbour said there have been many "incidents" in the past (where police and ambulances have been called) but she didn't want to get involved so kept out of it/kept her mouth shut.
Slightly off the topic, but I know of various desi elders/adults who, because of their status of gaining respect in society, seem to gain a very self-righteous mindset... maybe that could also lead to such denial?
True. As their are no repercussions to their actions, they feel they are untouchable..
RV.. It was an arranged marriage and the girl was from Pak so (more than likely) she didn't get a say in the matter or get to know the guy/family).
Sadly, I don't think anyone will confront them nor will they ever change their ways. surely they knew what they were doing was wrong, but they still continued to torment this poor girl..
They're a lot older than me and if was to say anything to them my mum would scold me for "talking inappropriately" with elders...
unless something within the MIL changes - she won't realize what she has done. Self reflection and correction is not that easy.
I know one MIL who changed.. but that was after both her sons (she had only two kids) ended up divorced.. It was obviously a real wake-up call..
Re: Desi’s in denial…
^When I read that response…I wondered to myself if this might be taking place in England. Sure enough when I read the location under your nick, Barfi…![]()
I’ve heard sooo many horrible in-laws cases from England. I don’t like stereotyping…but the frequency makes me wonder…is there something with drinking water or what?
^Yeah, most of the horror stories seem to come from the UK.. (one for the red flag thread? :D)