Desis complaining about other desis...

This really gets my goat…What gives one desi to think that another desi is not giving ‘the right inpression’? For all we know the desi might be acting in the best possible way he knows how, yet since his acts don’t come to par with our way of being cool, we diss him…

So who cares if a desi wears tennis shoes or sneakers with his suit? So who cares if his fashion sense is from the 70s? Who gives two hoots about how another desi behaves…I’ll tell you who…

It’s a person so insecure with himself in a gora society, that he can’t stand to be associated with something that might tarnish his image(?) in the eyes of goras (?)…He is so conifident and secure in his inferiority complex that any desi who is a little off, whether by looks, by speech, by actions or in any other way from a gora, these wannabe brown sahibs look down their noses at these desis…

Here’s a typical scenario: You see a desi someplace, you get close, and you knowing the guy is a desi say ‘Aur boss, kahan say ho yaar’? And the guy would fall into his ‘brown sahib’ routine, raise his nose and say in the most (American, English or Australian accent depending on where you live, and that too a real lame and lousy accent which can be sensed as being fake a mile away), ‘Excuse me’? You say ‘Yaar, Hindi ya Urdu aati hai?’ And the guy would look at you as if you are holding a stick pointed at him with poo stuck at the other end of it…

I love being around desis who are comfortable with themselves in any surroundings…Not only are they comfortable, they make others around them comfortable, including foreigners…Uptight desis not only make life stupid for themselves, but for others as well, because you can tell they are noticing your every move in order to see how ‘westernized’ you are…

This disease is 90% rampant in desis from India and 10% from Pakistan, and these too from Pakistan who have no where to turn for originality, so they turn to wherever they are…Gora or Kaala…

Guys, stop being pretentious…The more you try act like a ‘westernized’ person the more you stick out like a sore thumb abd make the eyes sore too…Remember, you are living in countries where mothers, daughters and sisters of these people can walk around semi-naked without a care and also sleep around…You want to feel inferior in front of them? Grow up…

Some of my friends are shy of speaking Urdu in front of goray or shy about other parts of our culture.

I tell them if these goray are not ashamed of walking around almost naked in public, they are not ashamed of the fact that most of them are bostards or the way hardly any of them have long-term relationships but instead prefer a quick fling lasting a few months or a few years at most, or a million other things about their decadent society, if they are not ashamed of their backward way of life then why should we worry about small things like speaking English with an accent?

Most Pakistanis I know don’t give any importance to goray.

I must admit FOB’s who try acting like goray annoy me more than anything and I’ll never let go of a chance to rip it out of them but normal FOB’s who act themselves are cool, it’s usually the educated FOB’s who are the biggest wannabes, they look so silly without even realising it.

everything is ok Lajo... I mean I understand where you are coming from but why drag in mother and sister, haan?? They have freedom to do everything.. why the heck we should care about that...you could have given some other example..

*Originally posted by lost soul: *
everything is ok Lajo... I mean I understand where you are coming from but why drag in mother and sister, haan?? They have freedom to do everything.. why the heck we should care about that...you could have given some other example..

You think I am wrong? Don't their women have no shame in dressing semi-naked (sometimes even full nude) in summers? Don't they have multiple sleeping partners before they get married? Don't many fathers run secret paternity tests on their children to verify parentage? If all that happens and they are not ashamed, why should a desi be shy of a Pakistani accent or be shy of not sounding like a real whatever?

Remember, you can't fool anyone, and a genuine person with a horrible accent is much more appreciated and accepted than a pretentious person with a fake accent.

hmm, Lajo see I don't dispute whatever you have written here. Ok, its your call BUT why always point towards something negative that's prevalent in a society; why can't you talk about or lets say, mention that these ppl you have referred to in your post aren't apologetic abt their values and their culture.Now, I am not suggesting you shouldn't call a spade a spade but see thats their lifestyle and you gotta accept that...
somehow, I couldn't help but think that the connection or the linkage that you were trying to make wasn't very appropriate...shaid may ghalat hooo, dunno???

ahh but see making fun of other racves, nationalities etc would make it look like u are racist and prejudiced. Making fun of segments of our own society shows that one is confident enough to poke fun at his own kind.

You seem to be reading too much into it.

because as poking fun at oneself goes, that is what "tanz o mazah is"
when pitris Bokhari made fun of desi dogs in terms of manners compared to gora dogs..satire my friend

read some of the works by mushtaq ahmed yusufi, ibne insha and you will see that they will pick up on little observations and weave them in a way that the end results are hysterical.

but your own prejudice comes forth in your own post

you start the post with * "..What gives one desi to think that another desi is not giving 'the right inpression'? For all we know the desi might be acting in the best possible way he knows how, yet since his acts don't come to par with our way of being cool, we diss him..."*

and then..

"Guys, stop being pretentious...The more you try act like a 'westernized' person the more you stick out like a sore thumb abd make the eyes sore too"

So really how do you know that the person is not "acting" western, but that is just the way he or she is? thus one can be acting in the best possible way he knows, but since one's actions don't come to par with our way of being desi, we diss him?

somfin to fink bout eh?

*Originally posted by Lajawab: *

Remember, you can't fool anyone, and a genuine person with a horrible accent is much more appreciated and accepted than a pretentious person with a fake accent.

what about a genuine person with a good accent or a pretentious person with a horrible accent.

how does someone's accent makes them fake, especially if the person has grown up or born n bred in an english speaking country.

if someone has a fobby accent does it really mean that they are model pakistanis? or someone who has a british/america/canadian/australian accent that they are fakes? do u want a kid who was born in toronto to speak english as if he just landed from chuk number 42, zilaa mardaan?

its a commom beemari amoung all the races n nationalities. we start by making fun of our own ppl, then move towards others.

Re: Desis complaining about other desis…

Ullu kay patThay..did you do a scientific sampling of a billion people to come up with a 90% or did you just extrapolate your Indian Boyfriend’s disease to an entire population. Hurry back with an answer. :smash:

is it just me, or are Lajo's topics a more sexed up (or maa-behened up maybe) version of irem's S.H.O.C.K.E.D. series?

I just thought the % breakdown was remarkably uncorroborated. Not S.H.O.C.K.E.D

To Mr Lawajab, I have seen one too many posts of yours now that complain of these "nearly naked" gorahs that I am now convinced of your obsession with them. Of course, there are these types in "gorah" society as there are in ANY society. But in MY experience, they are not the rule - they are the exception. So WHERE do YOU hang out???? You must go looking for them! Because the people I know, the ones I see, the ones my husband works with, the ones I worked with, ALL the "gorahs" I've ever known are hard-working, very decent people. So maybe you need to look at where you're hanging out and with whom you associate.

Lajo dude you know how to get your point across and still keep it disguised. The whole argument about wannabe desis is one big decoy. What he’s really trying to say is Indians suck and Pakistanis do too but not as much as Indians. lol!

On a second note, Lajo, let them speak the way they want to speak and act and you act the way you are. Somehow, it implies that you get intimidated or feel uneasy. (‘you’ doesn’t always involve you)
Frankly speaking these people might look like us but that doesn not neccessarily entail that they can speak in the fobish accent ( :rolleyes: ) like us. Now its not their fault that they have grown up in the West or spent the chunck of their lives in a western country. I have even seen people who go and spend a month somewhere in a western country and boom .. you 'll see they have changed…but I for one never fret abt such things…
chill out and be sensitive to others tastes and preferences :slight_smile:

I have even seen people who go and spend a month somewhere in a western country and boom .. you 'll see they have changed<<

Why would ppl travel to any place if they don't learn anything from there? It's like you go to school and come back home without even being able to spell your own name, and being proud of it too. A static person can't be much fun, IMO.

Waise it's nobody's' fault that some of us are born or raised in the west, its pretty good actually, we get to see the world from another perspective. Same should be the case with ppl born or raised in Pak/India etc. You don't need to diss others in order to feel good about your self. So what if ppl don't want to say 'hi' to any stranger just because he/she looks Asian. Some ppl are reserved some shy, and some have preferences, ppl are not necessarily ashamed of what they are or have. Don't assume the worst about ppl based on your limited knowledge.

Oh and Laaj that mothers/daughter example is pathetic to say the least. You're referring to females as objects, we're part of at least 50% of 'your' society and culture, that is if we assume that the remaining 50% are all men.

hey I am not denouncing anyone here. All I am saying is that ppl change within a month or less than a month so the people Lajo are referring to are still different, than why criticize...

Anyhow, its Lajo's call.. I was just stating my opinion.

Lost Soul: The reason I drag mothers, daughters and sisters in my post is that these in our culture are considered the most noblest, venerated, respected and loved object a man possesses.

A Muslim can die to protect the sanctity of their honor, while the west treats them as objects to be looked at and admired, and no ‘westernized’ person cares whether their mother walks upon the beach in front of a million people half naked or if they sleep around.

It was meant as an example to bring to light the fact that while we consider these decadent and immoral acts, yet some desis believe that the west is the height of chivalry and courtesy because someone opens a door and says thank you. Rub the veneer a little and out pops the real westerner, a brazen and vile animal…

Maulana Maududi described this act as the west showing the Muslim a mirror and telling the Muslim how horrible you look. The Muslim being as naive as they are believed him and started to think of himself as an ugly creature. The mirror is merely a reference to how the Muslim is portrayed in the western culture, a sword wielding, loud mouthed horde of people bent on destruction.

How ironic that in the last 50 years alone, it has been the west that has harboured the most hatred for Muslims and has contributed to more death and destruction than the world has ever seen in history, all at a time when it claims to have achieved the highest level of correctness and civility.

The westerners have always remained this way forever, from the time of crusades, the Spanish inquisition, the colonization of the Americas, World War I and II to today…This creature seeks nothing more than death and destruction and is a master of disguise.

Fraudiya: From what I have read up on satires is that they tend to pick up on social, cultural or any other aspect of a society which directly or indirectly affects us, but I have yet to see a well written satire based on individuals, unless it happens to be a tabloid and you know the kind of people that tend to read them. Anyways, satires are meant to entertain and bring to light the lighter side of things, not complain about how someone looks or dresses or talks, otherwise it becomes nothing more than your own personal bias against…

Now I am ready for your detailed post in which you argue that black is white and white is black…:smiley:

Matsui: My breakdown of the stats in this matter, in case you haven’t picked up on it, is based merely on my personally meeting and talking with these people and is strictly limited to my own experience.

Your very Indian-style response to my post brings about another fact quite relevant to the issue at hand. The fact being in how you addressed me personally, where on one hand you could have asked me straight out from where I got results of my findings, resort to argument ad hominem.

One redeeming quality about the westerners is their ability to argue and discuss a point without getting personal. Leave aside the fact of how much hatred festers inside them, they will always talk the issue, not the speaker. You, having been educated, grown up, been in constant contact with the Americans should know how to present an argument and counter one. But you, getting crass and personal with me, is not your own fault. It’s what you are and will remain because it’s in your genes and I don’t hold you responsible.

Your response reminds me of an old Argentinian saying, which too, is very relevant to the issue at hand: In Argentina, a Campesino is a pig herder. In Argentinian society, a Campesino is the worst creature ever created. He is worse than a dog, he is worse than a germ in fact there is nothing more pathetic and woeful than a Campesino. He is very much the equivalent of what in your culture would be considered the Achhoot or the untouchable.

According to the Argentinian saying, it goes on to say, that no matter how educated, how refined, how wealthy or how well dressed a Campesino becomes, a piece of pig sh1t is always stuck to his heels.

The pig sh1t of course is proverbial and so is the heel, but of course they can become very apparent in instant, whether by how someone talks or acts…

Mama: Mr. Lajawab sees dead people…:smiley: and sees goras…They are everywhere, and from what I hear and see around me, on TVs, in magazines and not to mention I hear them on radio…Can I help it? I live amongst them, you think I am not going to compare my way of life with theirs?

OK. Just asnwer this simple question. Do the men of any average household in America no know about their daughter or sister sleeping around? Last I heard prostitution was a profession very looked down upon, and that too pro bono…

I am sorry if it sounds so personal to you, but to me it’s also very personal when one desi who thinks that he’s all that can smirk at another desi because the guy can’t pronounce mayonnaise correctly…

The funniest thing is, this guy I know, who works 2 jobs, can hardly support his family and make ends meet but can speak English with a real American accent…Now this guy makes fun a Muslim gujju and his English because the guy pronounces Bristol as ‘Bristaul’ and Pepto-Bismol as ‘Paipto-Bismaul’ all the while working privately and for the government as a CPA and making a huge six figure income…Who has the last laugh now? :hehe:

Now, if the first guy, thinks that the second guy is giving a bad impression of desis because he can’t pronounce his words correctly or wears T-shirts that are two sizes too small in front of people who have no qualms in being naked, that ticks me off rather fierce…:mad:

Cheegum: Saying that Indians suck is like saying that cows give milk..:smiley: But seriously, my closest friends in Illinois were Indians…But they were Indians, not Hindians…It’s true though…We have the best of what India has to offer and look at his reply above…:smiley:

Sabah: I understand what you’re getting at, but you should know there is a difference between modernization and westernization.

During a discussion and great friend of mine gave this wonderful example to illustrate the difference between the two:

Modernization: You hire people in Pakistan to work for you in a heavy machine factory and your workers wear turbans to protect themselves from the swinging, circling and rotating machinery. One of the worker’s turbans becomes unraveled, is caught on a rotating machinery, he becomes entwined in it, is pulled towards the machine and is killed.

Your company takes the initiative and orders hard-hats for your employees, that’s modernization and I am all for it.

Westernization: You want to wear low rise jeans because Britney Spears looks good in them.

I believe in adapting, not adopting the things that we come across…

Oh, and Sabah, when the Holy Quran mentions man being a garment for woman and woman being a garment, isn’t garment an object?

I once mentioned in a post that Muslim women are hard to get objects like diamonds and Ferraris…Some girls on this board harangued me so badly I was shy to post for a week…Come on, don’t be so literal all the time, try to understand what is being hinted at…

*Originally posted by Lajawab: *
Matsui: ....
Your very Indian-style response to my post brings about another fact quite relevant to the issue at hand. The fact being in how you addressed me personally, where on one hand you could have asked me straight out from where I got results of my findings, resort to argument ad hominem.

One redeeming quality about the westerners is their ability to argue and discuss a point without getting personal. Leave aside the fact of how much hatred festers inside them, they will always talk the issue, not the speaker. You, having been educated, grown up, been in constant contact with the Americans should know how to present an argument and counter one. But you, getting crass and personal with me, is not your own fault. It's what you are and will remain because it's in your genes and I don't hold you responsible.

Your genes are dramatically different I take it?

i’m surprised no one mentioned this, but lajo (a desi) starting a thread complaining that desis complain about desis - does irony ever get any thicker?

so lajo, please take a minute to read your own post, and take a bit of your own advice - dont expect other desis to conform to your standards.

:kiss:

Chal bay. Lajo is not Desi. He's got Arab blood running in him.