Desi vegetarian menu?

Lol I can’t come up with a better name.

Okay so cousins will be around for 8-10 days or so.. and despite the desi’s, particularly my family’s, obsession with meat I can’t cook it regularly.. so any good veg dishes? I can cook just basic salans and that’s ALL! :blush: I’m really very very bad at them unfortunately! :frowning:

So share your tried and tested recipes please.. and i’d really appreciate if you can suggest whole menu.

Re: Desi vegetarian menu?

There r lots of aubergine recipes floating around the place...

Yup I now remember that thread.. will check it out. Thanks a bunch!

and dont forget shaljam (im making some for tomorrow but with chicken)

You can make:

Daal......with a nice tarka, a simple dish like daal can be delish!

Cholay (chickpeas)

Kadhi (karhi).........this dish doesn't involve any vegetables, but it's a fun dish to eat and doesn't include meat. It's basically pakoray in a gravy made from besan.

Paneer Makhani.....cubes of paneer/cheese in creamy gravy

*Malai kofta...... **vegetable balls in creamy curry.

Baingan ka bharta **(regular eggplant salan) or bagharay baingan (stuffed eggplant in gravy)

Kerale........you can make it in the traditional way with lots of fried onions and tomatoes or you can make kerale stuffed with keema (if you plan to use some meat)

Gobi Aloo......cauliflower with potatoes
Bhindi**.......not my favorite but many enjoy it

Palak/Saag
Aloo tiki*....similar to shami kababs but made with potato

Vegetable medley**..........you can cook several vegetables (peas, carrots, potatoes) in a spicy curry.

Rice with green peas or chickpeas

Lauki ka raita
Dhai phukli
Black or green mash daal with spinach
Green moong with green methi
5 daals together
Aalo palak
Aalo, gajar aur matar
Karhi

is there any thread on sabzi dishes only...??

My vegetable biryani - with chickpeas, black pitted olives, red kidney beans, carrot and mushrooms!

Thanks everyone for the wonderful suggestions. Keep them coming!

RV can you share a good recipe for cholay and veg medley?

I plan on making karhi and something with spinach and eggplant inshaAllah.

Mostar I'd love to make this biryani but we don't get fresh mushrooms in this season here. But share your recipe please its sounds yum! I love olives and red beans! Mmmm.... also can u share how to make spinach with black or green dal? and veg kabab anyone? lol i guess its enough for now.. baqi bad mai ;)

thanks once again.. I love the people here!

Here is the recipe

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-cuisine-corner/269577-haray-mash-ki-daal-saag.html

Here you go:

250 grams of green mash (or if you can not find, you can take black mash)
400 grams paalak (spinach)
Green rocket chillies - 6
Whole red chillies - 6-8
Zeera - 1 tablespoon
Oil for frying.
Garlic cloves - 6

Soak the daal in cold water for 2 hours after properly washing.
Then boil it with paalak (finely cut) and pierced green rocket chillies. If you like you can also add 1 teaspoon ground garam masala. Add salt to taste.

When properly cooked. Fry the garlic, red chillies and zeera in oil and put it into daal. Its ready for eating with plain boiled rice or roti.