Why do desis cover their new sofas with plastic or sheet cloth?
Why don’t they enjoy the things they bought from their hard earned money?. Why don’t desis rip off the plastic covers from their new car seats?. Why don’t desis take off the plastic cover off of theur new cellphones?.
I guess many of them grew up with not having those things or seeing their parents work real hard to get them and treat them with a lot of care and it carries over.
probably for the same reasons that older desis are pack rats and have trouble thorwing away stuff.
its not a uniquely desi phenomenon, I had jamiacan pals, and they had the same situation and even many americans do that.
hey the slipcover business for sofas wont be booming in US if it were just the desis
they value their hard earned moula. another explanation could be they would rather spend time than money, something white people would do the opposite off. we have yet to learn to percieve time in the same manner as we percieve money.
when desis move they do not trash any furniture. even the tiniest wooden table will follow. lotta time spent moving but not a dime spent on new furniture.
my biggest argument being they avoid toll highways. i recently started customer service work for a toll highway. i interact with 100-120 customers on the phone everyday. not a single desi i have come across in the last 3 weeks. they would rather use the jam packed but free highways :--) come to think of it ive never used that toll highway either. oo aint i so desi.
jiay desis!
So let me get this straight...everyone here thinks desis are cheap??
While I admit, a lot of things your paents or mines do may be classified as wierd or unnecessary but covering things like sofa's, cellphones may be due to the fact that they don't want them damaged?
I grew up in a house with a comfortable lifestyle (thanks God), but my mom always covered up our sofas in our formal living room and kids weren't allowed in there either. Many of my dad's clients from work used to drop by there so the sofas always looked new. My parents always threw out the best condition sofas (now thats what I call freaky!).
Originally posted by RajputFury: *
**So let me get this straight...everyone here thinks desis are cheap?? *
err no..where did you get that idea from.?
Read the original post again. desiphobia never said they are cheap.
Re: Desi Thing To Do
*Originally posted by desiphobia: *
Why do desis cover their new sofas with plastic or sheet cloth?
Why don't they enjoy the things they bought from their hard earned money?. Why don't desis rip off the plastic covers from their new car seats?. Why don't desis take off the plastic cover off of theur new cellphones?.
its not only desis. ever been to a chinese persons house?
yeah, stuff tends to get covered…like sofas in the living room, etc. but it’s ok
moms tend to do those crazay-nutsy things sometimes.
Originally posted by Fraudz: *
*Originally posted by RajputFury: *
**So let me get this straight...everyone here thinks desis are cheap?? *
err no..where did you get that idea from.?
If its my mistake then I'm sorry but the way I see the logic of covering things up is to make things last longer, hence one would not have spend more money on purchasing new sofas for example.
I sometimes wish that we were cheap in that regard, because the materialism is killing us, but thats another story.
you guys watch the sopranos?...even Pauli Walnuts has his recliner coverd with plastic!
lol…funny thread ![]()
actually i think we desis are the most generous and khullay dil ke loag ![]()
i just noticecd ur nick…desiphobia???
kya ji aisi kya baat hae why the phobia from desis?? ![]()
*Originally posted by RajputFury: *
If its my mistake then I'm sorry but the way I see the logic of covering things up is to make things last longer, hence one would not have spend more money on purchasing new sofas for example.
I sometimes wish that we were cheap in that regard, because the materialism is killing us, but thats another story.
No one is saying desis are cheap here, its just a question of why dont you enjoy what you have bought. covering up things is great. makes a lot of sense any many ppl do it otherwise there would be no need for table pads, table covers, sofa slipcovers, stairway and hallway runners etc.
but it makes sense to enjoy it too. If you buy a beautiful couch and have a great living room which its a part off, take off the covers once in a while to see and enjoy your great purchase, cover it up otherwise, all is well.
stuff like car seats..i mean that kinda dunn make sense, take the dang plastic off. i understand protecting the seat from spills and all, get a seat cover, that plastic thing is kinda annoying. same with cell phone etc, how long canu really have that plastic thing on, if u want to protect it get a case which you probably eventually will anyways.
know what I mean.
I think when it comes to electronics, and cars etc the idea at work may be to keep them looking brand spankin new for as long as possible.
This is one of the many threads posted in this "culture" forum which reinforces my belief that it is a joke that India and Pakistan are two different countries. The similarity between the people of two countires is remarkable right down to preserving the plastic seat covers of our new cars !!
yep..peace and understanding via plastic seat covers!!! :D
Fraudz well said.. I think I was focus too much on the electronics and cars. Then its just a preservation not a cheapness issue :)
do they ever take the plastic sheets off or never ?!
There is a big difference between being cheap and being frugal. Never used plastic slipcovers, though - I think their uncomfortable. We have slipcovers to protect the furniture in the living room from the hair of three napping cats, but, we take them off when we entertain.
Conjecture: Desi's probably don't want to see a major purchase like furniture ruined any sooner than possible. You certainly would not want to replace it every few years - that could get expensive!
In the old days, when you wanted to make a purchase, you saved your money and looked for good deal. If you couldn't pay for it, you didn't get it. You might not have alot, but, you weren't in debt either!
Now, with credit readily available, people run out and buy whatever their hearts desire, whether they can afford it or not. They have lots of possessions AND lots of debt. Personally, I'd rather do without!
Peace To All Who Read This...
Agreed with fraudia chacha
How about when they fold shalwar Kameez and place it in Macy's or Sear's box/bag ?
maybe we just likeplastic :p