Desi restaurants

Why do desi restaurants have a habit of NOT having the food that htey claim to have? I’ve been to so many desi places, that say they have chinese food, halal american food, even really good desi dishes that ive never tried, but they only have typical nan-kabab stuff, they don’t even knwo what hte hell i’m talking abt. I haven’t experienced this in any other restaurant, chinese, american etc.

Why do desi places do that?

Also, why do the asian-run nail salons leave ppl in charge who don’t know english?

Why do the gyro guys just run off to run errands or read namaz and leave the cart right there with NO ONE there?

Tell me, is this how businesses are run nowadays, with extremely low standards, or is my thinking that false advertising, u know, leaving ur bzness completely unattended, as being wrong, is delusional/naive? Please, enlighten me :halo:

Re: Desi restaurants

The restaurant one is totally true :(
The only bluddy thing I wanted was a Fish Cutlet and they didn't have it :(

So true, I never find brain masala and kata kat on a daily basis in a restaurant nearby. There is this American co-worker who is dying to eat cow brain (NOT) and everytime we go there, they don't have it.

:emmy:

one restaurant i went to only had 5 dishes available for apne people!!
they gave a menu then said dont bother picking like goray, what do you want chicken, meat, saag, daal or fish!! they made it 'desi style'. it was very nice food though

yeah i hate when i order something only to be told apologetically “i’m sorry but we don’t have that today” or “we’re out of that…” :hoonh:

once i was at Tandoor on Queens Blvd and this gori wanted chicken tikka masala, the waiter goes, “we don’t have that today, but try the chicken makhani, it’s the same thing, really” she got really ticked off… “if it’s the same thing, then why do u have it listed with two different names? Don’t try to fool me, my boyfriend’s pakistani, and i know the difference”

the waiter was RED in the face after that :cb:

:rotfl: :rotfl:

good for her!

I wish I could say somethign like that so openly :bummer:

Worst thing is that if you start getting up by saying “ok, lets not eat here then”, the waiter will actually look relieved (one less group to serve), and in most cases will have a smirk as if to say “try your luck elsewhere, you bozos!”. :hehe:

In desi restaurants, not only is the customer not king, but he is somewhere between a nuisance and an allergy. At least for the under paid, and usually educationally-challenged, wait staff.

Ok the title of this therad shud be, lowered business standards? or something liek that.. someone plz change it :snooty:

maybe its to lure in customers.
also i guess desis have the habbit of adding botis right at the end, so you'll have dishes like (chiken, mutton, beef) biryani, kerhai, salon, etc. not very professional if you ask me.

Pl dont include Indian restaurants in this.

I have gotten your kind of experience only in Shalimar & Pakwaan - both Pak restaurants.
In Shalimar (Fremont), there are often as many people behind the register as there are in front. The menu is printed on an akhbaar kind of paper.
But I do like the informal setting and how the register guy (with Pen stuck on his ear) will nonchalantly shout to the kitchen - “Oye chhotu…23 number pe ek Chicken Tikka bhej”…

I think it's quite common for desi restuarants to have a big fancy menu and in reality to only offer only half of the dishes listed - this is bcos most places start up big and offer all sorts of variety but as they run the business and gain experience they start cutting dishes/items off menu (obviously without informing customers) that arrent selling as much - desi's prefer to keep most popular items available as they are wat bring the money in - and at end of d day dats wat they are there for....

However, i think this is happening all round d world - i remember visiting restaurants in Pak and Dubai last year - it was d same...

It's not just desi restaurants, desi businesses in general lack even a hint of customer service. Like someone else said, customers in general are treated like interruptions, not business.

Last march, my brother and I went all over Toronto to find sherwanis for his wedding, we must have gone to 50 or so shops, finally ended up in a very nice place where the designer himself talked to us for over 2 hours and helped us by showing us many many different designs, he was very open to suggestions, we ended up buying from him.

The other store was where my wife bought her lehengas for the wedding, she also went to dozens of stores, but ended up buying at this store where the designer himself spent hours with her. I was impressed.

As for the other stores where we did NOT buy, they had the "app yay lay laiN" pointing to complete garbage, it's like wtf?

Oh I luv going to desi restaurants. I know exactly what items they don't have. So, I would start with

me: "fried bheja hay?"
he: (gives me a weird look) nahee

me: hmmm... lamb roast?
he: (looks at his own menu closely and is in shock it's even there) Nahee jee

me: achaa, tau aisa karaiN aik dozen grilled pomplet machlee daydaiN
he: (totally in shock) machlee??? sir woh tau mushkil hay

me: acha tau aisa karo Bhindi dau Piaaza kay teen order
he: (interrupts me) bhai aaj siref Biryani, Haleem, Nihari, aur chicken karraahi hay.

Notice that all the items he has are made in large quantities and were probably cooked two days ago.

I walk out and go to the nearest Subway and munch on my favorite tuna sub.

Irregardless of how good or bad the menu is, the only thing I appreciate about desi restaurants here is that I don't end up getting extremely sick.

I'd safely assume this is more due to your sheer good luck, than anything to do with restaurant's cleanliness regimen. Desi restaurants are notorious for keeping Pakistani traditions alive in how their kitchens are maintained.

By the way, all the bad experiences are only if you are not a regular at a desi joint. Once you are a regular and have established friendship with the owner, then not only do you get extremely good service, but the owner will personally sit down with you and chat about his day, you get free naans and free refills of gravy, and you don't get charged for taking sodas from the fridge. Its all a matter of setting up social relationships.

How desi! lol only a desi customer can appreciate such fringe benefits.

Not to mention that if you know the owner, he will cook you any dish, which may not even be on the menu.

You have all heard the ad-phrase for "Olive Garden", right... where they say "when you are here, you're family". Well, thats very true when you eat out at a desi restaurant, where the owner is a friend. He won't let you go hungry, even if you don't want to order more.... "oh bhai, meri khushi, meri khushi...."