desi parents and hipness

do you think your parents are hip? why or why not? or are they completely desi, no matter how long they’ve lived otuside of desiland.

what about the aunts/uncles/grandparents?

i’ll answer later on :chai:

Re: desi parents and hipness

desi
they havent changed one bit:o

haha :D tael in hair and tael in salan type still? :D

taeil in salan :konfused: not in hair but um they are very desi in their principles u know.
i dont mind the desi lifestyle but dont we need to give up some desi mentality after all this life we have lived away from the home town/land?

oh dude. you can take a desi out of the desi-land, but you can never take the desiness otu of the desi :D

desi hippies :hmmm:

Too hip for my own good I say :hinna:

imagine if your parents were hippies :eek: shudders

haha seriously? how?

My dad recommends films and music to me. My mum buys me dresses and jeans.

:konfused:

They are something. Don’t know if it is ‘hip’:cb:

All you desis stop analyzing other desis especially desi parents :smack:

Dad watches over my shoulders while I write a letter to the Prime Minister of Pakistan asking him to pull Canadian troops out of Afghanistan (which is his idea to begin with) - so he can correct my grammar and spelling errors.

Mom thinks I should put olive oil in my hair every weekend.

Go figure.

My dad is a fashion freak. He gets all the latest styles and colors (he’s 71). Even though he only has hair on the sides of his head, he goes to a salon for massages and trims. And yes, he still tells my mom that such and such student commented how handsome he is. :bummer:

My mom dresses well and all but she wants my sister and I to wear trendy outfits (like real trendy) and thinks we are out of date :snooty:

my dad asks me about latest bollywood music. but he knows about all th elatest hollywood movies my mom on the other hand knows about all the latest bollywood music, and all the masala movies too. not just the mellow kind.

omg my mombuys me clothes too! LOL. it’s embarassing, but some of the stuff she buys me is pretty nice

i will…stop me :barbie:

haha ur dad sounds so cute! my mom’s the same way. the solution for everything is “maalish” with tael.

hahaha your parents sound so awesome! my dad’s like your dad (in terms of hair) and he get his hair cut from i dunno wherever. my mom always makes fun of the poor guy.

:flowers:

Embarassing is the word that does spring to mind but it is cute too.

I don’t think it is cool when people thnk my parents are my siblings:naraz:

LOL serious? i'm glad no one will ever mistake my parents for being my siblings :D

Yes. At parents evenings the middle aged ladies would hit on my dad thinking he is my older brother:smack: Even when he came to uni people were like:eek: that can’t be your dad.

And mum:smack: mashallah she is very youthful looking but she isn’t my sister.

Everyone who sees me with my parents gets highly confused:cb: Like, where did this fully grown woman come form:o

If I post graduation pics, it will make sense to you.

My mom is trendy and dad still works out so his tond doesn’t comeout.And they buy me stuff which is nice.They watch movies with us bollywood and hollywood ,they still know new hollywood movies and dad knows all old hollywood movies.They are open minded in some matters like pasand ki shaadi or dad asks and talks with us easily.Mom usually ask too many question.:bummer:

out of every ‘old’ one around me, and now doubled due to susraal, i would say my saas would be the most HIP person :faizy:

has she bought you clothes and otehr stuff? :hmmm:

details would get me some weird looks.. but sure.. good towards fashion, knows what WE as 2nd generation WANT/expect and like.. and gives solutions rather than problems.. :k: