Desi Kitchen Vs Non-Desi Kitchen

have a look at this preface written by a British writer, who stayed in India, enjoyed food, became ill and then put all balme on India cuisine and lack of cleanliness of desi kitchen. She went on to say that British who ruled India were justified in avoiding local food.

What our your views about overall cleanliness issue of Desi kitchens? Was the lady justified?

How is your experience about non-desi kitchens compared to desi ones?

Re: Desi Kitchen Vs Non-Desi Kitchen

Well I wouldn’t eat street food in India/Pak.
I would have to visit a non-desi country to comment on that.:hmmm:

Isn't there any tradition of street food in KSA?

Pata nai...
I have come across the ones selling corn/baleelah etc on the beach and you can see wht they are doing ..cleanliness and stuff.
But then, I live in a small part of KSA and lead a very sheltered life. So, agar hoga bhi, I might not know about it.

wese recently mae ney pakistan ka ek food bhi nahi kahya jo street pey mil rahey they ya jo hotels hain wahan ja ker bhi hardees khaya tha :smiley:

may be loog itney saalun baad jatey hain beemar per jatey hain like us :vivo:

May be people are not used to stuff being sold in India / Pakistan. They are destined to be ill, how much they care about cleanliness.

Many fall Ill due to change in weather, water,food etc.

Kitchen is women's(desi/non desi) kingdom..... it reflects their manner....

Not exactly. Best chefs are males.. but this is not the topic under discussion.

This is more about commercial cooking (Street food, etc)

I had very bad experience of Guyro from street vendor.... smell was bad and I was about to vomit.....

Guyro?

BTW, Indian / Pakistani restaurants are quite popular in west. Who are their regular customers? Do goras give similar comments as the lady in OP?

European (specially British) and American do love Indian/Pakistani food. Last month when I was at lunch with my boss, he was talking Peshawari Naan, it was famous in England and he still cringe for it. Many western like Biryani and remember it by description of spicy rice and chicken. Another guy from work, He actually does cooking indian food at home, again this is not topic of discussion, but I need to explain my point here. Pakistani restaurants are underdog.... Western are quite pro-Indian..... However, once they eat Paki food, they forget Indian foods...... Beside food, sweets are also famous.... Gora log love to eat Pakistani bbq item like chicken tikka, sheekh kabab, bihari boti..... I know one Indian deli was very famous among gora, where they eat saag, butter paneer.....

Guyro is middle eastern food...a wrap of chicken and other stuff....

How come chicken tikka is a Pakistani dish and not Indian cuisine? I think its origin is somewhere in British India or may be Mughals. It was declared as national food in UK in 2001.