Desi Institution Shut Down In NYC

Re: Desi Institution Shut Down In NYC

its almost as annoying as that punjab autos ad where a bunch of yahoos are doing bhangra in a autobidy shop.

the trend of crappy jingles in local desi ads is annoying as anything. since i cancelled all desi channels I dont have to be subjected to them..yaay

I think they do it on purpose so that people remember the stupid jingle and product. In my youth, I used to wake up to Howard Stern's radio show. More often than not, I'd snooze thru the show until Giant Glass jingle started playing. That jingle was torture, it' was cruel and unusual punishment.

You want to make someone talk, make them listen to that jingle for days on end.

I lovvvvvvvved their bihari kabab.
I actually did see the back rooms of that place a few years ago, wouldn't wanna go there again. Before these guys took over that place (in 1997 or so) that location kept changing ownership almost every year. They lasted a decade.

They had another place a block away called Kabab King Palace which closed down last year, not cuz of hygenic issues tho, some panga with the landlords. KK ppl do have other locations.

So now what's the must eat place in Jackson Heights?

me too! tahoor's nasty

You must be right.. This tahoor must be nasty.. :D

Abay.. he said share your good memories!

oh!
Uhmmm… lets see…
Ran into shweetdreamz and after browisng some stores, we had lunch at kabab king (2006)
Family and I were shopping for my brother’s valima and we had lunch there… (May 2005)
OH! My best frend’s buddhay we all went there and she treated us to lunch (June 2005) :clown:

=

NYC joint commission did humanity a favor by closing that place down. It was down right filthy.

their bihari kabab and Chinese cuisine were awesome.... the place was real nasty (with even nastier general public)... but hey which desi eatery is clean anyway.

Good memories: our first dinner date after shaadi.

PS: Tahora Rocks. Three Cheers to Tahora

PS2: when are they (KK) making a comeback????

is this the resturant that aired its ad on GEO USA:
"king king.. kabaab.. king"

with white ppl apprently lovin their food. i am glad it shut down. i dont wanna see that ad again if i ever watch geo.

ughh tha food there was so bland and tasteless

:( I liked that place... How unfortunate...

They opened another Kebab King in Manhattan however, so all's not lost.

chalo ab next time baghair cocroaches and bees ke khaana to banayein gay ,zaiqa to chala gaya :hehe:

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

fond memory: was out late with a group of friends... it was past midnight, we were hungry and the only place open at that hour was KK... we ordered at 1 AM... and after some amount of yelling at the waiters, we were finally served our meal at 2:15...

another time, i went there for takeout... i saw a waiter carrying a plate of naan to ppl seated upstairs; one naan fell off the plate onto the floor, the waiter picked it up and put it right back on the pile of naan and took it upstairs... that was the last i saw of JH food.

also a friend told me she'd once ordered some yummy nihari.. and found a makkhi floating in the oil.

yuck. Thank goodness it's been shut down!!

^ Hmm yummy makhi :smiley:

Reminds me of a story here. This desi store’s owner’s mom was working one night and a customer came back saying he found a makhi in the rooh afza. Now this place isn’t the most cleanest [back then] but our auntie was sonay pe sohaga and said to him hum bache to inni cheezo ko kha kar barre hue hain! :omg:

Well pointless to say, this place was shut down for at least a month when food inspectors showed up afterwords…

~Namkeen~

The only food I eat at JH is from the gyro stand, or maybe the Afghani place on roosevelt avenue. Everything else is garbage. We went to jackson heights a few months ago and reluctantly decided to go to Kabab King. The plates were greasy, we asked them to re-wash them, they got pissed at that. The food had like 1/2inch of oil floating on top of it. I saw cockroach roaming around the table. I dared not look down on the floor, afraid of what else I may see. On the other branch, the KK palace, we also saw cockroaches, and get this - we found a rolled up napkin in our naan. gag

Shut down again...didn't they re-open and call the bloomberg for inauguration like few weeks back?

Nothing. It never had one in the first place.