Desi Fielders

Yesterday Indian fielders dropped 3-4 catches, today Pakistani fielders dropped as many. Why do they drop so many catches ? Why they are such pathetic fielders ?

Commitment is the keyword when it comes to fielding. Desis know that they are not included for their fielding. They think of it as something they have to do to get to bat or bowl. The day desis start thinking for the team, their percentage of catches taken / run-outs induced will get better. Until then, let's be thankful they are better than Bishen Bedi and Ehteshaam-uddin.

They don't work as hard at it for a start. Aussies and the rest have been putting their players through practice drills for years now and even at domestic level it's a must requirement.

Can it also be because of the desi mentality of looking down upon 'Fielding' aspect of cricket and is it possible that most of us think it's not respectable enough ?

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Can it also be because of the desi mentality of looking down upon 'Fielding' aspect of cricket and is it possible that most of us think it's not respectable enough ?

Yes combined with the fact that they have this superstar chip on their shoulder.

Not just superstars - I think it is part of our cricket culture. I have observed this in our local mohalla. Players come for practice, most of them try to pick the bats as fast as they can, remaining ones will pick up balls and then starts the practice. No one cares to field, No one wants to field, No one wants to keep wickets and that seems to be one of the reasons why we dont have good wicketkeepers and fielders.

Our best fielders (Kaif, Yuvraj etc) are worse than worst fielders from NZ, Zimbabwe, Australia, SA, England etc. Infact even Keynya, Holland, Canada etc are 100 times better than our fielders.

:hehe: @ fielding

I remember in MOHALLA cricket we used to ask “CHOTEY BACHEY” to stand as a slip fielder and thirdman coz we never wanted to run after the ball :slight_smile:

Ager pehley hamari batting aa jatee thee tu batting layney k baad instead of fielding hum opponent ko “JEET” day daitey theey :slight_smile:

and on serious note, I guess its all about the attitude. We (we as in DESIS) have a attitude problem. We have VIP and SUPER STAR culture. When we are having training camps, cricket boards don’t have courage/guts to ask heroes like Sachin, Shoaib, Imran, Wasim to join the camp regularly and they don’t join the camps until they themselves want to.

Although i strongly believe that its all about the self motivation liken boards ko bhee sakhte kerne cheheye and should drop the players who don’t join the camp for specified amount of time. There should be ATTENDENCE REGISTER sort of thing.

send them to MLB trainign camps and make the, runa nd dive to make catches. although i have always considered Cricket as a technically more sophisticated game, in the fielding arena cricketers can learn from baseball players.

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
send them to MLB trainign camps and make the, runa nd dive to make catches. although i have always considered Cricket as a technically more sophisticated game, in the fielding arena cricketers can learn from baseball players.

I remember the current AUS coach used Baseball coaches for throw from the deep to the wicket as u may have that baseball players throw the ball like a line to the catcher or to the bases from he deep and the same training method is used by the AUS to prevent a third run (or produce a run-out) where other teams normally give away a third run .....

zero one, thanks for the info and it proves my theory. They should bring in some azzkickin coach from MLB to show these punks how to field.

there is another method the current AUS team uses to strenghten their run up (bowlers), faster start for chasing the ball or between the wicket .... they use to attach a little parachut which results in more wind resistance than aplayer normally produce with his movement/body ..... once u've to put more power into ur starts with the attached parachut u r even faster without it on the ground ......

But as Asif_k said above ..... It's their attitude which we won't see in our players even in 100 years

I have observed this in our local mohalla. Players come for practice, most of them try to pick the bats as fast as they can, remaining ones will pick up balls and then starts the practice. No one cares to field, No one wants to field, No one wants to keep wickets and that seems to be one of the reasons why we dont have good wicketkeepers and fielders.

You were only lazy cricketter as kid. ;)

Asif_K, diving and doing the impossible is one thing, our present fielders arent even putting the minimum effort that they should put in. I mean look at some of our older players like Azharuddin, Salim Malik, Miandad they werent physically very agile and didnt dive around like Rhodes or Ponting, but they had very safe hands, and could knock the stumps from distances.

Fairy Bhaiya - I was the fittest player in my team and I still am.

Ham jahan khaRe ho jaate hain, Janta wahan shot khelna chhoR deti hai :)

^ toh stadium say bahar kyun kharay hotay ho bhai?

I was shocked to see Younis Khan dropping a sitter.

^ Kyon ki hamare muhalle ki team stadium ke bahar khelti hai :).

Guys it's about a poor attitude to training. Pak players don't even do the basics right when it comes to running between wickets, e.g, call YES, NO or WAIT.

They have a similar attitude to fielding and I'm pretty sure they didn't perform in the WC because they couldn't handle Richard Pybus' disciplinarian attitude.

No idea why the Indian team have such problems but it's probably along similar lines.

Agree with Xtreme.

Coaching does not only mean to train on how to swing bat, how to read a ball's line/length, how to read spinner's action or where to pitch the ball for particular batsmen... but also need to improve on run and catch, throw, call/decline a run etc.

^ Kyon ki hamare muhalle ki team stadium ke bahar khelti hai :).

hum..LFS ke saamne Road pe ;)