Re: Desi Dilemmas

Classic Desi statement! :smiley:

:bummer: thnx 2 aunties and gossipers

Kisi nay yeh baat 5 saal pehlay ke thi. :eek:

I want to know " Logoun nay phir kiya kaha" :eek: :konfused:

“Will there be food there?” ---- “khana hoga waha?” :ahaa:

Desi Delimmas

ok i posted in cafe too..
most threads here, and most desis in real life, anywhere in the world,, whatever their problems or worries are it just comes down to this question "What will people say?" ---- "loag kia kahengay?"

So everyone seems to have problems/worries but in the end this same question is asked, and this seems to be the problem..as i understand it..
its 'loag kia kahengey'..

It's so ingrained in desis, that even the so called 'religous' people think like that.. wouldnt it be khafi shirk(hidden shirk)?
constantly thinking about people and what they say? i believe it is a form of shirk(khafi).. which many of us fail to realize, but we hide it in "'oh loag kahengey' talk''...

snap out of it... (includes myself too)...

MM yeah you're right...."log kya kahenge" is a big deal...
but these days you interact with so many different types of "log", society doesn't have uniform social values...jus look around GS and you'll find ppl with all sorts of views...
in the same way one might be from a conservative family but their school/workplace enviornment might be liberal...even within pakistan...
in such a scenario, how do you even decide "log kya kahenge"...do you think of your relatives, friends, society....who?
ive come to a point now where i usually think abt ISLAM and dont worry abt "loag" so much, but even then at some place in ur mind that thought always strikes u.

haha.. i so know what u mean..

my parents are actually quite different from the norm, Mashallah i should say. I dont think they've every really said to me "laug kya kahein gein".. people are always gonna talk regardless of waht you do, so there isnt any reason to say it..

however, i did hear my mum say it to me about 3 months back.. i nearly fell off my bed laffing cus its something ive never imagined my mum to say.. but i think she thought she should just say it so that later if anyone points the finger at my parents or me.. she could say "meine pehle hi kaha tha na.. "

I think what started out to be a healthy fear of persecution by society has been taken to extremes.

The healthy fear that I refer to keeps people from doing that which is immoral. Keeps people from participating in activities that would lead to anarchy and a society without ethics. However, this same fear has been taken to extremes and applied to the littlest of actions.

Why are people so run by the opinions of others?

It's so ingrained in desis, that even the so called 'religous' people >>think like that.. wouldnt it be khafi shirk(hidden shirk)?

i love it when ppl trying to be pious make up their own Islam like this.
shirk has a very simple and plain meaning, of consciously not taking anything else as God and thats it. u cant extend it to all things that people love in their lives to mean shirk!

and nowhere does religion say that u become independent of society whilst trying to be religious.
take Hazrat Ayesha's episode written in the Quran as an example. it explicitly recognizes a woman's izzat as a very important social issue. it could easily have said, you don't need to consider what the kafirs say and blame you for.
even the head-covering is more of a social recognition mechanism for muslim women, differenetiating them from those who dont believe, than it is only as a means of being pious and modest.

Irem, its not about which society or what type of family one belongs to.. what you said about ‘thinking about islam’ needs to be there, no matter where one is…

sadzz, I guess that our parents' generation is more like that, than ours..
I suppose the whole baby boomers vs generation X and Y thinking pattern come in it as well, if you look at it from that perspective..
generation X n Y have the 'dont care' attitude n thinking..

Muzna that’s an excellent observation, I never saw it that way..

“Why are people so run by the opinions of others?”
exactly why...

Ghulail, look up the forms/types of shirk. you'd know what i meant..

“u cant extend it to all things that people love in their lives to mean shirk!”

your assuming I said that. but anyways,
that love can become a form of shirk, if it exceeds the bounds, or is a passion other than the love of God.
It’s not about being independent of society, but making society a ‘god’ is what is in question.