Desi Clothes Today..

…are going beyond what I thought was possible. The designers are making things more revealing little by little: sleeve-less slips, see through kameezes, mid-driff kameezes, slips from the chest down instead of the neck down.

The day will come when people will be walking around barely covering their torso and believe that its acceptable.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

There is a mystic thread of life
So dearly wreath’d with mine alone,
That Destiny’s relentless knife
At once must sever both, or none.

If god wanted to make women wear clothes, SHE wouldnt have made her so beautiful!!!!

true…ab to libas pehnna na pehnna aik hi baraber hai…i’ve seen some girlz in my college…wearin such kind of see-through clothez…

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nook.gif

DerVaisH ki DerVaisHi danwan-dol ho jati hai..lakin fiQer nOt kakaz te kakiz…kafi baar bola hai unko…koi aser hi nahin hota unko…

Allah inko aQal-te-naiki ki hidayat de…ameen.

God bless u all…

DerVaisH

muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni…
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni…
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein…
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni…

Originally posted by Tanhaa:
If god wanted to make women wear clothes, SHE wouldnt have made her so beautiful!!!!

do they parade naked in your family?

Tube, you talking about just seeing posted pictures off the net of models wearing these clothes, or you for real seeing womyn wearing these clothes - like infront of your very eyes?

Cuz I haven't seen any for real wearing 'em.

kaki i have seen in real…come 2 my college and i’ll show u a few…1 is really into c-through shalwar kameez these dayz…all of a sudden…NO NO to jeanz te shirtz, YES YES to shalwar kameez…BUT herkatein wohi hein…chichoron wali…

God bless u all…

DerVaisH

muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni…
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni…
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein…
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni…

O well.

The more sawab to get for the chichora guys to look away from then.

Isnt that every bodies choice? I wont mind if they wear but up to some extend.
And ppl who dont like seeing them ignore them or shut their eyes before wearing eye bandages once and for all.

“kaisay na karta usko main pyar, uski haseen main sukh thay hazaar, bichar gayay hum dukh ki hay baat”

[This message has been edited by Ali_R (edited August 29, 2001).]

[This message has been edited by kohalic (edited August 29, 2001).]

Actually kohal, there are women in Pakistan that do wear the fashions that you see on the net.

It's like we believe that what comes down the runway in Milan or New York isn't really worn. That's not true. There are women that purchase and wear those outfits. The same applies to what you see on the net of Pakistani fashion.

A couple of years back I got to watch a video of a mehndi/wedding/valima from Karachi (....yes, we stayed awake through all six hours of it....had to...) and I was absolutely floored by the fashions that I saw....or didn't see, however you want to term it.

Most of the outfits were sleeveless and many had faux tops (like a net cover on the shoulders with solid fabric beginning just at the bust). Several others had tops that stopped short at the rib-cage leaving much of the mid-rif exposed.

One particular outfit had a blouse with strings across the back and a lehnga that, I swear, should her "butt crack" (ugh!).

Now, one may say that this might have been an isolated incident....but I don't believe so. We know the family and their social circle quite well. It is commonplace to dress in these fashions for them.

It's true that Pakistanis are wearing more revealing clothes at walimahs and mehndis these days. But so what? If it happens in America, Canada UK etc, why expect people to act different in Pakistan?

Some blame women for dressing too provocatively...some blame men for not keeping their eyes peeled to the floor. Personally i think we need to find a neutral target so that it doesn't end up in a fight. So let's blame Humpty Dumpty.

Tanhaa..you’re not funny.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/disgust.gif

koholic, yes I have seen people with my own two eyes. People that actually came to our house wearing such clothing. Astagfirullah.

What gets me is that these people talk about others and say that they are this or that because of their clothing, YET these people wear the exact same clothing and believe that it’s okay for them, but not for others. What a double standard!

People take these things lightly, it is shocking.

Ali_R I bet you would change your mind if your mother or sister or wife or other family member went parading around in outfits like that.

Mr. X, so why don’t women walk around topless on the beaches in pakistan? Why don’t they wear tank tops and shorts? Everyone else is doing it..so why shouldn’t they???

If your religion (I’m aiming at the muslims that do this) states that you are not allowed to wear such clothing, why purchase such things?

Also, for those who are religiously challenged, even in the Pakistani culture there is a form of hayaa/sharaam.

yaar, tanhaa, tum saee boltay ho!
there should always be sharam and haya when it comes to clothing - espeically in muslim countries like pakistan.

here is my beef:
saudi weddings.
now my eyes were just … popping out at the ultimate shock to see what the ladies were wearing at these weddings. it was segregated ofcourse

• only women. the men had to go home early and ladies partied until … 7 in the morning.
    khair, their clothing, oh lord … i, i can’t even begin. very slicey, and cut ..from everywhere.
    khair,
    now you would think that’s haram too (especially for these saudi / muslims women) cuz, well - too much attraction of the female body among on only female gathering can spark, well, lesbianism as well .

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

even such exposing among ladies only shouldn’t be allowed , imo. think of the little girls present .

so personally, i see no difference if it’s regarded in a co-ed situation , or separate. one or the others have more or less the same affect from what others wear.

it’s a matter of not being over the line of what one is wearing AND also of what others viewing that person are thinking

it’s a 2-way process

Your beef seems to be quite confused.

Firstly, you are assuming that all saudi weddings are the same based on your own experience.

Secondly, women who are in the company of women only have to cover their aura from navel to knee. So it’s okay to take off your hijab etc.

Thirdly, you’re saying that this will “promote” lesbianism. So aren’t you “supposedly” promoting lesbianism when you walk down the street and view scantily clad women?? OR does that not apply to you?

Maybe she keeps her eyes to the floor just like us guys. It’s a tricky business though. You have to be careful of walking into lamposts which can often lead to concussion

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pagal.gif

aww and by the looks of it, xtreme’s been there

yes tube, you’ve been to one saudi wedding, you’ve been to them all. however this wasn’t an official shadi - it was the ladies’ version. kinda like a mehndi - but men are not allowed in whatsoever .
and who said women have to ‘cover their aura from navel to knee’ ( that’s for guys dude ).
er, i would think it’s a bit more for them .. even for female gatherings

and when it comes to me “promoting” the “supposed” lesbianism when checking out a scandily dressed chic which is absolutely haram - ain’t chya doin’ the exact same thing for being an overly aroused chichora and then complaining about what you see ?

First of all, I’d like to refer to aphrodite’s comment regarding the “awra” or “satr” of a woman towards other women. According to Islamic rulings, the “awra” of a woman towards other women is the region between the navel and the knees. This is why it is permissible to nurse a child in the presence of another woman. However the “awra” of a woman towards a non-mehram man is different, in which case she would have to cover everything except her face and her hands. If you still require clarification, I can provide you with the relevant and necessary reference material or see the Shaikh/Imam of your local mosque for a more detailed explanation.

Personally I think that there is a difference between a co-ed and a segregated gathering. I say this because the definition of what is acceptable dressing from an Islamic perspective varies with the two situations. For eg. a Hijabi would be required to wear her scraf in a co-ed atmosphere but can take it off in an all woman gathering, etc. etc.

Just one more thing, I’m no more of a chichora then you … be careful when you speak of the untruth

Peace.

[This message has been edited by Tube Runner (edited August 30, 2001).]