Desi aunties and rishta-muqaabla-baazi

So last weekend my parents and I were invited at a family friend’s house for dinner (let’s call her McBestie Aunty). When we arrived, we found out another mutual friend is also coming over…let’s call her McPendo-Aunty.

A little background…my mom and McBestie aunty are practically like sisters…their friendship goes back many years…McBestie aunty has always looked at me with googly eyes and sent her youngest brother’s proposal for me last year…she asked McPendo aunty to find out first how we felt about it but when they didn’t get a clear answer then she asked directly and after we said no, she has been watti-kutti with my mom…McBestie’s brother got engaged recently and getting married this summer, but she is still acting weird with us.

As for McPendo aunty, well, she studied up to grade 8 and is your typical gaon ki laraaka aurat who loves to gossip and create trouble for others. I have never liked her much, but especially since she pulled this cheap trick on me… where she invited my family over for dinner and dhaukay se, tried to hook me up with her fobby nephew (shorty, tummy sticking out like a 40-year old uncle’s, works in factory, metric or FSc pass from Pak, speaks no English). She presented me in front of him in a separate room like I was a decoration piece. Super awkward! Poor guy couldn’t get two words out. And my parents were furious ke banda kam az kam agle ko dekh ke unke mutabiq rishta bataata hai.

So anyway, back to last weekend…
McBestie and McPendo aunties have become very close since McPendo aunty did a favour to McBestie by trying to convince my parents for her brother’s rishta.
At dinner, they both basically ganged up on my mother dear and started giving her examples of what-is-that-paki-drama-where-the-pretty-girls-in-a-kothi-are-getting-past-acceptable-rishta-age-and-each-having-an-affair-with-haveli’s-servant? So the aunties said a lot of things…like:
“madz’ mom, you have sky high demands. No one gets everything they want. You should lower your expectations and get your daughters married now, otherwise, they will suffer and then their loss will hurt you. It’s best to get girls married early … ideal age is 22-24…girls don’t need to be SO educated…like McBestie aunty’s daughters who are already either engaged/baat pakki/married with a kid…(all of them are younger than me, though none of them graduated college/uni).
Listen, after 30, no one is going to come. Your daughters are getting old. If you don’t hurry up, tumhari betiyan ghaatay main rahengi. Yaad rakhna meri baat.”

So at first my mom tried defending a little bit that no no, we don’t have sky high expectation. But education is important. Family should be good. Some attraction should be there. I don’t think that’s too much to ask? But they both weren’t letting mom get a word out. My mom tears up very easily. So before I knew it, I saw her leaving the dining room to go upstairs to the washroom to wash her face and ya Allah, itne mote mote tears.

What happened next was equally amusing to me. McPendo aunty refused to acknowledge that she made any direct or personal comments. She kept insisting to McBestie aunty that I was just talking in general and madz’ mom is overreacting.
McBestie aunty, even though at the time she tried to reconcile, the next day when my mom confronted her that she was more hurt by her comments because they used to be so close and mom really didn’t expect this from her. McBestie didn’t react well to that, and now she has been avoiding my mom. hmmm

I was telling mom to just ignore them. Some people can’t help it. But mom being overly sensitive always takes peoples’ taana-taraashi to heart and sulks for days. :frowning: Just now, she was crying in sajdaa, praying to God ke please meri betiyon ke naseeb ache karna, unhe koi khasaara na ho.

arghhhh Desi aunties = soooo much drama! I don’t know why people don’t let others just live… the whole thing reeks of jealousy and envy. Is it so hard to find sincere people in today’s world?

Re: Desi aunties and rishta-muqaabla-baazi

I just read this in the car coming home from my very exciting Walmart shopping trip, because that's the exciting stuff I do now.

So let me preface these remarks by saying I am the very girl that these aunties are warning your mother about. The single 30 year old (fine, 29 yr old for now), whose most remarkable part of the day is her Walmart shopping trip and the subsequent 3 tacos she buys despite warnings from her endocrinologist to avoid them because of their high salt content. I am willing to risk kidney stones with this salt load.

-Yes, it is VERY HARD being single and older, and you will OFTEN start blaming your career for your lack of family.
-It's REALLY HARD to watch people your age with kids when you get to my age. Not at your age. At my age.
-It's REALLY HARD to come home to an empty apartment from your dream job. Your dream job, something you may have fought your entire life to do - becomes like iron chains.

Having said that, you are not INDEBTED to their dipshyte sons/brothers for marriage. Or friendship. Or a second look even.

What makes me so PCG-ISH ANGRY is that our bakhwaas garbage pieces of dung aunties are the very ones responsible for the situation that girls like you and I are in. We are breeded to be pristine perfect - virgins, no boyfriends, no late nights out, can't go to the prom, must come home and do homework, must be the best kid in the class, must get a scholarship to college, must be top of your class, must get that wonderful career like being a doctor...or a doctor...or or wait.. a doctor.

That same pressure is NOT put on guys. Maybe some guys have had their parents on their LAZY arses, but most of the kids I've seen growing up, ended up much like your wan wan wan oh-so-awesome-rishta perspective, beer belly and all.

Just to put it in perspective, the BEST guy in our little bubble memon community where I grew up - similar to paindoo aunty but X 100 - the BEST guy was this dude who completed college (bachelors) in 6 years, and it took him a lot of time to even find a white collar job that was stable. It's very sad. And I like that kid too, dil ka acha hai, but that was the BEST our community could come up with.

That's about 100 families that produced no progeny that would be worthy of your hand. None. What a waste.

And because there are so many of these dipshytes in the community and there are so many of girls like us in surplus, we're expected to be GRATEFUL to get these kinds of proposals.

Listen. Put yourself on shaadi dot com. Eventually, some hero will message you. Took me a God damn 4 years of being on that site, but finally someone worthy has contacted me.

And network - go to those CAMP meetings, and muslim professional networks, and make as many friends in your schooling as you can - you never know who knows who.

Just sayin. There are other options. A few of my friends have gotten tired of this desi rishta scene, and they married white guys who were educated and can string a sentence together, and they've got some source of stable income that does not involve flipping a burger, or stuffing someone's subway sandwich with lettuce.

If you want to educate yourself and get a career and be able to stand on your own two feet, then DO IT. Keep in mind the hurdles you will face. But don't cheat yourself of the opportunity. Don't let the beqaar elements in our community who COULD NOT MAKE IT DRAG YOU DOWN.

And you tell your mom, keep praying, and you keep working hard. When the time is right, and you're done with your education and settled in your career and you still can't find a chokra, you come to me, PCG aunty will help you out.

On the other hand I think about some of the weird crazy stories of married women I’ve heard along the way, like married women who scam men online, and such, and I think…married life can be just as miserable. :k:

Be happy. Do not marry the man with the tub belly, having sex with that must be painful.

Remember to not turn into one of your aunty types when you grow old ( becoming an aunty yourself).

It's bad that they made your mum cry in a such a way, and bad that they didn't apologise....

BUT

if both those aunties have found rishta's for their respective relatives - brother and I'm assuming McPendo's nephew is engaged? - then it indicates they're happy with that jorr, they think their brother/nephew has found his true life partner, and ultimately they have moved on. It can be awkward when you meet an ex-rishta proposal, or their family, but once you are married you think c'est la vie, that rishta was not right for me and I wish him well in his life, just like I am happy with my life.

What I'm trying to say is that McBestie has clearly moved on from the whole I-want-your-daughter-for-my-brother thing, so there shouldn't be any malice or chalaak-ness in what she's saying. Maybe, just maybe, she meant what she said as GENUINE advice to your mum???? She maybe could have said it more delicately...

Good riddance. No need to put up with such people. I can understand why people try so hard to maintain a civil relationship with relatives but there's no need to do that with random aunties.

Aww bless! Mothers are always like that, really sensitive when it comes to their bachas so don't worry. Just talk to her, she'll feel better.

^ What she said

Well, actually, it's a little complicated, but I don't want to disclose any of that. McBestie has not moved on yet but I really hope for my mom's sake that she does, once she sees her brother happily married inshallah. He is in Pakistan. Not here. I have never met him and there is no history. So it shouldn't be awkward.

It's sad that the awkwardness you'd have is not with the boy but with his aunty.

LOL you know what, I am quite opinionated myself, but I'm not rude and insensitive. I don't offer free advice with the intention to embarrass someone at a party in front of a room full of people.

This aunty is getting her daughters nikahfied in Pakistan while her girls are still in high school or college. Rationale being it takes 3+ years for sponsorship so by the age of 20/21 they will do rukhsati and the hell with graduation and a degree. Why do girls need that anyway?!
My family doesn't agree with this aunty's approach because in my family, a lot of importance is given to education. But still, my mom has NEVER tried imposing our opinion on others.

It's one thing to politely make your point that hey, there is a shortage of good rishtas these days so maybe re-evaluate your criteria and let go of the not-so-important factors. It's another thing to compare me and my sister with some drama characters where these supposedly beautiful, highly educated, aged girls are stooping so low that they are having secret affairs with the servants.
She not only called us "aged" but also implied that we might resort to wrongful methods of fulfilling our needs.

ps: I found out the drama name ... it's called Milke bhi hum na mil sake.

You read on your phone while driving? I'm concerned for your safety, PCG.

hehe thanks for the offer, PCG. I'm done with my studies and Alhamdulillah settled in my career and STILL can't find a decent chokra. :D
By the way, I'm not that much younger than you. I am 26.

But mashallah se, you are a doctor. Isn't the most remarkable part of your day serving humanity?

Sorry PCG, but I don't agree.
-I don't blame my career for me being single. If anything, I blame myself for being unapproachable and too conservative in the past. Career has nothing to do with it, in my case.
-LOL you sound like my best friend who is always pointing fingers at the early 20-somethings carrying 1-2 babies. Yaar, PCG, it's not a rat race. Stop competing with the other girls. Har kisi ko apni qismat se milta hai. If someone is meant to be with someone else, you can't steal that person away from her. Likewise, no other girl can steal from you what is meant to be yours. :)
-Agree. Loneliness can lead to depression. When do you finish residency and can go home to your family?

hehe, come here PCG {hugs}
I am not sorry that I missed out on prom or clubbing or sleepovers. I am proud of the way I turned out. Allah ka shukar hai. You should be proud too. =) My sister is a doctor btw. I am not.

Totally agree! Same sad situation in my community. Girls are a lot more educated than guys. But education is one thing. Guys are lacking in other factors too. I can accept a college grad as long as he has a decent job. But then I find out he has pulled some very questionable crap in the past and I think to myself, wow really? You really are not the smartest cookie in the jar, eh.

So, are you memon? Maybe I can help? I know some memon guys :)

Whoa, no thanks. Not my cup of tea.

Care to share? :)

I go to young muslim professional network events sometimes...once a month.
psa in uni? hmm I'm done uni.
local masjid? ... maybe it's just me but I have this idea that people who go through the mosque's matrimonial services are probably extremely religious and would want hijabi girls.

What else you got?

Auntie : McBestie
Know Facts:
-Friendship goes back many years
-Googley eyes for madz her youngest brother

*Auntie : McPendo *
Known Facts
-Studied Up to 8th Grade
-Typical gaon ki Laraaka Aurat
-Loves Gossip
-Previous History - Cheap Trick

8th grade is no education. Means she hardly knows to read Urdu. Thought does not mean she has read anything... So all her experience is acquired through years of gossip.

Though she practices what she was preaching. Got her daughters married off early.

So considering all of the above summarized facts what advise did you expect from them?

You could choose to look at it as :
One of the biggest concern most Desi Moms have is to get their kids married off, genuine or artificial they were concerned about the fact that you their friend's daughters were not married and hence with their limited knowledge the tried to give the solution they could best come up with. So it should be taken as a way of expressing concern and just trying to be provide sympathetic solution with without being empathetic.

Disagree with you, bro (assuming you’re a guy).
McPendo aunty doesn’t have any kids.
McBestie aunty is the one with the kids. And as is common in desi families, she sees me and my sis as competition for her daughters, which is silly. So the jealousy issue has been there from the start. Her oldest daughter used to be one of my closest friends but ever since we refused the rishta, I feel all the daughters have sort of taken two steps back. There is more to the story but I really don’t want to discuss anything more.
The only thing I will say is, McBestie knows clearly well that my mom hates McPendo’s guts. So if she really wanted to give us any sincere advice, she should have done it in private…and without any comparisons with some immoral drama characters…and without putting it as ‘oh your daughters are going to lose out, just watch.’ Almost sounds like a bad dua.

In any case, it’s none of their business. Just like we don’t preach to them to at least let her daughters finish undergrad.

see......its all women's fault that other women suffer.........

OK.
You got it all figured out. :)