Description of gates of Jannah...in detail?

Salam Alaikum everyone,

Most of you are aware, from hadiths, that Jannah has 8 Gates. Each being designated for a specific group depending on their devotion. The names of the gates, in themselves also give indication of the people that may enter them.

The question I have is, and It’s just out of curiosity; is there a detailed explanation provided regarding the gates anywhere. A broad search did not yield many results.

For instance, Ar-Rayyan (For those who fasted abundantly). Why this gate versus any other gate? Do each of these gates have special provisions attached to them that would make us want to excel in any particular dedication in the deen.

Don’t all the gates lead to the source anyways? Or are these gates level-based?

I realize this information may hold no benefit whatsoever for the purpose of our aim which should be to do deeds of Jannah. It’s just more of a curiosity thing, and I’ll be content if there is no other detail available about it. What Allah knows is incalculable in comparison to the drop of knowledge we have been given to motivate us.

JazakAllah for any contribution on this topic. May Allah (swt) make us of those who are called from all the gates, inshaAllah. Ameen

Re: Description of gates of Jannah…in detail?

:wsalam: & Peace teggy,

Very interesting topic and definitely needs more study. As per my little knowledge there is a hadith in which it is narrated that the last person who enter the heaven will be taken out from the hell and granted 10 time more in heaven comparing to this world. I’m not sure but I think there will be different stages in heaven and some peoples will looks towards those who are at higher stage comparing to them, will ask what were their deeds and they’ll be told that they did so and so. They wish they could be returned back on the earth so that they’ll do continuesly the same deeds so that they may also be granted same higher stage.

A long time ago I read info about in a book “Mout ka Manzar, Marny ke baad kiya hoga”, but unfortunately, someone taken this book from me and didn’t returned. That all what I can remember right now.

As soon I’ll find more info, :insh: I’ll share.

Re: Description of gates of Jannah…in detail?

Peace teggy,

Just wanted to add as per my little knowledge there are seven gates of hell and also seven gates of heavens. Not sure if heaven’s gates are eight. Moreover, as per a hadith narrated in Sahih Bukhari, the following description given who will enter from which gates, is as follow:

• Those who gives things or property in charity will be called from the gate of prosperity.
  • Those who offer their prayers will be called from the gate of the prayer.
  • Those who used to participate in jihad will be called from the gate of jihad.
  • Those who used to observe fasts will be called from the gate of Ar-Raiyan.
  • Those who used to give charity will be called from the gate of charity.

In another hadith, when our Prophet Muhammad :saw2: intercede (intercession) accepted, Almighty Allah will say to our Prophet Muhammad :saw2: “Let those of your followers who have no accounts, enter through such a gate of the gates of Paradise as lies on the right; and they will share the other gates with the people”.

I think every gate has it own portion designated. Those whom intercession will be accepted may be merged with the peoples of above description (based on their good deeds) and entered in heaven. However, the bounty will be differ from the actual.

*[Kindly note: All above views are my own understanding and there are chances of errors but what mentioned is hadith is absolutely out of any errors - Almighty Allah Knows best] *

Re: Description of gates of Jannah...in detail?

It may be seven. I think I'm mistaken to say 8.

If you find anymore information on it, please share it whenever possible. JazakAllah for sharing whatever you found thus far.