~~~~~~~~Depression, and its Cure.~~~~~~~~

Assalamalikum,

Seeing so many muslims in distress I’ll take the opportunity to talk to you. Take this thread as a one on one talk whoever reading it think that I’m directly talking to you.

Please know I’m not a scholar in Islam, I’am not here to lecture you, I’m only advising you on something, because I know all of you are muslims, and it is only this love i have for you through our deen that is worrying me. It’s eating me inside to see muslims in so much depression and sorrow, I can talk on this because I myself have experienced depression alot in my life from the smallest to the biggest - over things unecessary to me..although at the time they seem like they are.

I may not know you, but you being my brother/sister in islam is enough. Even if you are some online screen name to me.

This isn’t specifically for someone special, or a select few, but for everyone (who take the time to read it.) I’m sharing with you only what I know. I’m not a maulvi, and don’t consider myself as anything important. But I am advising you, as a brother - as a friend.

I hope this helps you, its a long read,** I typed out the whole thing, so please **if you can, take the time to read it.

Re: Depression, and its Cure.

:flower1: Depression is not a good thing. All human beings have an innate thing inside of us that allows us to get depressed - sometimes easily. Sometimes people get suicidial thoughts, they end up listening to sad songs, develop hatred and anger, they might even do things that they’ll regret later on!

This is why I want to talk to all of you, on why its wrong to be depressed.
I’ve been through it, and i’ve alhumdulillah walked out of it. To see some of it, just look back in GS history, search me, ask old guppies. I’ve opened numerous threads lol :stuck_out_tongue: on being depressed. But don’t worry there is a cure. :rotfl:

and for my discussion i’ll use ISLAM cuz thats what we have and are given
Depression is not condemned in Islam. Islam doesn’t want us to be superhuman, it only wants us to get out of this state of depression as soon as possible.

One important thing you must remember is that, All humans are created by Allah Almighty to be tested and tried. This trial is conducted through circumstances we are put in. When we are put through good trials, we thank Allah. When we go through bad trials - most of us just end up giving up..they want to usually commit suicide or cry.
However, the only cure in this type of state is if you show **PATIENCE and PERSEVERANCE. **followed by ***Gratitude. ***

Circumstances come in a person’s life when he cannot be given total happiness..or misery. That would make the trial profoundly difficult.

Allah only tests us.

• If its your love life - there is a test in it.
  • If its work - there is test in it.
  • If its at home or family members - theres a test in it.
  • If its Academically - theres a test in it.
  • If its from friends or some outside stranger - there is a test in it.
  • from your enemies specially sheytaan - there is a test in it
  • from opposite sex, and sexual desires - theres a test in it.

This life is a test, to be depressed or sad and do something wrong will get us no where. Crying won’t help either.

In the Quran Allah tells us that he is testing us. ***You do trust Allah my fellow guppies, don’t you? IF theres someone you can trust..I hope you know its Allah. ***

Allah says to you in the Qur’an He tests us for the following reasons:

1. to punish us for our own misdoings (42:30),
  2. to shield us from greater misery (18:74, 18:79),
  3. to sift out the evil within us (3:179),
  4. to give us the opportunity to earn reward by showing patience (3:142, 76:12).

So what is the cure then? STUPID CRESCENT

To try to explain to you how depression can be handled, I will focus on that 4th point. Which has the cure in it.

It is: **PATIENCE **

**DEFINITION: **Sabr is the arabic form of Patience (also urdu). It comes from the root meaning to detain, refrain and stop.

To what I’m trying to say is basically that SABR (meaning patience) is to just stopyour self from despairing, and panicking. To stop your tongues from complaining, and to stop our hands from striking our faces and tearing our clothes at time of grief and stress.

BUT CRESCENT_ YOU IDIOT, enough with the definition, I think I know what sabr is, its all that thing I didn’t have when fasting and when meeting that new girl at school :rotfl:

Ok ok, so how do you achieve patience?

These 6 ways:

1. Thinking of the good reward that lies ahead. the more you believe in the rewards that are waiting for you, the easier it becomes to have patience. Human nature loves gratification, but **reason and maturity make us think of the long term outcome, **which helps to strengthen our patience in enduring whatever faces us, whether there is no choice or otherwise.

2. Expecting and hoping for a time of ease.

3. **thinking of Allah’s countless blessings. **(something we fail to do).
    When we realize that we cannot enumerate the blessings of Allah, it becomes easier for us to exercise patience in facing the current adversity, because the present troubles are like raindrop compared to the vast ocean of Allah’s blessing and favours;

4. thinking of previous blessings of Allah. This will remind us of Allah’s care and strengthen our hopes and expectations of a time of ease to come.

5. **Knowledge! **The element of knowledge is important to realize Allah’s commands and the sense of happiness and fulfilment that one may attain by foillowing them.

6. **Action! I’ll add my favourite quote here: **Willing is not enough, we must do. Knowing is not enough, we must apply!!!

If you still aren’t convinced of the cure, then **HEAR AND READ **what your GOD has to say to you about it.

**DO YOU HONESTLY THINK HE DOESN"T CARE OR KNOW THAT WE GO THROUGH HARD AND DEPRESSING TIME??? **

**THINK ABOUT IT FOR A SEC. HE KNOWS EVERYTHING. **

In the Quran he says:

1. And be patient for your patience is but by Allah (an-Nahl 16:127)

2. Twice will be they be given their reward for that they have persevered (al-Qasas 28: 54)

3. Those who patiently perserve will truly receive a reward without measure. (az-Zumar 39:10)

4. seek (Allah’s) help with patient and perseverance and prayer (al-Baqarah 2:45)

5. Yea-if you remain firm, and act aright, even **if the enemy should rush here on you in hot haste, you lord would help you with five thousand angels making a terrific onslaught **(Al 'Imran 3:120)

ofcourse there are NUMEROUS ayahs on patience, I can’t list them all…im sure most of you are bored as it is by now. IF You have been reading.

Also in the Hadiths patience has been emphasized:

Aisha (ra) via 'Urwah and az=Zuhri: "The prophet (saas) said: 'No affliction befalls a muslim but Allah forgives his wrong actions beacuse of it, even if it be no more than a thorn. " (al-Bukhari and Muslim)

I could relate more, but I don’t want to bore you , and you can always PM me for more.

I hope you guys understand that depression and being sad is nothing compared to the bounties Allah has given to us.

Sometimes we do feel depressed, its ok yaar, its human nature.
But learn to come out of it.

After reading all this, you should be able to come out of it.

Remember that your Prophet pbuh went through GREAT depression in his life time.

Do you think **YOur breakup, or your layoff, or your bad exam **can compare to his LIFE?

Think about how he was so patient, for 23 years !

I’ll finish this off, by quoting the beloved Prophet pbuh:
“who ever so wishes to be the strongest amongst men, let him put his complete trust in Allah.”

I hope this helps you, May Allah guide us all and allow us to stay on the right path.

Sincerely concerned,

Your friend and brother,
Crescent

Aww Mashalla excellent work keep it up Cressi :hug:
May Allah bless u with the success of both worlds AMEEN (btw kam threads kholo soon im gonna run outta dua lines lol j/k)

Han uv helped me…

-[umair]- says:
pagal ho tum ek dum

says:
kiyun ab kya kaha??

says:
ammi bhi yehi kehti hein

says:
:crying:

-[umair]- says:
hehe

-[umair]- says:
aww

-[umair]- says:
be patient

Re: ~~~~~~~~Depression, and its Cure.~~~~~~~~

Bhoot sawar hogya Psychiatris banne ka!
Pehle khud dimagh theek karwao... Contact Ur Angel bohat achi Doc. hei ;) fees bhie nahi leti :p Free ilaaj

Awwwww thanks for writign this!! I'll keep the link in my journal, so whenever I feel down I can come back to this thread :)

to be honest > you made me more depressed after reading this one!

^ tell me why.

you are doing a good work, so don´t feel handicapped by me...keep on...I have a different story...

Bhai jaan, I’ve noticed you’ve been a bit too honest lately. :expressionless:

What I had to say I said. I think there is nothing to discuss about anymore!

^Yes, besides the topic-at-hand, ofcourse.

Crescent - a powerful and informative post. MashaAllah. :)

you know phatima, once you were complaining about your family who behaved like blablaba...I liked it, cause this is what family is! You should feel yourself very good, because Allah T´Allah gave you a hastee, kelhtee family...

I don´t have it. I work 8-9 hours every day. I am 20 and we live seperated from my father. When this is a test, what kind of test is this? don´t come up now with the victims of the earthquakes in Pakistan. The parents may have no childrens and the childrens no parents, but I have both of them. Still I can´t enjoy boths presence...

with what will I get rewarded when I enter the paradise? do you think our souls will easily forget what happened with us in this life? Honestly, sometimes I wish that I shall die so my parents can come together once again. My father will have some isaas that my eldest son has gone. I have given her enough pain, so I should live as it should be. Caring for a family...

just leave it, I am done...I can´t write anymore...The pain is too much...

Gosh I'm really sorry :(

:teary1:

i know it’s hard but as cressi explained theree are ways…out of depression buddy :hug:
may Allah help you

There is a way > take a gun and give yourself a headshot!

But suicide is against the law! :( The cops will lock you up if you commit suicide!

No, really. It's haraam, too. A sure way to end up in Hell fire :\

Give me the hell-fire. I deserve it!

Listen pal I think you’re a bit heated up right now. Maybe sitting on the internet wouldn’t be the best way to cool down. I suggest you go out for a walk and get some fresh air. :hug:

…The pain and agony suffered in Hell Fire is that beyond the ability of humans to even comprehend; so I suggest you think before you speak. You will regret this on the Day of Judgement, I can assure you.

no, my dear friend don’t say so…you can better yourself you can ask for forgiveness, you can find a way out!:slight_smile:

ps, phati it is 00.13 AM, not the best time to go out and take fresh air:(