Depressed :(

AOA
my problem is that I want to fast this ramzan but my husband and my inlaws won’t let me because i am pregnant. I have never ever been on skipping fasts. As for my health and baby’s we are alhumdolilah perfectly normal. I dont even feel morning sickness like most of the pregnant ladies. please suggest me how do I convince my husband and family to let me fast. I terribly wish to fast because this will have a good impact on my baby in a way that he/she will be patient and spiritual, well this is only what I believe. Any suggestions or help shall be appreciated.
thanks

Re: Depressed :frowning:

Some very useful information here:

Re: Depressed :(

**i think NO one has the right to stop another person from fasting....it's a religious obligation. if someone has health pregnancy related issues, then ONLY a doctor can advise if keeping fast will be detrimental to the well-being of the mother and/or the unborn child. if he advises to skip fast then yes. you have to feed a poor/needy person for the days you will miss out roza. an Imam/aalim can give more precise advise in light of Qur'aan N sunna.

obeying parents/husbands in deeni issues is NOT required. you as a Muslim are supposed to follow Allah's order rather than some human unless that human is a doctor or an aalim-e-deen.**

Yaqeen karne wali bat nahi par hum ne suna hay keh agar hubby Kahe ke rozza Na rakho to wife ko rozza nahi rakhna chahiay. Q ke agar woh rake bhi to OSS ka rozza nahi hota.

Source: Sunni sunai baat

I want to be more spiritual this ramadhan...but the sehri iftari and looking after hubby and kids just seems to be too much....

can I put my need (wish) before my family,I would love to sit in itakaq for the last ten days too, any guidance?

Re: Depressed :frowning:

Peace Ashdame,

Those who are exempted from fasting:

1- The ill person and the traveler.
2- Menstruating women and women having the post child birth bleeding.
3- The pregnant women and the breast feeding women if they fear for child.
4- The eldery and the infirm.

**Book ‘Wedlock, Marriage (Nikaah)’ of Sahih Bukhari hadith No 120.
Narrated Abu Huraira: The Prophet :saw2: said, “A woman should not fast (optional fasts) except with her husband’s permission if he is at home (staying with her).”

**Book ‘Fasting (Kitab Al-Siyam)’ of Sunan Abu-Dawud hadith No. 2453.
Narrated AbuSa’id al-Khudri: A woman came to the Prophet :saw2: while we were with him. She said: Apostle of Allah :saw2: , my husband, Safwan ibn al-Mu’attal, beats me when I pray, and makes me break my fast when I keep a fast, and he does not offer the dawn prayer until the sun rises. He asked Safwan, who was present, about what she had said. He replied: Apostle of Allah :saw2: , as for her statement “he beats me when I pray”, she recites two surahs (during prayer) and I have prohibited her (to do so). He (the Prophet :saw2: ) said: If one surah is recited (during prayer), that is sufficient for the people. (Safwan continued:) As regards her saying “he makes me break my fast,” she dotes on fasting; I am a young man, I cannot restrain myself. The Apostle of Allah :saw2: said on that day: A woman should not fast except with the permission of her husband. (Safwan said:) As for her statement that I do not pray until the sun rises, we are a people belonging to a class, and that (our profession of supplying water) is already known about us. We do not awake until the sun rises. He said: When you awake, offer your prayer.

Hadith - Al-Tirmidhi 3272, narrated Abu Hurayrah

When Allah’s Messenger :saw2: was asked which woman was best he replied, “The one who pleases (her husband) when he looks at her, obeys him when he gives a command, and does not go against his wishes regarding her person or property by doing anything of which he disapproves.” [Nasa’i and Bayhaqi, in Shu’ab al-Iman transmitted it.]

Book ‘Fasting (Kitab Al-Siyam)’ of Sunan Abu-Dawud hadith No. 2402

Narrated Anas ibn Malik: A man from Banu Abdullah ibn Ka’b brethren of Banu Qushayr (not Anas ibn Malik, the well-known Companion), said: A contingent from the cavalry of the Apostle of Allah :saw2: raided us. I reached (for he said went) to the Apostle of Allah :saw2: who was taking his meals. He said: Sit down, and take some from this meal of ours. I said: I am fasting, he said: Sit down, I shall tell you about prayer and fasting. Allah has remitted half the prayer to a traveller, and fasting to the traveller, the woman who is suckling an infant and the woman who is pregnant, I swear by Allah, he mentioned both (i.e. suckling and pregnant women) or one of them. I was grieved for not taking the food of the Apostle of Allah :saw2:.

Yeh suni sunaee baat Nafli rozo ke liye hai Farz rozo ke liye nahi :)

Peace,

Yeh Nafli or Farz rozon k liyeh hay. Check first and second hadith.

thanks everyone for reading my post and replying jazakAllah. thanks lethal kamikaze your references were very helpful and made my heart more contended now:) I have decided not to fast this Ramzan and make up for my fasts after my baby is born. Ramzan mubarik to all of you and remember me in your prayers.

aside from the categories given of who is exempt from fasting, my understanding is that anyone who will have a possible significant negative impact due to fasting could not fast either, e.g. if you are a construction worker, working outdoors in this 100 plus heat and could get seriously sick due to heatstroke, putting your health, income and your family's wellbeing in danger, you can skip and instead feed the needy. no need to do zulm on yourself.