Delhi By Heart

Pigeon hole:Beautifully framed open ceiling,Tomb of Iltutmish (1235),founder of th Delhi Sultanate

Re: Delhi By Heart

Safdarjung’s beautiful tomb

chalo Delhi walo.. shabash.. jaldi se pics post karo Delhi ki :hbk:

Delhi to Karachi… is NOT on the forum now :wink: or someone else might post some on her behalf! :smiley:

HumayuN’s Tomb:

^^^ this is near Nizamuddin Dargah, this is the place where his great great grandson were killed after the mutiny of 1857

I always liked Humayun’s tomb.

Never saw Safdarjung’s before and I LOVE the building. It is so beautiful. :lajawab:

Why did D2K leave ?

Safdar Jung's tomb is beautiful...

Delhi to Lahore not Karachi :hehe:

Best tomb that they made was of Agra, Tajmahal.
Mughals are dead but kamai abhi bhi chaluu hai :)

What are the other historical buildings in Delhi? Has the area of mehauli now part of Delhi city?

What was that idiom stating limited power of Bahadur Shah...? delhi se paalam, Shah Aalam... Something like that.

Qutub Minar: [The Leaning Tower of Delhi]

There is this book by Sadia Dehlvi on saints of India, where she has covered many mazars of Delhi. What are the famous mazars of Delhi other than Nizam u din Aulya (RA)?

Jam’a Masjid, Old Delhi:

old Delhi? BTW in lahore they refer old city as ‘Androon e Shehr’, how do they refer old Delhi in Urdu / Hindi?

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/571876-dehil-1372857899-602-640x480.JPG

Laal Qila of Delhi

Any guesses about this building?

https://s3-ap-southeast-1.amazonaws.com/poshvine-production/images/images/000/001/410/big/turkish3.JPG?1369477868

https://s3-ap-southeast-1.amazonaws.com/poshvine-production/images/images/000/001/408/big/turkish1.jpg?1369477863

https://s3-ap-southeast-1.amazonaws.com/poshvine-production/images/images/000/001/411/big/turkish4.jpg?1369477871

https://s3-ap-southeast-1.amazonaws.com/poshvine-production/images/images/000/001/409/big/turkish2.jpg?1369477866

I always think of this masjid as the less pretty sister of the Shahi masjid in Lahore. :smiley:

BTW, KKF, I am waiting for an answer to a question in the Ideas thread in the Business/Career section.

Is there a Jama Muhalla behind this Masjid of Delhi like we got a Shahi muhalla behind Shahi Masjid of Lahore?