Defining Taqwah....

Assalam o Alaikum

Allah subhanwaataalah Has ordered muslims to acquire taqah to be eligible for HIS rehmat…

So what is TAqwah…

I would like to have
1–some specific definations/understanding of taqwah
2–how can we acieve it…
3-How some one gets the feeling that he is going towards right path..

P.S…please No long copy pastes…whatever u post should be short and specific…

:jazak:

taqwa = fear of Allah
how u can achieve it = by doing jihad against ur nafs

i dint get ur 3rd q....

*Originally posted by armughal: *

how u can achieve it = by doing jihad against ur nafs

How can you fight against your nafs....Buddhist also fight aginst thier nafs... do they get taqwah- (non muslims can get to the state of taqwah ?)

i dint get ur 3rd q....

Arm bhai ....your are fighting your nafs....like you r travelling towards say peshawar from karachi, on train ....how would you recognise that you are going in right directions..ofcourse through mile stone....so what are the mile stones that one achive / pass through that gives an indication that one is going in right direction.....

interesting questions...!

perhaps, during the journey we see different signs like the ones we see on the road from peshawar to karachi...

those signs could be anything, but interesting to know would be, how do we know what the signs are?

Assalam O Alaikum

In regard to Bhuddist's restraining from nufs, it does not provide any thing in here after because lack of believing in Allah and His messenger Prophet Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi wasallum. All good actions of non believers are just like dust you see in the light and you can not hold those dust particles in your hand, so Allah provide all good things in this world but nothing in here after for non believers and Mushriks.

There are lots of other things beside going against nafs such as Insaf, Haq, telling the truth, not taking somebody rights, or properties, reminding waiters in restaurants if he or she forgot something you ate but does not show up on the check. Eating Halal foods only, these are the acts of Taqwa.

Somebody can add more if I miss them.

*Originally posted by bao bihari: *

How can you fight against your nafs....Buddhist also fight aginst thier nafs... do they get taqwah- (non muslims can get to the state of taqwah ?)

Buddhist philosophy is a bit extreme.... they dont enjoy anything. They give up all luxuries of life, and just take the very basic things in life that are absolutely essential to live. Islam allows you to enjoy what is Halal. You are allowed to have warm meal when you are hungry. You are allowed to get married or seek wealth while being moral. In short, anything that is Halal, there is nothing that stops you from enjoying it, as long as you do not infringe on others' rights. Buddhist way is to give up everything that is not absolutely essential survival. That is not the purpose of our creation.

Re: Defining Taqwah…

Taqwa is the fear of Allah. In our hearts, there should always be remembrance of Allah. Before we do anything, or when we have thoughts or feelings, we should stop and ask ourselves what would our Lord want us to do? If we remember Allah at that time and submit to His command and wisdom, then we have taqwa.

Taqwa can be achieved through prayers alone (dua). Unless it is His will, our efforts will be fruitless. If your prayer is accepted, inshallah, you will find your actions will start changing. The way you think and deal with other people will be different and you will slowly start acquiring all the noble attributes.

You can use many different scales to check if you are on the right path. When the worldly affairs (dunya) start taking preference to your moral or religious duties (deen), you are on the wrong track. When you catch your self lying, cheating for temporary worldly gains or angry, yelling etc. you should definitely get back to prayers and correct yourself. While walking along the right path, it is possible that you will tumble many times, that is where you will have to find the courage for Jihad.

Re: Re: Defining Taqwah....

*Originally posted by trooper: *

Taqwa is the fear of Allah. In our hearts, there should always be remembrance of Allah. Before we do anything, or when we have thoughts or feelings, we should stop and ask ourselves what would our Lord want us to do? If we remember Allah at that time and submit to His command and wisdom, then we have taqwa.

Taqwa can be achieved through prayers alone (dua). Unless it is His will, our efforts will be fruitless. If your prayer is accepted, inshallah, you will find your actions will start changing. The way you think and deal with other people will be different and you will slowly start acquiring all the noble attributes.

You can use many different scales to check if you are on the right path. When the worldly affairs (dunya) start taking preference to your moral or religious duties (deen), you are on the wrong track. When you catch your self lying, cheating for temporary worldly gains or angry, yelling etc. .

ok...now we have agreed that TAQWAH means ---Fear of ALLAH subhanwataalah ( ALLAH kay hukmu kay mutabiq zindagi guzarni hay)

But how to achive this state of taqwah?
as brothers trooper/rasheed ahmed rightly siad that by fulfilling ALLAH's ahkams we can achieve taqwah.....but how can we go aginst our nafs, it is very difficult ( or is it) to go aginst our will.....* jo humara dil chah raha hay wo na karain ALLAh ka hukum daikhain *

answer i think is here -as trooper rightly said ..

you should definitely get back to prayers and correct yourself. While walking along the right path, it is possible that you will tumble many times, that is where you will have to find the courage for Jihad