Define TAIZ...

Re: Define TAIZ…

actually taiz can have either a good or bad meaning.

a good meaning can be.. “sharing” your recipes :hehe:

Re: Define TAIZ...

It means cunning, clever, chalak.

Kaise pata? :slight_smile:

Awwww…nomi! You are sweet.

I think Im a bit too honest though sometimes. One of my aunts says that jo tumhare dil mein ata hai moon pe kehdeti ho. Saaf dili achi baat hai lekin ek hadd tak. Now, I try very hard to curb the habit and just smile, nod and keep walking. I guess people are not used to saaf dili anymore…everyone is too busy trying to get ahead of the next person in every aspect of life: education, job, salary, career, marriage, kids, house, car, etc.

Hahahaha…me neither…I is betta at spoons then forks.

Icono…aap bhi basss! :smack:

I know!!! In which case, you and I qualify as taiz my dear.

Which reminds me: the other day, I was at this davat and I had damm ka qeema…I LOVEEEE damm ka qeema. Asked aunti for the recipe and sure enough…“bilkul beta zaroor bataungi kisi din” I was waiting for the recipe right then and there! :frowning:

Cunning, clever and chalak are things I will never be.

Here is what happened:

I was at a davat and during dinner I sat with two aunties, just because I hadnt seen them in a while so I thought I would catch up.

There were some personal issues going on in my life they knew about. One of them felt the need to bring them up and said “beta, you are too taiz…insaan to apne aap ko thora naram karna parta hai”. As far as I know…Im pretty naram. The other aunti felt a little peeved at aunti #1 and said “aisi koi baat nahin hai, humari beti taiz nahin…saaf dil hai”. After this exchange they proceeded to argue whether I was taiz or not. It seemed like aunti #2 was winning the battle.

Talk about awkward. :frowning:

For some reason, these weird old Aunts like to tell us young girls how we should carry ourselves. It pisses me off. It’s almost like they earned their right to complain about any woman that’s younger than them. I say don’t bother with them. The only woman I would ever want any advise from would be my mother.

for me 'taiz' would be someone who doesnt care about what everyone else thinks/feels so they just speak out whether it hurts anyones feling or not , ignorant perhaps..

My husband often says to me that I'm very taiz....It sounds very negative..but it isn't....taiz means (according to my husband) having an eye on everything....knowing everything.....

I definitely see it as a negative trait, basically with 'taiz' people what you see is what you don't get, there is always an underlying condescending and manipulative tone to whatever they say.

most people here are confusing that with having a sharp tongue, basically someone lacking in diplomacy skills and comes across as being too arugmentative and rude. two very different things.

Taiz can be taken in negative way and positive way depends how and what context it is said.

Positively it can be said to mean sharp, intelligent, quick thinker and no-nonsense person.

Mostly people say it in negative sense though.

It is 'opposite of' easy going, naive, simple minded, laid back, goofy and even stupid.

I agree.

Ok in this case Taiz means short temper or if i follow your description about yourself (also 2nd aunti 2 saying) that means too blunt and undiplomatic.

Actually both are not really good one.

to me taiz is definitely negative.. in most cases.. although it can b taken in a positive way too say the person knows how handle people and all. ppl always say i m naive and masoom and all cus i never lived in pak, ive lived in ME all my life and m not aware of the hypocrises and politics of pak so i m blunt and most of the times i say things which i shudnt b sayin which shows i m a bit masoom and DUMB!!!!! i hate it when my IL's are always sayin yeh bht masoom hia... 2 ppl actually asked my hubs (his khalas) ke isko kahan se laaye ho!!!!! i dun understand things and respond as fast as the gurls over there do. plus the jokes they say in pak are sooooooooooo damn indirect and i so direct in nature i say wot and as it is so my jokes are also v understandable but over there no its v subtle, indirect and it only hits u after mins or hours when ure alone or when u ask ur hubs wot they actually meant. most of them sugar coat their dialogues when infact they are tryin to say somethin totally different (or maybe negative in most cases!). thaz my story... in a way i m happy i m not taiz but i get a major low self esteem when i dun understand things. i guess its always better to be naive than taiz in sum cases and taiz in understandin atleast!

Really?

I hope not because I try to make a conscious effort to be diplomatic most of the time. :(

Yes!

When some is rude or short temper, the people call them Taiz mizaj (which is negative thing), but just to give a positive spin the that behavior it would called Saaf Dil (which also means someone shoot straight from mouth without thinking, but without malicious intention).

I can see that both aunties are actually agree on inappropriateness of your action, but auntie 2 is clearly on your side and trying to give a bit positive spin by saying it you are Saaf Dil.

Re: Define TAIZ…

mama: she is a taiz gal
Me: mama, its a good thing. banday ko bus baywakoof nahi hona cheyee hai.

ps. ppl call me taiz…i tell em right away that if you are baywakoof, tuu us mai meri kia ghalti hai :bummer:

Tipu ji,

I got the feeling that I was being labeled by auntie 1 as being very blunt and rude. I dont think I am like that though. Im not in denial, I asked my friends about it later on just to get a 2nd opinion (they WILL tell me when Im wrong, they always do).

By the way i was not saying that you were really rude, we are only discussing Taiz or Saaf Dil in context of the two aunties conversation.

Actually it is not that you were wrong or rude/ blunt, no matter what you could not stop peoples thinking what they want.

Usually peoples brought up outside Pakistan are generally more straight talker, as they are not exposed to family politics and double speak back home (even my children also will have same issue). This is the reason oldies called them rude/ and blunt.

I am sure my daughters also going to face same thing, it is not they are aggressive and rude, but they born and brought up in such away that voicing honest opinion is natural and right thing, but in our so called traditional culture they expect lady to be submissive and quietly except all kind of nonsense specially from In Laws.

^ it's not only the case with individuals who are born and brought up abroad. I tell you there is more 2 categories of people living here too. If you meet youngsters here from educational institutions like LUMS , SZABIST , CBM , NUST etc they too are very straight forward , direct & open minded. Whereas if you ever meet someone from Karachi University they are quite narrow minded plus have political approach towards everything. I know I will get many negative responses on being so judgemental but it's true atleast this is what I have experienced.

The crux is that it's the ambiance that one spends his/her time in matters. Many kids from narrow minded families when go to good educational institutions change their mind set many don't. It's a matter of how much someone is willing to change themselves.

Similarly, you will find someone working for private sector to be extremely different from one working for government sector. Open-mindedness is the major difference here too.

What can be rude or taiz for some may not eb for another. Its just that the other person doesn't have those skills to fabricate his/her statement or to sugar coat them. Since they are straight forward & clear they just say whatever is in their heart without being spiteful!

Taiz....

sharp...witty....quick to judge moods/situation and react accordingly....able to handle situations with ease....difficult to make a fool of....

In more negative sense
selfish (matlabi)....diplomatic and gamer....

I agree with you that that environment one spend time is matters, but we are not talking about young generation here.

Even people changes after such an elite and high quality education, and there is always possible that one has most compatible and open minded partner but, when come to his/her extended families we are still facing same mindset.

I am sure OP has pefectly compitable husband, who could understand and appricete her straight forward and honest talk. But when come to old generaltion they still living in the same world.

OP was commented by two aunties, one indirectly tried to called her Taiz (rude and snappy), and other (instead of outright defending her) tried to explain her as a Saaf Dil (straight and undiplomatic talker without any malicious intention) but in fact both are having same values.

Taiz in mostly is a bad thing to be honest. People use it to portray someone as chalak, too blunt. You shouldn't care about what aunty jis have to say. I am taiz and guess what I don't care what people say!