define please

salaam all

can someone please tell me what is a BCom in Pakistan…what is its equivalent here in the UK?

much appreciated!

Re: define please

Bachelors degree in Commerce

in Pak we have

BSc = bachelors in Science
BA = bachelors in Arts
BCom = bachelors in Commerce

In the UK if you finish your bachelor's degree in any commerce/business related subjects it would be equivalent to BCom of Pak.

hallelujah! finally someone replied! JazakAllah…:smiley:

waiyyaki ;)

What's A levels?

a levels are the next level up from GCSE/o levels, which you do at college for 2 years and them move onto a undergraduate degree!

belle

A levels is grade 13th
its the british system

in pakistan the equiv is Inter or FSc/FA

FSc kya hota hai? Father of Science? :hula:

^^ haha... Fellow of Science :)

btw dunno about UK but a BCom from Pakistan does not get you far if you apply to a University in North America... the maximum you'll get is some first year course credits for a program that's similar to the Pakistan BCom, i.e. a BCom or a BBA (Bachelor - Business Admin) program in a University here.

in the us u need four years of undergrad education in order to get entry into a master's program.. bcom is three years so many ppl do one year of mcom and show that in their transcripts

yep U.S. is a lil easier cuz they base a lot of decisions on standardized tests.
In Canada, an MCom from Pakistan is not even considered equivalent to a full Bachelors degree… the rule of thumb is 5 years of Post Seconday education from Pakistan (includes MA, MSc, MCom, BEng) = 3 years of work towards a Bachelors degree in Canada.

^^

Interesting. How do British degrees tie into that?

I have a 3 year BSc (Hons) from Imperial College, University of London. Would that be enough to get into a North American university for a masters?

does anybody have any idea what the equivalency in UK is…or could they find out for me pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease!