Defence Day: Sep 6th, 2008: Are you or your family member(s) in the Pak Armed Forces

As GS celebrates Pakistan’s National Defence today, we would like guppies/guppans to share stories of themselves or their family members who serve the Armed Forces of Pakistan.

:jhanda:

Long Live Pakistan
And may Allah protect our nation in years to come. Ameen.

Re: Defence Day: Sep 6th, 2008: Are you or your family member(s) in the Pak Armed For

The only personal interaction I have is when I appeared in front of the ISSB (Inter Service Selection Board) after my 10th grade because I wanted to join Air Force.

They called bunch of guys (who passed the preliminary exam) from whole Pakistan to Gujranwala. It was a 4 day affair and an amazing experience for me.

We were divided in group of eight I think and each day we went through different exercises on group and individual basis.

As a group, we had to plan an attack on the enemy with a scaled size 3d model of the battle field on the table in between us and we have to plan out our moves. We took part in ‘On Field’ tasks and a group discussion.

On individual basis, I had to go through a hurdle course (going through tires, crawling under barbed wires, climbing a wall, rope swing etc) and goal was o complete the course in under 2 minutes.

Than on last day, there was one on one interview, where their whole goal was to ask you such questions that would make you angry. Those questions involve your personal life and what not. I think that goal of interviewee is not to get angry.

Food of army mess was awesome. It was Ramadan but they expected us not to keep Roza and we did not :D.

They were eliminating people every day based on the performance. I survived all four days but was not selected because of that stupid 2% quota that they had for Karachi guys. There were two many of us there (Sindh Urban quota).

On the last day, they paid us stipend (435 rupees for me). That was the most happiest day for all of us. :D

Re: Defence Day: Sep 6th, 2008: Are you or your family member(s) in the Pak Armed For

Awww that’s cool! You made it through all the crawling :eek: Woh!

Cool TLK :D

I still wish I had joined the Army or the PAF. AT times there are regrets, at times I feel it was good I didn't. But the sight of the glorious uniform or the good deeds of the men who are ready for all sacrifices and challenges always inspires and sends a wave through my body reminding me that perhaps, it would have been great if I had been in uniform doing great deeds for the nation too.

Like TLK my only contact wiht the armed forces was when I applied to join the air force. I posted it in my blog sometime ago. here it is:

The year was 1965 and just after the war. I was based in Lahore at the time. Having just gone through a war I was all patriotic and wanted to join Pakistan Air Force. A few other friends were also keen so we all sent in our applications. Come the interview day we got to the PAF recruitment centre and were waiting along with all others to be called. While we were waiting a guy appeared and called my name. I thought I was going to be the first guy to be interviewed. He led me to an office where a clerk was sitting. The clerk said so you want to join PAF. I said yes. He said we were just reviewing the applications and I am sorry but you have been rejected. I was disappointed and asked him why I had been rejected. He smiled at me and said normally only Pakistani nationals can join the air force. Slight technical problem. I was embarrassed. He smiled and returned my application back to me.

For the record I was Kenyan national and had come to Pakistan in 1961 to study. There ended the dream of joining PAF.

I think my dad, nana jaan and dada jaan had something to do with the Armed Forces :hmmm:

plenty of family members have served / are serving in armed forces. the story of my father, a Captain in 1965, is in pak affairs forum.

^Yes 5Abi, it's always wonderful to read and reread your dad's accounts. Hope he's well and do pass my regards. Once again like before, ask him to publish his memoirs :)

My uncles, greatuncles, grandfather served and I'm very proud of them all. Esp my grandfather. I have his officer's peak cap and it's one of my most prized possessions. Unfortunately these days the trend of joining up among the new breed has gone down considerably.

Wilco, Soldier Haris :salute:

My paternal grandfather (may he rest in peace) was in Pakistan Army. He passed away before my dad even got married, so unfortunately, I do not know much about him.

My father was willing to join Pakistan Air Force but for some reasons his dream wouldn't come true. He was pressurized by his parents (My Dada Dadi)

My brother-in-law is Squadron Leader (Pak Air Force) and a cousin is in Pakistan Army. But I don't have anything to tell about their experiences.

Elegnce nice to know abt your bro-in-law. Which branch and squadron is he with?

He is serving Land base forces these days.

2 Uncles in Pakistan Army(barri faoj),5 cousins in army(barri), one cousin in Navy(behria), one cousin in Pakistan Air force**(Fizai ya fizaiya):salute:**
Mujhy bhi buhat shaoq tha magar kissi ny jany nahi diya(apply tak na kerny diya):hoonh:

My father was in army and my maternal grand pa and paternal grand pa. So I lived that army life all my life :smiley:

My uncles in army use to give me some physical activity all the time. Like ‘Nauman zara yaar 30 push-ups ho jayaan’ … or may be ‘Come on climb this tree and bring me that apple’ … and THAT apple use to be on the top of the tree :bummer:

But anyways army played an important role in whatever I am now. :jhanda:

Lagta tu nahi:hmmm:

My dad was in the airforce :D