No way.. and besides the debts often get much worse after marriage with all the extra costs and everything piling up.. I wouldn't marry if I was in debt either..
finally a woman who speaks how it is. Most here just act all goodie goodie
My debts, I pay em, his debts he pays them. I have never asked him to pay my debts, except sometimes as a favor but no way do I expect him to pay my debts at all
In the future, when we have a home or car payments to make, phir dekha jaye ga....cz those are things we both acquired as a married couple
I have over 80,000 dollar worth of debt remaining and i intend to pay them within next couple of years. And i have incurred those loans because of my medical education. Though my parents had to sell couple of plots in Pakistan to raise money for my medical and i am thankful to Allah and them. But still, i don't intend on marrying until i pay off my debt. I think marriage is big responsiblity especially nowdays and i want to start my life with right foot. And i then i personally don't mind paying off my wife to be's debt or whatever her bills are...
sigh debt indeed is very bad. mujhe hamesha lagta tha ke karz lena koi badi baat nahi hai phir karz lene se mana kyon farmatay hain? kyon kehte hain ke avoid karna chahiye. i used to think its simple..you take the money and then when u have it you return it. lekin maine jab karz liya aur us se mujhe jo mushkilain hui tab pata chala ke karz ko kyon acha nahi mana jata. allah kisi ko aisi mushkil main na dale jahan usay karz lena pare. ameen
I have over 80,000 dollar worth of debt remaining and i intend to pay them within next couple of years. And i have incurred those loans because of my medical education. Though my parents had to sell couple of plots in Pakistan to raise money for my medical and i am thankful to Allah and them. But still, i don't intend on marrying until i pay off my debt. I think marriage is big responsiblity especially nowdays and i want to start my life with right foot. And i then i personally don't mind paying off my wife to be's debt or whatever her bills are...
for real?
what if it takes you longer to pay than you originally thought?
i always thought brown girls were so much better (so do a lot of white guys i know) than white girls when it comes to guys and money. But boy was i wrong after reading some of the old posts on here. Brown girls seems bigger gold diggers/shallow than white girls.
this topic never occurred to me...but the insightful responses definitely give this topic the attention and importance it deserves.
Because I believe in being debt free. I don't have any lingering student or house loans or anything but I went through the extra effort of being able to make sure I never accumulated debt and at the same time achieve everything.
exactly. and plus, having CC debt even if you are paying for it accumulates interest, making everything that was purchased from that amount haraam until its paid off, i think.
so any takers on marrying someone who does not have education debt but debt just from spending habits? if that person is not disciplined in budgeting or a smart spender, you would not invest time and effort in helping them change their habits? i think this would certainly worry me, but would not turn me away from that person..esp if its someone im truly interested in. to me its his debts and his responsibility, but i wouldnt mind if i could help him gain some direction to get rid of it. sometimes a little guidance can go a long way.
Money is one of the main reasons couples fight and divorce. A person'a debts and HOW they ended up with that debt gives a major insight into their spending habits. It would be stupid of me to ignore that before marriage.
very practical
I'd marry her coz shadi k baad bhi tu debt hee charhta hai
PS: on serious note, it should not be a problem is debt has a valid reason behind it (such as student loan etc). Sometimes even good financial managers ended up under debt. So if potential spouse is otherwise a responsible person (financially), there should not be a problem. Personally, we started our life debt free from both sides.
i couldnt agree with you more. like i said, sometimes a little guidance can go a long way. i do not think it would be a deal breaker for me, considering its not an outrageously large amount, or like you mentioned, has some valid reason behind it.