If you have lost a loved one, has it brought you closer to or further away from God? If it didn’t have any impact on your religious beliefs, did it have any other psychological affect on you that changed your life in any way?
Re: Death
YES, my mom's death was too much for me to bear. i was only 9 amd a sis 1 year old. i didn't cry thinking that my mom was watching me and she wud get sad. i started memorizing Qur'aan. i memorized most of the sooras at that time. getting closer to Allah helped me cope with my greatest loss ever.
It brings you closer to god as death makes you god fearing. A guy i know his mum passed away and ever since then has started reading 5 time namaz because he wanted to pray for his mum aswell as having preperation for his own death
When I lost my dad, I started reading Quran on regular basis for him (for eesaal-e-sawaab). I definitely believe that his death brought me closer to my faith.
YES, my mom's death was too much for me to bear. i was only 9 amd a sis 1 year old. i didn't cry thinking that my mom was watching me and she wud get sad. i started memorizing Qur'aan. i memorized most of the sooras at that time. getting closer to Allah helped me cope with my greatest loss ever.
Yaar my heart weeps for everyone on this thread especally yourself.
Death is not a good thing but it's one thing we can all be certian about....
I don't know how to put it in words .. the change that i had in me after my fathers death (last year) was not just because of his death. The process started long ago and my fathers death was the final nail in the coffin .. .. the only thing that i realized in these 4-5 years that there is nothing which will last forever, except God .. .. so there is no point, relying on anyone else but God, no point begging infront of anyone except God. If you are trying your best to get something then in the end its God who will grant you that success .. if you get that success then God is happy .. otherwise, he is still testing and making you strong to give you that success .. ..
that reminds me one quote .. .. .. don't be that proud of your success, its not your hardwork, its God blessings upon you - so be thankful to him - always!
Yaar my heart weeps for everyone on this thread especally yourself.
Death is not a good thing but it's one thing we can all be certian about....
**yes bro, losing mother at a tender age, especially with a 1 year old sibling, is NOT bearable. i appreciate ur understanding.
yes biraadar, sabhii ke liye maut jaaN kaah hotii hai chaahe uskaa bhai yaa baap yaa maaN yaa bahen yaa koi aur qareebii uTh jaaye dunyaa se to na pur honewaalaa Khila paidaa ho jaataa hai.
Allah ne insaan ko sabr kii taaqat di hai...us se lau lagaa kar Gham ka dard halka ho jaataa hai. in trying times, u just need ur Rab.**
Awwww! I'm sorry to hear that, everyone :( Allah mian unhein jannat mein jaga ata farmaye, Ameen.
I lost my nana abu in 2007 and it brought me closer to God too but a friend of mine lost her grandad and stopped believing in a God altogether. She was Irish though. I don't know if she would've felt the same way if she was muslim? Death does affect our religious beliefs quite a bit one way or the other.
boss yeah kia morgue ki chokeedar to mod bana dia.... eesy eesy drawny thread kholti rehti hy...
I would like to think it would bring me closer to God, but I pray that theory is not tested anytime soon. My friend at College lost her dad, she was only 17 and her dad was only 40 and it totally destroyed her, she stopped wearing hijab, refused to pray, she said that she could not even touch the Quran. Our friendship group all tried to help, but it was like she was on some crazy mission to rebel againt God. Truth was her and her dad had a massive row the day before he died and she was so consumed with guilt she just could not stop punishing herself and wanted to go to hell. It took a long time for her to practise again, I used to drag her to the masjid but she used to just watch me pray. What was worse was the masjid offered no emotional support, we tried to get her some religious counselling but the imaam just did not seem to care. 10 years later she is a lot better, she has never come to terms with it but she is praying, fasting and wearing hijab again.
Monk: mod na bhi hoti to bhi kholti ye threads :P
Sarab: :( Good lord! Respect to you guys for standing by her and getting her through the tragic times. When a person is going through such traumatic experiences, I don't think anyone can talk them out of it. Time is the best healer. Nobody ever gets over it, but good to know she's doing better!
Yes..it did bring me closer to Allah...I think the only thing that kept me from going over edge was reading the Quran everday...or I think I would have ended the suffering and pain.
Loosing someone very close to me recently, has brought me closer to Allah (SWT)