Death with Dignity Act and Being Old :(

Re: Death with Dignity Act and Being Old :(

Njgal, KKF is right. Any act that endangers your life is a major sin in Islam. That includes something as simple as eating sugary treats (chori chuppay) when you are diabetic. It also includes refusing to see your doctor, or refusing to follow his instructions.

Intentions matter too. Diabetics who eat sugary treats rarely do it kill themselves, they just wanna have fun, with food that's Halal by all means.

Knowing that it is a dangerous to your health is not fun. Yes no one whats to die, but consuming something on purpose with the knowledge that it could harm you, is a sin

Being obese must be a sin too then. I've seen a lot of obese Mullah, those fat sinning mullahs.

hmmm I see ALOT of gray in this rule.

By this standard, most desi uncles are committing a sin by eating countless parathay and niharis on weekends when the doc tell them not to. We pakistani people don't really have the best track record when it comes to taking care of our health and/or following doctor's orders.

I hear "Allah malik aye" pretty much from most elderly people.

I know.

Another stupidity is eating globs of honey even if you have diabetes, and saying that Prophet said that honey main shifa hai (or something like that).

Ulema say that Ahitiyaat, perhaiz aur ilaaj are obligations.

Mullahs are not the standard of Islam. Quran and Hadees are.

There was this hadees where Hazrat Ali was presented with some dates or halwa (dont remember exactly) and he wanted to eat, but he had a fever. Prophet told him not to eat (he did not say, eat eat Allah Malik hay). Then oatmeal was brought and prophet said, now eat this as this is good for you.

Dr. Kevorkian was ahead of his time. Assisted death is an option one should have a right to use.

He died today... This guy was an American so I don't know how important religion is to them. He probably felt useless being changed, showered, diaper change, and assisted by others. He was a great guy though always feelings like a stud in his wheelchair, speeding it for fun. I would always see him smile but he said his life doesn't have any meaning to be alive. 99years is an old age to be able to communicate well like he did. Life is a prison to very old people. His request was accepted in 15 days with oral and verbal statements. Death with Dignity law is strict with certain conditions. He doesn't have any kids and his friend's kids were OK with his decision. He had enough wealth to contribute throughout his life but it will probably goto a charity. I think being very old like 99yrs might be a curse to some people.