muniya dont buy the damn hype about stay at home moms. People have different things in life to focus on and priorities, we juggle responsibilities for our parents as well as our children, and do the best we can, and the best may not be optimal based on every viewpoint, but that is the best scenario for the people who have to make the decisions.
plus I really dont buy into that whle stay at home mom hype. Someone is watching daytime TV and its not me, so why are the ratings so high ;). fact of the matter is that for many stay at home moms, kids dont get the rich experience they deserve, many baby sat for hours by sesame street and cartoons, not getting outdoors play time daily. I have personally seen cases where kids are hanging in their pyjamas not bathed, brushed teeth or hair, sitting in front of TV all morning.
and honestly, with all the hoopla about proper upbringing and stay at home moms, majority of kids in Pakistan have a mother who stays at home, and we have seen how well that has worked out.
so that in itself means jack. do what is best for you, do it well, and dont bother to engage with posts that ae not answering your question but have gone down the bhashan route.
Just because I don't agree with you on one issue you have started to bully me. You should tell malta to not to worry about desi kids.
You got it totally wrong hareem . topic of the thread is " Dealing w/ DayCare" . It's not about if sending your kids to day-care centers is wrong or right .
you could always make surprise visits to the daycare to check on him. Ahmed is 5 and I still make surprise visits or will let them know ahead of time that I will eat lunch with him, which is often.
Do they offer the webcam service? so you can watch him at work.
I think parents including myself worry too much, I hope everything works out for you! :)
Anyways
any stay at home moms who would utilize daycare?
I can understand if a woman who works or goes to school fulltime will use daycare but what do you think about the ones who dont work/schoola nd still use daycare?
yeap my SIL does to get a break from kids and get things done around the house.
If i stopped working and we had enough money to send bubz off to daycare for a day or two, i would definately. They need to socialise with kids.
Mashallah se, my bachi has a routine and is a very happy kid cus of it
psyah, most companies these days are quite sensitive to employees that have families. It is crazy to assume that a parent would not take a day off if their kid is ill. Even if your child is in school, they will get sick and a parent will be required to take a day off… same in this case..
The first few months of daycare were quite hard for me.. as I was taking at least a day or two off in a month.. but my work was quite well aware of my circumstances before i started.. and have never made a point of it to me. Rather, more praise for juggling a career and child. And its likewise with most other companies.
Naturally, with a child so young, I cant go into crazy consulting cus that asks a lot of their employee.. so ive chosen a slightly laid back job to stay in the market and move into whatever i need to when the time is right for me and my family..
Yes the whole thing here is the quality of time that the kids have. I am a stay home mom and for sure, I'm not above putting my little one in front of a movie while I shower or vacuum or mop. If I had the funds, for sure I'd send him to more play-groups and programs. He has one, 3 hours a week for now and I surely do my best so that the amount of time I plop him in front of a tv is minimal. But yeah I do it. and surely its not the best for him but there it is. Daycare is a good thing for little ones and no matter how little tv time my youngest one has, the highligh of his week is the time he has at his "nature skool". There is nothing negative about sending him out for this experience and when a parent finds a good outside experience or a good daycare place, one of really good quality then its a good thing for the little one.
Anyways
any stay at home moms who would utilize daycare?
I can understand if a woman who works or goes to school fulltime will use daycare but what do you think about the ones who dont work/schoola nd still use daycare?
I use babysitters and nanny services quite often when I have to be on some project or community related activity or even once in a while when my husband and I have to go somewhere together. Sometimes we have dinners/luncheons that my husband needs to attend with me so we have arrangements to leave kids or have a nanny over at our place. The kids love it and we've never had any issues. I'm sure they get a break from us too :D
roshi I do make surprise visits. Thats a great idea but sometimes I feel I've hyped him into thinking that I'm taking him home and then have to leave again.
X2 pah ji -- good stuff.
Everyone who tried to truly support and help I really appreciate it.
update
Ayman has been going for about exactly a week now.
So far he's only been pissed off the first day he was there.
Otherwise, he comes home happy. I go pick him up and he's usually content only caught him crying once, and that too because he was just changed and I know for a fact that he hates being put down after you change him. He giggles and babbles all night, sleep better and on time.
I still hate the seperation aspect of it but I'm comfortable that my baby is safe and secure as well as happy. The teachers are pretty good, they write down when he's eaten and when -- how many times he's been changed and I've to sign that sheet everynight when I pick him up. Its a pretty good schedule.
Initially we had him in a home daycare center with a desi lady. She was certified - had four kids of her own and one other occasion baby she took care of. I loved her, but Ayman was laazy while with her. The ultimate desicion to leave her was her needed three days off in one month. It was really hard to find a last minute replacement.
If Daycare hadn't worked out though, we would have definately went back to her. Hopefully she'd be more professional after loosing our business once.
Munz, the separation thing will be there forever. My 6 year old goes to school and I still miss her . It’s normal and healthy as long as you can get other things done. My mom still goes through separation even though I’ve been away from home like forever!
Good that he’s well settled. Once you get comfortable somewhere, that’s all you really need.
Muniya - the summer programs at my daycare were so good. I think you'll see that he will really like to do some of those activites.
They touch grass, play outdoors, look at bugs, water colors, water plays in their swim suits (and babies LOVE that). Since they are outdoors - they tend to get sick less. My daycare had this buggy thing (a hugs stroller) for six kids and they took them outside for nature walks. My daughter loved that thing.
Like I said before that mothers tend to worry. It's in our nature. He'll be fine and soon he'll have little baby friends.
roshi I do make surprise visits. Thats a great idea but sometimes I feel I've hyped him into thinking that I'm taking him home and then have to leave again.
X2 pah ji -- good stuff.
Everyone who tried to truly support and help I really appreciate it.
update
Ayman has been going for about exactly a week now.
So far he's only been pissed off the first day he was there.
Otherwise, he comes home happy. I go pick him up and he's usually content only caught him crying once, and that too because he was just changed and I know for a fact that he hates being put down after you change him. He giggles and babbles all night, sleep better and on time.
I still hate the seperation aspect of it but I'm comfortable that my baby is safe and secure as well as happy. The teachers are pretty good, they write down when he's eaten and when -- how many times he's been changed and I've to sign that sheet everynight when I pick him up. Its a pretty good schedule.
Initially we had him in a home daycare center with a desi lady. She was certified - had four kids of her own and one other occasion baby she took care of. I loved her, but Ayman was laazy while with her. The ultimate desicion to leave her was her needed three days off in one month. It was really hard to find a last minute replacement.
If Daycare hadn't worked out though, we would have definately went back to her. Hopefully she'd be more professional after loosing our business once.
Nice to know everything is working out fine for you. I'm very sorry for hijacking your thread, please forgive me.
yai thread hai yahan plane hareem:@: janab everyones opinion matters,and everyone has a freedom to speak out their mind, and i have always find urs very constructive and to the point:D
Thank you Sheen but I'm also here to learn not to teach but when I find some interesting stuff I like sharing it.....may be I'll try next time.
One thing in all children is common that they teach the parents to be patient and forgiving, I hope we all learn this from our kids.
Anyway, I didn't know the whole background of Muniya's situation (not that it matters) and didn't get the first part of the post as most Pakistanis I know prefer day care over keeping kids at home [even most desis on gupshup do that too] so yeah I was mistaken. No harm done.