you mean like after the wedding night? shouldn't the bride just have breakfast and get ready for the valima?:S ....but yeah the girls family (female cousins and siblings) brings over breakfast to the guys house/ hotel...but the girl doesn't meet her parents etc till valima.
I am also moving to another state after my shaadi hun! So yea.. I guess getting it after the shaadi then....
And like you - I am having both my bridal and walima dresses made myself .... for similar reasons as you. lol. And yea..allah ka shuker hai that Fiance is on board with it. Please also do dua that my bridal and walima dress also reach me ok!! I collaborated with a designer in Pakistan to have one of a kind pieces made for both events.... fashion ...makeup...its all my passion. So it makes sense I design my own clothes... i just pray they reach me ok. I have faith in the designer.. just scared about the shipping process...
Girl you are sooooooooo lucky that your event is starting at like noon/1!!!
I thought mine would start at 10am ... but now my mom is telling me that it is going to start at 9am. Ughhhhhhhhhh
My set includes Tikka, Big earrings and big choker :) No jhumar! But that is a great idea about hair half up and half down. Whats your opinion (all guppies) .. should I wear my hair like this even tho that is how I wore it for my engagement??? Or opt for a different hair do?
You make a great point about not wanting random bobby pins to be showing...i didnt even think of that.... thanks...
So i guess you understand my issues with my leaving home then - I'm trying not to think about it but I'm gonna be a mess :(
YAY I'm glad you could pick out both your ghoras - thats awesome!! And ya it makes it so much easier when your man is on your side. Honestly I just couldnt wear what I got for my Walima - the brunch the day after ok fine since its not going to be soooo many people but not the Walima - no way!
IA they will reach you ok - how are you getting them shipped??? Try to do a big reputable shipping company - UPS Fedex etc and even though Im sure you know this just a reminder dont use a box cutter to open the box - at the time I'm sure you will be soooo excited!!
Ummmm i think now I made up this 12 or 1 timing! ha ha I need to check with my parents I just dont want all the mehmaan to be tired from the night before at the shaadi/baraat.
I think if you did your hair like that for the manghni then do something different - I'm all about the different style for all occasions - yeh ek mokha hai to do whatever you want! Your set sounds MA awesome!
you mean like after the wedding night? shouldn't the bride just have breakfast and get ready for the valima?:S ....but yeah the girls family (female cousins and siblings) brings over breakfast to the guys house/ hotel...but the girl doesn't meet her parents etc till valima.
My walima isnt until the weekend after my shaadi so thats why we are doing this plus we need to feed all the mehmaan anyways :)
Once when we brought my cousin's wife home after rukhsati, my cousins khala came to the door and brought milk and took a sip and did circle motions on the brides head and did that three times. It was so weird and everyone was telling her to stop, it just looked like such a hindu thing to do. I honestly don't like all these customs we have, i know the breakfast the day after is normal but all these oil on the side of the door (which my aunt also did) and bla bla are awkward
Um yea… I am not only the girl that started the “how to calm nerves on day of wedding” (or whatever) thread… but I also started the rukhsati thread!!! I am going to be a complete wreck!!! InshAllah my only living grandparent…my nani who i am SUPER close to ..and my mamu (only have 1!) are coming from pakistan or it…and omg… being the first child in the khandaan to get married… i know everyone is going to be super emotional. And I am one of those people that can not keep it together when I see others are emotional. I cry if you cry. I already get teary eyed thinking about Rukhsati
PPl think my life will not change much since I have been living away from home for 9 years now… but yes… there will be a big difference…
::sigh::
My designer said she would send it via DHL … I told her to look into UPS Fedex as well. So yea.. inshAllah them being sent via reputable shipper will help ease my worries…
I am a bit worried about the outfits fitting correctly too… I am SO petite… I sent my measurements… but what if they are still too big??? My mom does a great job in regards to sewing …but its hard to tailor heavy kaam walay kapray…
haha girl… def check out when your brunch is and get back to us! lol.
And yea - i think i should research and think about how I should do my hair in a different style! Especially since I am having a photographer…
yesss mA my set is so beautiful! I feel so special that I am the one getting the set … I have had my eye on it since I was a little girl!
Once when we brought my cousin's wife home after rukhsati, my cousins khala came to the door and brought milk and took a sip and did circle motions on the brides head and did that three times. It was so weird and everyone was telling her to stop, it just looked like such a hindu thing to do. I honestly don't like all these customs we have, i know the breakfast the day after is normal but all these oil on the side of the door (which my aunt also did) and bla bla are awkward
LOL hahahaha. yea totally agree.. the weird customs are awkward...
We had something very similar at my brothers wedding, it was a family friend who got a cup of water and circled it around my brother and his new wife as they were standing outside the door, and then spilt the water on the floor, i was horrified, and kept thinking i have seen this happening in Indian drama's what the hell is this women doing???
We have this tradition in our family too...
After the barat next day, Valima morning my family Mother,brother, khala, mami lot brought naashta.... They had halwa poori, rusk were decorated so nicely... Boil & raw coloured eggs!
The main point was to meet everyone, gupshup..but we had immediate family only! Since valima was the same day, everyone(khaaandan) wud be meeting thr anyway...
I only know one person who this has actually happened to, and her in-laws were from Pakistan. But I've heard about it from other girls as well. I don't think that happens to anyone outside of Pakistan really cause most couples go to hotels and here in-laws have better sense than to humiliate the poor girl. But some elders are also very comfortable and open, and they think it's funny to get in your business about it!
The morning after my cousin's wedding, my Khala and I went to the hotel to take her to her MUA for the Valima. As soon as she sat in the car my Khala asked: Soooo... how was it?! We were totally shocked! My cousin didn't answer, just smiled shyly, I could tell she was horrified.
I thought bari was given to you before the wedding? Cause doesn't your valima jora, set, shoes, etc. all come as part of the bari? At my engagement my in-laws came to our house a week before to give me everything for the engagement plus all the gifts.
The morning after my cousin's wedding, my Khala and I went to the hotel to take her to her MUA for the Valima. As soon as she sat in the car my Khala asked: Soooo... how was it?! We were totally shocked! My cousin didn't answer, just smiled shyly, I could tell she was horrified.
I know!!!! Our Khala's are pretty "cool" compared to most Auntie's but I really don't know why they think they can talk to us openly about this stuff! I think I was like 12 when my other Khala told me what the Valima was really all about!
My family have looooooaaaaaaaaadz of mad customs and traditions. (I need to sort them out before I get married)
After the wedding, the night of the baraat (also known as suhaag raat) EVERYBODY sits in the room and pisses of the dulha and dulhan. They stay there for hours just totally annoying them. (A good way out of this is going to a hotel than night). Oh! Before that, when she gets to her hubby's home she is greeted by doves, which are circled around her face a few times. (I have an extreme fear of animals-only ones that are alive)
Morning of walima is a big brunch brought over from the brides family. Everybody has a nice chat etc etc before everybody goes their own ways to get ready. Once all the men have left THIS is the time when nosy aunty-ji's harass the bride about her night.
After the walima the girls family takes the bride and groom back to theirs for the night, then the next day the girl dresses up again and goes back to her sasuraal with her hubby and in laws.
There are quite a few other fun stuff, like hiding the grooms shoes, makinghim drink milk that has a whole load of mirchi's put inside. (obviously most pranks are played on the groom)
In some families the elder ladies give milk to the bride in the morning to help her regain her "strength". I would be MORTIFIED if my Nani-in-law did this!!!!!!
I don't mean to interrupt you ladies but seriously, if anyone is in need of 'regaining strength' it has to be the groom?