Do you guys see this trend of competing over who can throw the best dawat? Well, no one says outright that its a competition, but every dawat I go to, gets more and more lavish and extreme.
The most recent dawat I went to - they flew in a cook from a different city (quite across the country, really) from a “famous” Pakistani resteraunt.
A wedding I went to, featured fireworks (small) in the wedding hall, and another event was a wedding on a yacht.
Pakistanis are loaded and don’t have anything else to do with the money? Listen. If you are contemplating throwing a big bash for your son’s aqiqah, or your sister’s naughty bridal shower (victoria secret runway shows, honestly!), then please. Feel free to offload the burden of all your extra change on a poor pitiful student like myself. I could really use them to pay my tuition.
…so true…first it is whose husband/wife is hotter…earns more…goes to the kids then…who is smarter…who has more…who can look /cook/wash better in women…which dude can taalk more…eat more more more:cb:
Cooking is now days considered backward in desis for some very odd reason. Every time I am at a desi party, the oldest aunty starts: “aray bhai shadi jab howie thee tu pani bhee pena nahin ata tha, obalna tu duor kee bat hai”. Following that old aunty, all the aunties start how they had never helped their moms and some of them still need help from their hubby’s when it comes to big dawats. Oh and they don’t let their daughters enter the kitchen, they think girls should keep themselves into books or other hobbies like shopping, hanging out with friends, etc.
Drawback is that if you are someone who likes cooking, then you can’t express it and have to pretend it is pretty backward. Oh and if unconsciously or by mistake you say that you love cooking or have made some for the dawat, you are automatically thrown into the backward/paindo group. Oh and you do get occasional taunts.
an example of a noble dawat: my idea of a bvirthday of a child or a wedding dinner is feeding the poor first before the invited guests from families and friends/colleagues or neighbors of the couple.
best,
Dushwari
And a noble event is where poor fellas are invited as well !