Dates from Heaven

My nani is over from pakistan these days and today for iftar she made the most ultimate fast breakers ever. I call them Dates from Heaven. They are extremely simple to prepare and so surprisingly delicious you’ll never want to miss another roza again!

Ingredients:**

Soft Dates
Cashew Nuts
Chopped/dried coconut powder (khopra powder)

Method:**

Remove the unedible top filing off a date. Using a knife make a little slit on one side of the date and take out the seed. In the cavity that remains, insert a full cashew nut. Push the slit back to seal it again so that the cashew nut isnt visible.

Repeat for as many dates as you like. When done, put them in a small bowl and sprinkle with coconut powder (khopra). Serve. Eat as whole.

Heres some pics. They arent the best pics (taken from cell) but they give you an idea.

http://img322.imageshack.us/img322/3739/picture168sg.jpg
http://img322.imageshack.us/img322/1917/picture176ao.jpg

If you do make em, please post your comments here.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Re: Dates from Heaven

Filling them with whipped cream also works great!

fill them with almonds, my munky loves them!

I am gonna try it Sir LOta

TJ
u talking about ABAD or is that an actual monkey??

Ok guys this is what I just made.
Lota Ji I turned your thing into a milkshake.

skim milk
6 dates
fresh coconut thora sa
blender. Voila. Came out tasty.

:Added:
actually itna acha bhi nahi tha. Guys and gals stick with the original
by lota.

Add some almonds and sugar to that sajal and it will be even better :yummy:

Lota the dates sound yum. I’ve had em with almonds a lot never with cashews. Worth a try i’d say.

^^yaar I already tried dates, almonds, apple, sugar, milk. It wasn't all that.

Ms Sajal i will try your recipe although im not too sure about the results. :D And apple and milk? Yikes!

TDW ill try out the whipped cream.. sounds delish.

Ms Fatale, ive always had dates with almonds too so when i ate these i thought gee these are really soft almonds in there. Then i took a peek and there was cashews. :)

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

I've been popping dates like candy. Someone stop me. sigh.

wats abad? my munky=my fiance=my jaan :blush:

i wanna post a pic but i dont know how to!!!!!

Yeah that’s what I thought. Isn’t his name ebad or something?

lol you are WAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYY off..its obaid :love:

Oh yeah that's it. pata nahi kese bhool gaye.:)

Does he know u refer to him as munky???

I made em and everyone loved em. Mine looked much nicer than urs though :p I peeled the dates so the coconut would stick better. They looked like gulab jaman's and tasted great. Thanks.

I told you already i took the pics from my cell. :p Waisay why dont you take a pic of yours and post. Peeling sounds like a good idea but too much work dont ya think? Anyway glad your family liked em.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Try these variations. Use pistachios instead of cashews. And sesame seeds instead of khopra.

If you have any other neat variations please post those here too.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

How can you peel the dates?? The layer on top is sooo thin!