I submit is not incompetent but genuinely biased against Pakistan. To call him incompetent would give legitimate cover to his biased decisions against Pakistan.
Re: Darrel Hair
I sent a long email at [EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected] today, addressing it to Nasir, Hussain, David lloyd, Holding and Raja:mad:
fkhan2: if you by any chance have a copy of that email, can you please post it here.
ehsan: I think if we raise this issue as a 'bias' they will dismiss it immediately. They want the excuse of incompetency, let's give them that excuse. Let's make the argument that granted all umpires make mistakes, a member of the elite panel should not make THIS MANy and SUCH BLATANT mistakes. There is a world of difference between iffy LBWs and catche disputes. The former is somewhat acceptable, while the latter only shows incompetency if not bias.
After this match or series is over, LET US START A GRASSROOT movement to remove DH from the lite panel. It costs 9 dollars to get a domain name, let's get a website registered, get petitiions (although they have no legal standing in this case), and keep track of his blunders. WE can then get someone at CricInfo to mention the site in an article, which then will get ICC's attention to it. We are the fans, we hold the power, let's use it
What say you guys?
it's not 1st time he did some poor dicision against pakistan before also
Sir Dig he would be incompetent if he made such decisions against all the teams. He makes them against Pakistan only so he is not incompetent but biased.
This is what I sent
*Good Afternoon All,
I am sure it is not only me but most of the Pakistan cricket fans, can feel something controversial will happen whenever Darrell Hair is officiating a match
*Contrary to other umpires who after making a mistake or a big mistake, often give benefit of the doubt next time to the team who suffered from their initial decision, however this is the not the case with Darrell Hair. *
*He has given quite a few controversial decisions against Pakistan lately (not only this series). The thing which should bother a lot is, has Mr. Hair ever made a public statement apologizing to the Pakistan team for his mistakes? We often see respectable umpires apologizing for their bad decisions. But seems like Mr. Hair is too arrogant to do that. *
It is already too painful for a Pakistani fan to see our bowling attack without Shoaib, Asif and Rana. On top of that Mr. Hair was instrumental in denying Pakistan a chance of getting back in this series.
*I know David Lloyd mentioned that you guys often receive email which can't be discussed but then who should a concerned fan discuss it with? *
Should ICC continue with such a person in their elite panel against whom cricket fans have legitimate **concerns and are not comfortable having him as one of the umpire, at least when their team is playing?
*Please tell me honestly *
*1) Is this is a good sign if we, the cricket fans are feeling this way. *
2) Should Mr. Hair be part of the ICC elite panel. It is not only about yesterday but in general about the level of competence and skills he has as a cricket umpire
I expect a good healthy discussion from Nasir, David Lloyd, Ramiz and Holding. You can change the wording of my email but please for God's sake discuss it.
edited.
Contrary to other umpires who after making a mistake or a big mistake, often give benefit of the doubt next time to the team who suffered from their initial decision, however this is the not the case with Darrell Hair.
This was a wrong argument to make mate. Two wrongs don't make a right. What are you saying, that he should balance his first mistake by making another? You might have lost their attention (whom you wrote) right there. :(
We don't want an umpire who *balances **his mistakes, that will cause more controversies not fewer. We want umpires who don't make so many mistake to begin with, that we feel the need to 'balance' them.
I didn't mean that that an umpire will actualy give a wrong decision to make his position better.
Alot of times umpires after realizing their costly mistake, next time gives a close decision in favor of that team which suffered initially. For example if an umpire thinks that the ball is going to hit the bails, he may give the decision in favour of the batsman, but if he gives that out there will be nothing wrong in it. In Hair's case, he won't even do that.
I don't know if you watched the stumping appeal for Harmisson, right before he was caught by Sami. The appeal was so close that he could have referred it to the 3rd umpire. Did he do that? He didn't.
Yes we don't need umpires who are making mistakes after mistakes, but we do need umpires who genuinely realize their mistakes and understand the price which a team has to pay.
I know what you are saying. But the people whom you wrote this message might think that you are advocating righting the mistake by making another one. An umpire's decision should never depend on which team he favored the last time. We want a decision that is correct in absolute, not relative to a previous decision.
But anyhow, I am with you and ehsan. He's definitely biased against desis, if you take into account his no-balling of desi bowlers, warning for running over the pitch, and getting Salman Butt out last year by such warnings. He's an asshole who hides behind incompetence. ICC should adopt a method so that the the umpire ranked worst among the elite panel automatically gets removed. No questions asked.
I know atleast Holding has discussed very strongly the issue of ICC keeping umpires within their elite panel who are not competent to handle this job at the highest level. That was last year or even before that when he was criticising De Silva's position in the elit panel. The guy was eventually kicked out of the panel.
De Silva who? Remind me, i am blanking out, can't remember anyting from two years ago
Asoka De Silva
Profile: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/srilanka/content/player/48456.html
De Silva removed from panel
http://www.icc-cricket.com/icc-news/content/story/136519.html
Well, looks like umpires do get dropped from the elite planel. I think they have had at least one review this year (when Asad Rauf was picked up) and Hair wasn't dropped, so let's hope that he does make more blunders this year (just not against Pakistan) and gets dropped next year. Something better, I hope he dies in a car wreck that racist pig.
*Good Afternoon All,
I am sure it is not only me but most of the Pakistan cricket fans, can feel something controversial will happen whenever Darrell Hair is officiating a match
*Contrary to other umpires who after making a mistake or a big mistake, often give benefit of the doubt next time to the team who suffered from their initial decision, however this is the not the case with Darrell Hair. *
*He has given quite a few controversial decisions against Pakistan lately (not only this series). The thing which should bother a lot is, has Mr. Hair ever made a public statement apologizing to the Pakistan team for his mistakes? We often see respectable umpires apologizing for their bad decisions. But seems like Mr. Hair is too arrogant to do that. *
It is already too painful for a Pakistani fan to see our bowling attack without Shoaib, Asif and Rana. On top of that Mr. Hair was instrumental in denying Pakistan a chance of getting back in this series.
*I know David Lloyd mentioned that you guys often receive email which can't be discussed but then who should a concerned fan discuss it with? *
Should ICC continue with such a person in their elite panel against whom cricket fans have legitimate **concerns and are not comfortable having him as one of the umpire, at least when their team is playing?
*Please tell me honestly *
*1) Is this is a good sign if we, the cricket fans are feeling this way. *
2) Should Mr. Hair be part of the ICC elite panel. It is not only about yesterday but in general about the level of competence and skills he has as a cricket umpire
I expect a good healthy discussion from Nasir, David Lloyd, Ramiz and Holding. You can change the wording of my email but please for God's sake discuss it. *
fKhan bhai nice e-mail to skysports but I dont think so it will even make it to the selection of e-mails to be aired, and honestly if our team is not willing to make a complain(in their report after the completion and No comments from PCB Uncle sherry yet!!!) against this Umpire, I dont see anything happening.
I just wanted to take out my frustration:)
The guy is a racist bigot, and he knows he can get away with it. The spineless PCB needs to put all those fat cat employees to work and go through the official channels.
What say you guys?
I am in full support. Even if we do not register ourselves a decent-sized website, the least we can do is start an anti-Hair movement in the Videos forum by having a thread dedicated to him (that will be the day) which will list all his previous and recent blunders against a country which even he would resist sending his mother-in-law to. If we were to actually send an e-mail (similar to the one which Khan Sahab wrote) to Sky Sports alongwith a visual proof that Hair indeed cannot match the umpiring skills to that of villages and street umpires that we have so much in quantity of, at least that would generate a positive interest.
Written text is quite a popular form of expression, Khan Sahab, and I do realize that one needs to take the frustrations out every now and then through every channel possible, but if we were to send your note alongwith a handful of clips which actually showed the nonsense discrimination that has been leading us astray for years now, we would have made a much larger impact.
But yes, I am sure this will lead us somewhere, sometime. I just wish someone from PCB with half a dozen brain cells would offer Hair (and his mother-in-law) an all-expenses paid trip to Pakistan for one full month. Take him on a long drive right in the middle of Karachi and leave him alone for a few minutes amongst the biggest assets that we currently produce, criminals and police. See how long does he last till his public hanging takes place and his picture is published on the front page of Jang paper the next day.
No names mentioned, my 2 cents,
When an argument is initiated it is wise by the initiator to ‘Close’ all other
doors for all other irrelevant intrusion. Other possibilities within an argument and opinions should be kept to a minimum. Only then the seeker would be able to hear the likely correct view point of the elite panel or the wise guy.
Indian had problems with S. Bucknor and Pakistan with Hair.
But non of the teams or thier media has highlighted their respective experiences in detail nor have they initiated any true memo to ICC.
Hair, when dealing with Pakistani’s look always so snoorty and stoned.
You can tell by his ‘confidence’ how much and what he thinks of the Pakistani
team. If he cannot evaluate his dicisions to minimise errors then he has no business officiating such high level games. ICC take note! ![]()
I say, linch him! Why be so shy ? ![]()